Login / Sign Up


Snow-Forecast logoSnow mountain photo


Ski Canada - BC

Revelstoke Mountain Resort Resort Reviews

Visitor reviews for Revelstoke Mountain Resort Ski Resort



  • June 24, 2013
    Your server from Canada

    This place is a great place to come if you are an intermediate to advanced skier or snowboarder!

    Yes it has it's flaws, like:
    Lack of variety for places to eat at the mountain.
    No convenience store at the resort (you can find your basics at La Baguette).
    No place to buy beer or liquor at the resort (but they do have a delivery service at one of the liquor stores in town).
    If you want these things they are all available in town, which is easy to get to during the day with a free shuttle for hotel guest running from 7am to 6pm. If not they still have methods of you to reach town (5min drive) through the hotel. But please keep in mind, this resort is only 6 years old and still much more to be added!

    Now what's so good about this place you ask?
    1. The terrain. This place has so much to offer in-bounds for any established rider! If you are willing to "earn your turns" then this place is for you! There are so many areas in-bounds or not too far off in to the slack-country for you to chose the line of your dreams! There is a reason why pros flock to this area every year to ride terrain that is like non-other!
    2. The lack of lift lines. The lines may be "big" in the a.m. on pow days, but still make your way up there and by 11am you'll find that you'll barely have to wait in line at all! It sure beats long lines all day at any other resort.
    3. The snow!!! If you are lucky enough to be here during a dump, the snow is amazing. There is lots of it and nothing beats the champagne powder of the interior BC! The bonus is you can still find freshies 3-4 days after snowfalls!
    4. The location (in comparison to the town). 5 min drive from downtown and other hotels spread out throughout the town.
    5. If you have the money...Heli-Skiing. There is a reason this places is the best place in the world for heli-skiing! It's on my bucket list!

    Come here! Experience this place! If this place lives up to it's potential, it'll be a worldwide destination in a few years. It's name can be just as big as Whistler!

    Enjoy!

  • Revelstoke Mountain Resort Ratings

    Based on 34 votes. Vote

    Access: 3.0

    (1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Revelstoke Mountain Resort.

    Public Transport: 3.4

    (1) There are no buses or taxis to Revelstoke Mountain Resort, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

    Scenery: 4.1

    (1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

    Accommodation: 3.6

    (1) No places to stay in/near Revelstoke Mountain Resort, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

    Cheap Rooms: 3.1

    (1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

    Luxury Hotels: 4.0

    (1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Revelstoke Mountain Resort.

    Ski in/Ski out: 3.6

    (1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

    Childcare: 3.4

    (1) There are no child care facilities at Revelstoke Mountain Resort, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

    Snowsure: 4.3

    (1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Revelstoke Mountain Resort is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

    Snowmaking: 2.0

    (1) Revelstoke Mountain Resort relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

    Snow Grooming: 3.3

    (1) There are no snow groomers at Revelstoke Mountain Resort, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Revelstoke Mountain Resort are groomed daily.

    Shelter: 3.8

    (1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Revelstoke Mountain Resort is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

    Nearby options: 2.3

    (1) If snow conditions are poor at Revelstoke Mountain Resort, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

    Regional rating: 4.3

    (1) Revelstoke Mountain Resort usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

    Lift Staff: 4.2

    (1) The staff at Revelstoke Mountain Resort are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Revelstoke Mountain Resort are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

    Crowds/Queues: 4.0

    (1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

    Ski Schools: 3.5

    (1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

    Hire and Repairs: 4.2

    (1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

    Variety of pistes: 4.4

    (1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Revelstoke Mountain Resort has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

    Beginners: 2.2

    (1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

    Intermediates: 3.7

    (1) No intermediate terrain at Revelstoke Mountain Resort, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

    Advanced: 4.5

    (1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

    Snow Park: 1.3

    (1) Not even a kicker at Revelstoke Mountain Resort, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

    Off-piste: 4.4

    (1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

    Cross-country: 2.8

    (1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Revelstoke Mountain Resort, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

    Luge/Toboggan: 1.6

    (1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Revelstoke Mountain Resort has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

    Mountain Dining: 3.1

    (1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

    Eating: 3.1

    (1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

    Apres-Ski: 2.8

    (1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

    Other Sports: 3.0

    (1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

    Entertainment: 2.9

    (1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

    Winter Walks: 2.7

    (1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

    Ski Pass Value: 3.9

    (1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

    Value (National): 4.0

    (1) Overall, Revelstoke Mountain Resort is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

