Ski Italy

Sestrière (Via Lattea) Resort Reviews

  • Weather Forecast for Sestriere (Via Lattea) at  m altitude issued: 7 am23 Oct 2016 (local time)  
Ski Italy

Sestrière (Via Lattea) Resort Reviews

ItSestrière (Via Lattea)

Use the buttons below to tell us…

Visitor reviews for Sestrière (Via Lattea) Ski Resort

  • December 25, 2013
    from United Kingdom

    We love skiing in Italy and have done over the past 3 consecutive years.
    The food is much better in quality and price than most French resorts. Snow fall has also been brilliant every time we visit.
    This was our first visit to Sestriere (Via Lattea).
    The skiing is varied and plentiful. However, if you are the type of skier concerned about the colour of runs this is probably not the best resort for you. There are reds that are blacks, black runs that are easy reds. Blues that should be classified reds etc etc.
    The ski map is useless to say the least. The resorts are interlinked in part via some long steep pole lifts. If you are averse to these then stay away.
    In summary, if you are a good skier you will love Via Lattea and will return.
    We love skiing Italy and will return to Sestriere.

  • Sestrière (Via Lattea) Ratings

    Overall: 4.4. Based on 8 votes and 20 reviews. Vote

    Access: 4.1

    (1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Sestrière (Via Lattea).

    Public Transport: 4.5

    (1) There are no buses or taxis to Sestrière (Via Lattea), (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

    Scenery: 5.0

    (1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

    Accommodation: 4.9

    (1) No places to stay in/near Sestrière (Via Lattea), (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

    Cheap Rooms: 4.4

    (1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

    Luxury Hotels: 3.8

    (1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Sestrière (Via Lattea).

    Ski in/Ski out: 4.8

    (1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

    Childcare: 3.9

    (1) There are no child care facilities at Sestrière (Via Lattea), (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

    Snowsure: 4.9

    (1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Sestrière (Via Lattea) is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

    Snowmaking: 4.8

    (1) Sestrière (Via Lattea) relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

    Snow Grooming: 5.0

    (1) There are no snow groomers at Sestrière (Via Lattea), (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Sestrière (Via Lattea) are groomed daily.

    Shelter: 4.1

    (1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Sestrière (Via Lattea) is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

    Nearby options: 4.4

    (1) If snow conditions are poor at Sestrière (Via Lattea), it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

    Regional rating: 4.8

    (1) Sestrière (Via Lattea) usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

    Lift Staff: 4.8

    (1) The staff at Sestrière (Via Lattea) are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Sestrière (Via Lattea) are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

    Crowds/Queues: 4.5

    (1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

    Ski Schools: 4.9

    (1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

    Hire and Repairs: 5.0

    (1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

    Variety of pistes: 4.9

    (1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Sestrière (Via Lattea) has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

    Beginners: 4.5

    (1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

    Intermediates: 5.0

    (1) No intermediate terrain at Sestrière (Via Lattea), (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

    Advanced: 4.2

    (1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

    Snow Park: 3.9

    (1) Not even a kicker at Sestrière (Via Lattea), (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

    Off-piste: 4.4

    (1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

    Cross-country: 3.5

    (1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Sestrière (Via Lattea), (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

    Luge/Toboggan: 2.7

    (1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Sestrière (Via Lattea) has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

    Mountain Dining: 4.8

    (1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

    Eating: 4.5

    (1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

    Apres-Ski: 4.2

    (1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

    Other Sports: 4.0

    (1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

    Entertainment: 4.2

    (1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

    Winter Walks: 3.8

    (1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

    Ski Pass Value: 4.8

    (1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

    Value (National): 4.8

    (1) Overall, Sestrière (Via Lattea) is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

    Value (Global): 4.9

    (1) Overall, Sestrière (Via Lattea) is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

    Show all 35 ratings

  • March 07, 2013
    from United Kingdom

    Stayed at Pragelato and skied Sestriere February 2013. We had wonderful snow conditions on piste with some off-piste following a little snow later in the week. This made it possible to do some forest skiing which was great when visibility dropped and winds got up.

