Login / Sign Up


Snow-Forecast logoSnow mountain photo


Ski Andorra

Grandvalira-Pas de la Casa Resort Reviews

Visitor reviews for Grandvalira-Pas de la Casa Ski Resort



  • October 18, 2013
    Skiguy from Andorra

    I live in Andorra and ski almost every day of every season for 5 seasons. Pas is a pretty nice ski area, but it has two things that make it tricky. It's mostly eastern exposure, so it gets a lot of sun in the early part of the day, and gets cold again in the afternoon. It has different weather than Grau Roig, one of the colder areas with pretty good snow, and tends to get more fog and clouds than other ski areas. The approach from the top of the lifts to Pas is either advanced terrain, or through one place that has a lot of traffic. Lower down it's better. Grandvalira is a big resort with different snow everywhere; if you don't like it move to other places. There are some easier runs in the valley after Grau Roig that have some good snow, and might be better than Pas on a sunny day. With respect to snow, the weather brings what it brings. The most reliable is February and early March, 2012/13 it was hard to go wrong. This year is predicted by many people to be as epic as last year. Enjoy the season.

  • Grandvalira-Pas de la Casa Ratings

    Based on 19 votes. Vote

    Access: 3.6

    (1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Grandvalira-Pas de la Casa.

    Public Transport: 3.8

    (1) There are no buses or taxis to Grandvalira-Pas de la Casa, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

    Scenery: 4.2

    (1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

    Accommodation: 4.8

    (1) No places to stay in/near Grandvalira-Pas de la Casa, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

    Cheap Rooms: 4.7

    (1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

    Luxury Hotels: 4.2

    (1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Grandvalira-Pas de la Casa.

    Ski in/Ski out: 4.6

    (1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

    Childcare: 4.4

    (1) There are no child care facilities at Grandvalira-Pas de la Casa, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

    Snowsure: 4.4

    (1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Grandvalira-Pas de la Casa is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

    Snowmaking: 4.6

    (1) Grandvalira-Pas de la Casa relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

    Snow Grooming: 4.7

    (1) There are no snow groomers at Grandvalira-Pas de la Casa, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Grandvalira-Pas de la Casa are groomed daily.

    Shelter: 3.6

    (1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Grandvalira-Pas de la Casa is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

    Nearby options: 3.4

    (1) If snow conditions are poor at Grandvalira-Pas de la Casa, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

    Regional rating: 4.6

    (1) Grandvalira-Pas de la Casa usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

    Lift Staff: 4.2

    (1) The staff at Grandvalira-Pas de la Casa are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Grandvalira-Pas de la Casa are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

    Crowds/Queues: 4.0

    (1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

    Ski Schools: 4.5

    (1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

    Hire and Repairs: 4.8

    (1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

    Variety of pistes: 4.6

    (1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Grandvalira-Pas de la Casa has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

    Beginners: 4.6

    (1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

    Intermediates: 4.8

    (1) No intermediate terrain at Grandvalira-Pas de la Casa, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

    Advanced: 4.4

    (1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

    Snow Park: 4.3

    (1) Not even a kicker at Grandvalira-Pas de la Casa, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

    Off-piste: 4.3

    (1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

    Cross-country: 3.5

    (1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Grandvalira-Pas de la Casa, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

    Luge/Toboggan: 2.9

    (1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Grandvalira-Pas de la Casa has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

    Mountain Dining: 4.3

    (1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

    Eating: 4.6

    (1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

    Apres-Ski: 4.7

    (1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

    Other Sports: 4.3

    (1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

    Entertainment: 3.9

    (1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

    Winter Walks: 4.2

    (1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

    Ski Pass Value: 4.0

    (1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

    Value (National): 4.6

    (1) Overall, Grandvalira-Pas de la Casa is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

    Value (Global): 4.2

    (1) Overall, Grandvalira-Pas de la Casa is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

    Based on 19 votes. Vote

  • December 29, 2012
    Paulo from Portugal

    Been to Grandvalira several times, usually using Pas de la Casa as a base. Arrived there the 16th December, returned a week later to Portugal. There was enough snow but it was hard and the many slopes had pebbles and stones all over the place, many of them not signaled. Didn't see much of an effort to, at least, keep the resort decent. Little snow production (and it was cold enough for sure, mostly during the night), some slopes poorly groomed. During the week, the temperature started rising during the afternoon, so the snow was really humid during that period. The night life was quite "weaker" this year. Don't know if I'll return, but if I do, surely it won't be in December as they act as if the season only starts in Xmas, though they open up early December.