    Value (Global): 4.0

    (1) Overall, Revelstoke Mountain Resort is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

    Based on 34 votes. Vote

  • March 06, 2013
    Dom from Australia

    The runs are too short! The midweek lift lines are so long I waited at least 30 sec and the lift system is inadequate; 3 lifts for 3200 acres, rubbish. Seriously though, this place is great. A place the advanced rider can go and just enjoy life. Awesome tree runs, steep as you can bear and if you need something different heli and cat are a phone call away. Lift passes are cheap. I agree with previous reviewers that lower lever snow can get ordinary but there is more than enough terrain on the top half to compensate. Needs a good terrain park to make it world class, otherwise it was great.

  • February 20, 2013
    Dave from Canada

    I arrived midweek during a heavy snow fall warning with freezing levels to valley bottom. It was really bad. There was nobody there so I was forced to ride up and down all day without stopping. The snow was really deep and light and I kept getting it in my mouth which was kind of disgusting. The terrain was really steep with all these spaced trees, pillowy things, rollers and step downs which made my skis come off the snow all the time. And it was so high I could barely get down on my last run even though I could see almost 5000 ft. straight down to the bottom. It just looked so far away. Oh and one final thing... the beer at the end of the day was too cold and it gave me an ice cream cone headache. I just don't think you should go there because its no fun and you might get exhausted.

  • January 30, 2013
    Paul from Australia

    I’m headed to the Stoke in the 3rd week of Feb 2013 for the first time.

    I have skied many places around the world and have been told only good thing about the Stoke. This comment thread is the first place I have heard negative comments.

    Oh well, I will report back soon with my own thoughts but something tells me I will be ripping sick lines soon.

  • January 14, 2013
    Linda Sjoman from Canada

    We stayed at Sutton Place Hotel. Accommodation satisfactory, but we ate at the Rockford Grill and my new mountain horse jacket was stolen. I suppose not by a customer! Beware! There are thieves at work. Mountain had poor snow and no visibility. Never going there again.

  • December 28, 2012
    Danno from Canada

    Please dislike this mountain, please piss and moan about the facilities, please ski elsewhere.
    Unless skiing is your main goal and you are an advanced skier, Revy is not for you. They are working on being family friendly but aren't quite there yet.
    If you like consistent snow, steep lines and don't mind a bootpack or skin. Revy is for you. It is definitely great to me.

  • December 20, 2012
    customer from Canada

    Here we have a new season, with new policies and more greedy management. In past seasons, they have extended reciprocal discounts to season pass holders from other ski areas. Even during black out dates, they have offered the discount. I have the dated tickets to prove it. But now this season, no more, they have to make more money over Christmas. Having a policy that changes from year to year, or staff member to another, is not right. Opting to enforce a witten policy when they feel like it is bad business. As the staff member advised yesterday, 'we need to make more money over christmas season'. What an answer. Further showing poor trained staff and duty managers.

    I will no longer ski here. Nor will my family. We will drive to other area ski resorts nearby. A total shame. What they don't understand is that for what we saved via a minor discount, was still spent further in other departments, like food and beverage etc. They would not 'loose' money. What, in fact, this now shows is a greed and attitude of take it or leave it. Well, we have left it!

  • April 04, 2012
    Peter from United States

    I read the comments. Let me correct the facts.

    The Stoke is over 2000 ft of vertical.

    There is plenty of skiing below the Stoke.

    The rest is opinion.

  • March 28, 2012
    Jeremy from Canada

    I ski the Rockies, Coastal BC and some Continental US (Rockies), I've never skied Europe, so I can't compare Revy to anything overseas.

    The best feature of Revy, IMHO, is its glades. There are thousands of acres of glades that hold the soft snow, with the top half of the mountain holding the best and most dependable conditions. In the glades are hidden most of Revy's goods... chutes, cliffs, pillows, gullies, and good snow, with little traffic.

    High alpine/steeps/open bowls is somewhat limited and gets tracked out rather quickly. If you like that stuff, Kicking Horse, Louise, Fernie, Castle and even Sunshine are better options.

    I like a few of the frontside groomers. Pitch Black is 4000' of nice natural (rarely groomed) cruising without many moguls. Other groomers are variable but nothing I would call special.

    I agree that the lower 2/3 to 1/2 of the mountain often has less than ideal snow conditions. This is too bad as there are more rocking glades down there as well.

    A pleasant surprise for me was, although the dining options are limited, I found the food by far the best in quality for its price out of any resort I've eaten at in recent memory.