    The resort has excellent beginner to intermediate progression, though none of the pistes was challenging for a good skier. The weekend was noticeably busier, especially for raw beginners on the (excellent) snow carpet. As always, as you move up and round the mountain, queues were much less and never a problem, though beware leaving too little time for the return chair from the Pragelato side to Sestriere at peak times. There's a second chair which I never saw running.

    Base restaurant facilities were used with an excellent snack bar/ drinks area at very reasonable prices (large Latte 1E).

    Ski hire and storage was both helpful and excellently placed and Sestriere and Pragelato ski schools spoke good English and delivered excellent service (I was ski Ambassador for a school party).

    If you go over to Saux d'oux don't bother to ski back beyond the gondola middle station after which it degenerates into a track which leaves you having to hike back across the town! Take the gondola!

    The long blue down to the big lift at Pragelato is strongly recommended for cruisers. It ends up at Club Med and is an easy but pleasant run.

    I'd return with pleasure and would like to explore more of the circuit.

  • February 22, 2013
    from United Kingdom

    We visited Sestriere Feb 2013 staying in the Hotel Belvedere which I could recommend: excellent food, clean room and top service with free mini-bus to and from slopes all day.
    Snow conditions: perfect and we skied most of the Milky Way in a week. Lift pass prices are a bargain as well as ski and boot hire but the piste markings are poor and not very well signposted. I still find it hard to believe that an Olympic resort still relies on antiquated chair lifts and a dreadful button lift for its major links to other resorts including Sauze and Montgenevre. The mountain restaurants are priced very reasonably unlike their French couterparts. All in all, this is a good skiing location for intermediate and beginners with not too much for the advanced. We booked with Inghams but sadly they have now succumbed to employing cheap Eastern European reps with poor English and no banter, never again.

  • October 26, 2012
    from United Kingdom

    We've been to Sestriere in 2009 and 2011, stayed in Hotel du Col, very nice , clean, hotel and the food is excellent, plenty of choice and the desserts at the evening meal are especially good. The position of the hotel at the bottom of the slopes is good too, as there is no walking to lifts of catching buses. in fact we like the hotel and resort so much we are going again next year and taking our 13 year old grandson. We are skiers, and have ;been skiing for about 8-9 years, not expert but for us Sestriere suits us, as there are some good runs, not too challenging and it is posible to go to other resorts, as we did in 2011, we took a coach trip to Montgenevre , the skiing there is really good, some runs quite long, even though we had been told it wasn't worth going to as it was too easy. So in 2012 we went there for a week, as I said we enjoyed the skiing, we stayed in a new hotel, which was very good, but the food certainly did not compare with the food in Hotel du Col.

  • February 12, 2010
    from United Kingdom

    Went to Sestrière at the end of March 2009 - 2nd time skiing. Too much for the girlfriend who needed a little more confidence!

    Skiing was good, weather was great, tons of snow whilst we were there.

    Hotel de Col was OK, but somewhat in need of an update/re-decorate! Very close to slopes and so unfaultable from that perspective.

    Sestrière town itself was not as pretty as Austria, but coming round to the opinion that nowhere is!

  • January 24, 2010
    from Portugal

    Just got back from a sunny week in Sestrière I agree with an old review.
    Stayed in the Villagio Olimpico apartments. Nice for 3 persons or 2 plus a kid, just check that you are not in the far end blocks (which we did...), that will bring a 200mts walk to the lifts.
    As for the skiing, the slope classification at Sestrière is a bit pessimistic, the only time I found a track challenging was when I wasn't in one, pistes are wide, well groomed but a lot on the easy and cruising pace, most of them are well scenic, great views to the valleys. With the exception of Sestrière and Mont Genevre most of them run within the trees.
    Mont Genevre is reachable for more than a couple of runs providing that you are an experienced skier, got the chance of skiing the Chalvet and some more tracks and get back in time to Sestrière.
    The city itself is quiet, no aprés-ski, no nightlife worth mentioning.
    As for eating, the mountain restaurants, and the ones in Il Centro, as Mama Lia (with the arrogant waiter until he notices that you may be a good customer after all) are all places to eat well, all my dinners were in between 25€ (Il Centro Pizzeria) and 45€ (Mama Lia).
    Would I return there? With family yes, with my regular bunch no.