  • October 31, 2009
    Lucy from United Kingdom

    I went to Pas (Grandvalira-Pas de la Casa) with my firends last winter and had a excellent time. Baring in mind we are a group of 12 girls who have very mixed abilities, the ski area suited us down to the ground. The area is excellent. The Lift pass was expensive in the resort, so we purchased the lift passes through pasdelacasainfo.com. We got them about 20€ cheaper than in the resort. The nightlife was excellent. We are a group of 12 girls out for a good time. The best places had to be Paddys Bar, Condor, and for later on Bilbord. It seems to me that in all resorts, the Irish bars are always the most poplular and the best; Paddys Bar in Pas de la Casa, Paddy Mcquintys in Sauze, and I am sure there's many more. Have a wicked time in Pas (Grandvalira-Pas de la Casa), we will be back this winter in March.

  • April 07, 2009
    Shaun Fieldhouse from United Kingdom

    Me and 3 of my mates went to Pas De La Casa (Grandvalira-Pas de la Casa) in late January and what a week it was. The snow conditions were perfect; some pistes left unbashed for powder loving snowboarders, and the well used and long runs prepared perfectly with a dusting of fresh snow on top. Ideal conditions for both skiers and boarders. I don't know how they were grading the runs, but some blues should have been red, some blacks should have been blues etc. But there is something for everyone at Pas de la Casa (Grandvalira-Pas de la Casa) and the wide slope back into the town centre is perfect for beginners: not too steep and nice and wide for turns. Away from the centre there is a huge snow park, with jumps, rails and half-pipes, with DJ's playing all around, brilliant.
    Now the important bit, the night life. I have never been anywhere quite like it. There are so many bars you will need more than a week to get to them all, and the 2 clubs are always a good laugh. Get to the happy hours to get the night started as beers were about 3 euros. Plenty of good places to eat out, make friends with anybody and everybody, keeps drink and food prices down.
    All in all, Pas de la Casa (Grandvalira-Pas de la Casa) is a great place if you're going to get up late with a sore head, ski or board 'til your legs hurt and then do the same all over again.

  • February 07, 2009
    Gavin from United Kingdom

    Just returned from a week in Pas (Grandvalira-Pas de la Casa) on the 1st Feb. I have been skiing since I was twelve and am now thirty five. I would class myself as an advanced skier. The last time I went to Andorra was twenty years ago and stopped in El Tarter. To say the area has changed a bit is an understatement. My recent visit to Grandvalira-Pas de la Casa was with a group of sixteen people, some beginners some intermediates. I have skied in all the top resorts across Europe and after reading some of the poor reviews about Pas was a bit unsure how it would stand up to these. To say Pas (Grandvalira-Pas de la Casa) is for beginners and intermediates and not much for advanced is untrue. There are not many steep runs full of moguls, granted, but there is more to being an advanced skier than going down a steep black full of moguls. There are miles and miles of excellent off-piste most of which is accessible by the lift system (no guide required). I only went to two of the three terrain parks and I thought one was very good; the other was average. Also if you're getting bored why don't you go to one of the two half-pipes (advanced skiers also like these). Although there are not many really long runs they are kept in good condition. The lift queues are short with a lot of fast lifts that link very well. Thought the food on the mountain was better than any French resort I have been to also not as expensive. The skiing is good for all levels so don't be put off by people who say it is not good for advanced skiers. They obviously stick to groomed pistes with both skis firmly on the ground. The night life in Pas (Grandvalira-Pas de la Casa) was also good compared to a lot of European resorts. The most expensive pint was 4 euros, the cheapest 1.75 euros. Most bars have happy hours and were quite happy to extend them for our group of sixteen people so we would stay in their bar. Found everybody friendly in the resort and would recommend it to anyone at any level.

  • January 12, 2009
    nath from United Kingdom

    just got back from Pas (Grandvalira-Pas de la Casa). Went from the 4th Jan to the 11th 2009; first time skiing and if you're looking for a cheap, no frills holiday then Pas is the place. The snow was brilliant; we had 40 cms of new snow fall in 3 days. The tuition was great plus we used the ski storage right next to the slopes which for 20 euros was good value. One thing I must say is don't stay in hotel Camalot. The food is appauling and the staff are vile, never smile and don't want to help you with anything. Also don't do the ribshack in Milwalke, it's the biggest waste of money I've ever spent. It cost 50 euros for me and my missis. We left hungrier than when we arrived. No matter what the reps tell you don't go they only want you to because they get commission. But apart from that, it is great skiing, good value for money and I would definitely recommend it for beginners.