    So to summarize... glades, glades, glades (with hidden treasures and hazards)... everything else... just ok.

  • March 27, 2012
    Austin from Canada

    This was my 3rd year at Revelstoke and the hill has definitely changed a lot including owners... The new owners are total tightwads and actually cut the season short this year! They moved back the closing date by 2 weeks just to save money. It certainly wasn't for a lack of snow as our base is near 3 meters. This was unannounced and definitely unwelcome to those whose ski season was just cut short. The hill has gotten busier and the lines longer which no doubt helped pay the bills; but it's unfortunate that the operators of the hill have tarnished their image by being so cheap and pissing off the passholders. I for one am no longer supporting RMR over this poor decision. Beside, Jumbos opening soon hopefully their operators can keep their head out of their asses!

    Beware booking with RMR, they might just change their minds...

  • March 21, 2012
    Love Lundgren from Sweden

    Ok, here we go.
    I've soon done a full season here in Revelstoke (opening-closing). Sure, the mountain gets quite a lot of snow but the light stuff days can be counted on 1 hand (and this is the best snowyear so far according to their homepage, statistics and every local I talk to).

    There are basically 4 places to go if you are looking for powder. South bowl, North bowl, Greely bowl and Montana bowl.

    Inbound skiing is just to forget unless you like moguls or wait in line 2 hours before lifts open and then you still get like 3 good runs.

    Southbowl/montanabowl can be accessed in 2 ways and traversing+hike or simply hiking both in and out. Depending on what you choose you get a 1-3 min tree run but since the cat ski runs in the same place, it's tracked out half of the time. hiking is between 10-20 min there and 10-20 min out. There are no pillows or anything interesting in these bowls but the snow can be deep. Northbowl is accessed by traversing like 5 min and has some pretty gnarly cliffs if one is up for that. However, since it's easy to get to and the bowl itself is rather small with little vertical, it's tracked out before lunch. To get back, you simply ski a blue groomer for 5-8 min to get back to the lift.

    Greely bowl requires a 15 min hike to get into. It's not really a run, but rather a series of runs. You ski down 1 min, hike up, ski down 1 min again, hike up the next hill and continue doing so until you get to a ravine which ends up at a cat track. The traverse back takes 10 min.

    So those are the places to go if you want decent snow.

    Despite what people say, there is no skiing below the Stoke and Ripper chair. The snow is simply turning to slush or ice there. Sure 2-4 runs this season I was lucky to ski down there with decent snow but the powder turns to slush before the day is over and then freezes.

    Groomers are REALLY long but are not really for cruising since they are crossed by traverses and easy groomers which makes really sharp edgy speedbumps. Also, they usually only groom the slopes 3-4 times a week which makes for some 4000 ft mogul runs the days they skip the grooming.

    On mountain facilities simply does not exist and the bus to and from the slope is almost 200 CAD/season or 4 CAD/pp per day.

    The mountain itself is not that bad, actually it's quite good. However it's NOT as good as people and the hype says.

    It's off-piste vertical is NOTHING like the Alps. You hike A LOT and get good skiing but each lap in e.g Southbowl with 1,5 min skiing takes 1 hour.

    The groomers are long but they are pretty poor if you compare to other places especially in Europe.

    The reason some people say this place is the best can be told with a simple observation.

    On powder days, the line-ups are CRAZY, right up there with Whistler. Anyway, everyone is super stoked. Once you get up the Stoke chair, you look down at people skiing tracked out tree skiing just to the left of the chair. A little later you hear that same person talk about that wicked untouched powder run he'd just had off the left of the Stoke.

    People who hype this place simply has a different perspective. Sure, the mountain has nice vertical and lots of snow but you can't use that vertical and snow below the Stoke. That means that the mountain's 4 lifts are transformed to 1 and it's 5,620 ft is more like 1100 ft.

    So to summarize what Revelstoke is to me.

    35 ft of snow average
    1100 ft vertical
    often foggy
    1 lift
    huge cliffs
    nice glades
    nice people

    If this is what you are looking for, come here and have a blast, if not, well go where they offer what you are looking for.

  • March 12, 2012
    Ian dude from Canada

    I declare as both a client, big shot and all around fancy pants that Mount Revelstoke skiing is a direct jolt to the pleasure center. With my trusty planks in hand I have jumped, ridden, flipped, flopped, tucked, straight lined, and ripped up this pleasure peak. This place is the best!