  • November 10, 2009
    from United Kingdom

    We stayed at the Olympic Apartments in Sestrière in December 2007 with our 2 children then aged 14 and 10.
    The apartment was clean and spacious but it was a rabbit warren. For what we paid, it was unbeatable value, if a bit soulless and yes, noise in the corridors at night can be a problem, but on the whole it was fine.
    It was an steep uphill stroll to the ski school meeting point and main life system which can be hard in ski boots carrying ski's but great to ski back to the apartments.
    We went the week running up to Christmas and the snow was the best we have ever had and there was hardly anyone on the slopes in the week, but quite busy at weekends, not packed.
    Good lift system.
    The town is noticably more disabled friendly than other resorts I have been to.
    The main down side of the resort is the lack of things to do in the evening, particularly for children. We skied at Passo Tonale the previous year, which is very family orientated and which I would highly recommend for families. Sestrière is more for adults.

  • May 10, 2009
    from United Kingdom

    We stayed at the Olympic, at Sestrière, in late March - 8 of us. No complaints at all and we would certainly go back. However, we didn't have to pay any deposit. I suppose this was covered by our travel package.
    Whilst the Olympic is an eccentric rabbit warren, this was part of its charm. Everybody spoke adequate English; they preferred it to my Italian.
    Skiing at Sestrière was excellent, although it was exhausting not having to queue all week.

  • April 04, 2009
    from United Kingdom

    We stayed in Sestrière in March 2009 at the Olympic apartments. The weather was great and the snow conditions: excellent, although a little slushy in the afternoon as the temperature rose.

    My family (wife and children: aged 6 and 8) stayed there for £420 a head including flight, transfer, apartment, lift passes (youngest free), premium ski hire and lessons for the kids.

    We went expecting the worst and were pleasantly surprised.


    The apartment was clean with great access to two lifts taking you to the skiing in Sestrière and Sauze.

    The runs were fairly long and very pretty. Especially on the Sauze side where there is plenty of ski-line skiing. Of course, when the snow is bad, Sestrière has a much better ski record.

    These resorts are seen by the Italians as weekend resorts so the lifts are quiet. We were told this was common throughout much of the season.

    The gondolas between Sestrière and Sansicario/Sauze provided you with quick links. It was very easy for us to ski the morning in Sauze/Sansicario and be back in time to pick the kids up from ski school in Sestrière.

    There are lots of small mountain restaurants. Even though the ones in Sestrière were self service; they were really pleasant. None of the huge motorway style ones you find in France and Austria.

    Ski school for the kids was great.


    The olympic village is a rabbit run but for the money, we weren't complaining. We didn't pay a deposit but an English group who did, got their money back in a few minutes. Our apartment was quiet but I can imagine it could be bad if the village was packed out.

    The lift guys in Sestrière need to be more safety concious when it comes to children. Some of the chair lifts come around very fast. When they hit our kids, there were instances when the lift person did not even slow the chair down, despite our child clinging on to the side of the chair. Our youngest had to jump off some of the chairs at the top and it was a worry that you had lift employees sitting in their booth, feet on the desk, reading a book.

    We were told by someone working in the resort that the higher lifts close if gusts of wind exceed 45kph. We could not access some of the higher lifts nor get across to Sauze for three days. However, the person we spoke to said that they had a much lower death rate than other countries, especially France. So a con but better than coming home in a box.

    Restaurants in town were a mixed bag. There is one (Mama Lio???) where the food was good but the waiter was so arrogant it really meant you never wanted to go back. Il Centro was good and La Baita was excellent - packed with locals - cash only.

    It is misleading to say that Montigenevre is part of the resort. If you take lessons in Sestrière in the morning, I don't think you would have time to get over there in the afternoon.

    Would we go back? Yes

  • January 26, 2009
    from Italy

    Just come back from Sestrière where I stayed in the Olympic Village Apartments. I can confirm that the complex is a rabbit warren and I still didn't really know my way round by the end of the week. However, the staff were all courteous and there was no problem retrieving the deposit. We simply phoned reception to say we were ready to check out and then went down with our receipt to get the money back. There was no inspection of the room required.
    The skiing in Sestrière and the neighbouring resorts covered by the lift pass is excellent for intermediates like me. Loads of long wide red runs; normally not very busy. Advanced skiers may find it all a bit unchallenging but I thought it was great.