  • March 11, 2012
    John from Canada

    Today I was at the Revelstoke mtn resort which I've been coming to for years and love it (me and the 8 athletes and 15 parents in the ski club.) The ski club that I run come here 2 times a season for 3 days at a time. In the future it will be debatable if we come back cuz of the greeting that the patroller gave me. They cut my pass for doing a foot hoop in a slow zone while I was going slow. I was just having fun in the powder like everyone else was doing. Threaded to call the RCMP which I don't know if he did or not. But he was try to intimidate me with that. There was a slow sign which I am not arguing, I was going slow, there wasn't a no having fun sign. I didn't know but what they do is cut your pass for that. So be careful in a slow zone, don't have too much fun. I could take the review off this site if I could have my pass back. But it doesn't look like there ready to do so.
    John at johnfc@hotmail.com

    [note from the editor : text edited for the sake of relevance]

  • February 27, 2012
    Jimmy Gray from United Kingdom

    I have recently returned from Revelstoke and can honestly say that it is the most exciting skiing I have ever done. With the lift, heli and cat skiing on offer you simply won't get bored. The mountain resort has amazing lines with a hugely impressive terrain, making most of Europe seem dull!!
    Would recommend Revelstoke to anyone looking for a new skiing challenge as it is the best I've ever experienced. Deep snow and small numbers of people for the amount of terrain on offer = fresh lines all day!!

  • February 24, 2012
    Chris Kirkland from United Kingdom

    I am an avid skier. I have been going to Whistler for the last 17 years. I have also skied a lot in Europe. Last week I went to Revelstoke. It is the best ski resort in the world. Imagine what Whistler was 20 years ago before the crowds. A huge mountain with great terrain and loads of snow. Don't go if you like piste skiing and long lunches.

  • November 30, 2011
    ron feast from Australia

    Love ungroomed terrain, surf unpatrolled coast as well. Staying in Sunpeaks Feb/March (1 month) with the only option for revie the Thursday shuttle. If I need to change places that's fine as it seems being a tourist maybe booked the wrong place. Wild and wooly is more my go. See you there. Old (mature aged) Dog.

  • October 26, 2011
    CPischke from Canada

    Awesome hill, ridiculously long runs in the mid-season, when the bottom half of the hill isn't going from ice to slush throughout the day. Which is not a big deal, most of the good terrain is off of the Stoke chair or the Ripper anyway.
    The management at the hill claims the mountain gets 40-60 feet a year, which may be true for areas around RMR (the Monashees and the Selkirks mostly) but not on the actual mountain. The 2010-11 season hit about 35 feet of snow, but keeping in mind that that season was a fantastic snow year. This all being said, the snow report is very accurate, certainly no lies there.
    Aside from the snowfall claims, the resort is absolutely fantastic. Nicely spaced trees on most of the upper mountain, and in the glade areas on the lower half. The fall lines never really seem to end, and cliff drops and powder kegs abound for those who venture into the amazingly vast off-piste terrain (you might have to go deeper into the trees to find the best powder; most people just dip in and out of them). For those who prefer the groomed runs, Jalapeno, Hot Sauce and Roller Coaster are great for those who enjoy fast cruisers.
    All in all, an awesome hill with great terrain, unreal tree skiing, new and fast lifts, and (my favorite) insane amounts of gorgeous powder, even weeks after a big dump you can still find isolated pockets of the untouched stuff. Not for those who like to go for a massage and some shopping after skiing: more of a hardcore skiers mountain. Not much for amenities.

  • August 10, 2011
    Wade from Australia

    Wow mountain. Did the season pass and got way more than my moneys worth. Just kept finding new lines everyday, freshies 3-4 days after the last dump.

    [note from the editor: text edited for maintaining relevance.]

  • August 08, 2011
    Edwin from Canada

    Amazing hill, gets all the snow it claims, no lies here. The glades here are the best I have seen, all the way to the bottom, there is no brush just wide open glade skiing, they really spend a fortune on this. The amenities are excellent and the nightlife, wow, it's off the chart. The locals rip, they had an extreme comp on when I was here, the lads from Squaw, Alta, Whistler and Jackson where nothing on the locals here, the terrain is that rad, and wow are they down to earth as well and not arrogant in the least. Love this place.

  • July 20, 2011
    Hamish from Canada

    Overall, I love skiing Revy, if you want easy groomed blue runs try some of the Okanagan resorts. I live a couple hours away at another resort but I got a pass at Revy last year, which was great, I am still finding new lines especially last year with the great cover. If you don't know the resort you will most likely miss the experience.
    Ciao

  • July 06, 2011
    brad from Canada

    Terrible, no snow and no facilities.

    Garbage, what a joke, do not waste your money, go to Silver Star for better in every way. Or Big White or Sun Peaks

  • May 19, 2011
    Don from Canada

    Was in "Revy" the second week of January. It snowed somewhere near 1.5 metres over the course of 5 days. It was awful. There were no line-ups and friendly locals were kind enough to show me around the mountain. As for the onhill ammenities, they seriously suck but with this much terrain and that much snow who cares? One day RMR may be what it claims to be and that will be when I stop going. It really pays to be in shape before you come here cause you are going to put in some serious vert and will do a fair bit of hiking.

  • April 04, 2011
    Austin from Canada

    Was there on Sunday April 3 2011. 17 fresh and suuuunnnny .... took my slalom skis .... oops ... what was I thinking ... left my snowboard back home .... that was my only mistake though ... got a wicked leg workout on those small skis and had an awesome day ... unbelievable vertical ...

  • March 31, 2011
    Jf from Canada

    I was there 2 month in 2010 and for the last 2 years it fall much less snow than Whistler. We are far from the 18 feet of snow they claim to received. In 2010, you didn't want to ride the 2/3 of the lower part of the mountain because it was too warm and a small amount of run are groomed. There's only 2 open bowl, if you want more it's backcountry. There is a lot of work to do but I'm sure in 5-10 years it's gonna be a great resort.

  • March 16, 2011
    Fabi from Germany

    I've skied here all winter, every day. This is an awesome mountain with huge, steep terrain. Ok, not everything is easy accessible, but hey dude, that's awesome so there's more stuff for the people willing to earn their turns. I love it here, and I've seen lots of different mountains in this world.
    All in all, if you guys would all please go to Whistler it's way better there.

  • March 14, 2011
    Hugh from Canada

    Massive hill! Great terrain, especially in a good snow season like this one. Lots and lots of exploring and the occasional hike will reap the rewards. But, do not bring the family; this is not a place for kids. While I was there I saw a couple get run over in the slow zone due to the poor layout, luckily only minor injuries, could of been a lot worse.
    Sometimes Patrol are watching but generally not.
    Great place to go with the crew to shred, night life is mediocre at best though, if you have the energy left.

  • March 14, 2011
    Daniel from United States

    Nice mountain. Not great. Seems to be all the positive comments are Canadians and the negative ones are not. Sounds like Canuck pride. Understand it.
    This is a very good mountain for skiing, but there are better.

  • March 12, 2011
    Rob from Austria

    World class heli skiing, right up there with Alaska. That's because the areas around here get the real snow. Mt McKenzie averages 60ft .my ass it does. The terrain is pretty Phlat! Locals can go on all they like about secret stashes etc I spent 6 weeks there skiing with locals everyday and there are some gnarly parts for sure but the average pitch is pretty poor. Heli or hike, or if it's a good snow year (I admit it doesn't happen often) ski the Alps, real actual terrain.

  • March 09, 2011
    JC from United States

    This place is great. Cat Skiing was fantastic. Heli was unreal. Mountain itself is sick.

  • March 09, 2011
    bigmountainskiiergirl from Canada

    I have lived in Revy (Revelstoke Mountain Resort) for a long time now and been skiing all over North America with 20yrs experience. Lots of people seem to have negative comments on RMR. Although I agree that the resort management and after skiing events do need work to make it a high end resort town, the idea that the terrain is the problem is ignorant. People visit once and think they know where to go and how to ski/snowboard. I ski there over 100 days a year and all the time I still go "wow I've never been here before". You can't find Revy in a day or even a week. The snow is epic, often but like every place there are dry spells of no snow. We are still on earth and weather patterns change. This year there had been over 8m of snow to date that fell. Don't believe it? Go for a walk down the green belt (along the river), notice the lack of garbage cans? Yeah they're under the snow. RMR had had some rough times getting going but it's only 4 yrs old. What do you think Whistler looked like at 4yrs old? Not the overcrowded, overpriced place we know today. I love Rev because I love to ski not because I came to party or go to 5 star restaurants. Expect that in Revys future but for now it's just a little place with big terrain (if you're willing to hike). Maybe Revy will be the next Whistler but it won't happen overnight and if that's what you want then go to Whistler but if you just want to ski come here. (P.s wanna ski bigger lines? Ask anyone at the top of the lift, we're very nice people generally)