  • December 30, 2008
    Johny from United Kingdom

    Hi, Just came back from Pas (Grandvalira-Pas de la Casa) last week. We had an excellent Christmas holiday in Pas. We stayed in hotel Cal Ruiz, which was nice. The only problem was the walk to the ski lifts each day. We used the ski storage up on the piste. It was excellent value, 20€ for the week and your boots where warmed for you in the morning.
    The resort was quieter than what I had expected. The slopes seemed empty and there was no queues for any of the lifts.
    Nightlife was good, the busiest and best bar was Paddys Irish Bar. Check it out when you are there. Overall the holiday was great.

    We will be back in March for sure.

    John

  • November 21, 2008
    Ian from United Kingdom

    Hi, been going to Pas for the last 4 years, for the last 2 years the snow has been poor like everywhere. We picked Pas again because the nightlife is excellent and cheapish drinks compared to France, Austria, and Italy. Going back this year at new year. It's looking excellent for snow already. Any one going out new years week, see you all in Paddys Irish Bar (Pas's best bar by far) for some quality drinking from apres-ski to the early hours.
    See you all then
    Ian

  • July 29, 2008
    Jim from United Kingdom

    Just come back from Pas on the 25 Feb 2008. Had an absolutely awesome time. The snow was good, the runs where good, the area is big (193km) and the off-piste unbeatable!!
    After a good day on the piste we went for a bit of apres-ski which was superb. The best place for drinking had to be Paddys Bar, It cost us 1.5euro for a pint of lager or any short with mixer at the apres-ski. We where rocking before we knew it. Top time. See you next year.

  • March 01, 2008
    warren from United Kingdom

    Pas de la Casa; only 1 bar rocks. There is an underground bar. Get yourself in and, for sure, the staff will look after you with free drinks and shots.

  • February 13, 2008
    Tom James from United Kingdom

    Went to Pas de La Casa between 27th Jan and 3rd of Feb 2008. It's perfect if you are a group of young lads or girls out for some intermediate skiing and some hardcore drinking in the evenings. It's NOT cheap for booze in bars as you may be led to believe, 10 Euros for 2 beers in some places is almost twice what it is here. The ironic thing is that in the shops, alcohol and tobacco are ridiculously cheap due to the tax free status so take cigarettes or tobacco back and sell it on, I've just made £100 to put towards my next holiday from selling pouches of Golden Virginia !
    The name MANDORRA is well earned, women are in great demand in Pas, ratio of 15 men : 1 woman is correct. We weren't on the pull but I could imagine it would be hard !!
    Skiing wise, the Grandvalira is a huge area, runs are plentiful but generally quite short, the longest being 2km so you will spend quite a lot of time on lifts but queues are usually short. Snow not brilliant for a high altitude resort but the snow cannons keep it ticking over. Not the place to go if you want fresh powder all holiday.
    Smoking was a bit of a problem for me out there - I don't and everyone else does. The bars are very smoky and if it is something that bothers you then Pas is not for you. Having smokers either side of you when you are eating breakfast or dinner or even in McDonalds is trying after getting used to the smoking ban here.
    All in all, Pas is a purpose built resort, good for getting drunk with friends and half serious skiing. Visit Paddys for a cooked breakfast in the morning after a night on the razzle dazzle - again not cheap but very tasty. Go half board to save some money on breakfast and evening meal.
    Soldeu/El Tarter in the next valley suits a slightly more reserved skier, it's more attractive than Pas and quieter but still with apres-ski facilities - but make sure you stay in the centre of the resort, I've heard horror stories about getting taxis.

  • January 28, 2008
    Victor from Lebanon

    Hi, I'm Vick from Mount Lebanon. I spent a week in Pas between the 19 and 27 of January 2008. Although Grandvalira is a big resort, relatively, I can clearly say that the quality of snow was poor. Snow is frozen in many places so it was more like ice skating, and it was weird not to find more than 10 cm of snow depth at 2300m during January! Most of the runs below 1900m were almost without snow...
    About the night life; there are a lot of pubs and clubs, but it was weird to find an average of 10 guys to 1 girl in most of the pubs and clubs! So, guys, if you are looking for girls there, it's not the right place to be ...

  • January 22, 2008
    Tim Hawkins from United Kingdom

    Just spent a week in Pas - fabulous location. The town itself is a little grim - typical tourist resort. Something for everyone whether you want to learn, just ski all day or for the night life. Worst points of the holiday were getting up at 3am to go and 4am to leave.
    Excellent ski instructors too - thank Gilles :-)

  • September 08, 2006
    bungle from United Kingdom

    Anyone who says that you shouldn't go to Pas or they wouldn't go back is mad. Yes, fair enough I have had better snow, alot better, but I have not met better people or had a better ski holiday in my life. There are plenty of runs now it's linked with other resorts, with something for everyone mainly beginners - intermidiates. The bars, restaurants and nightclubs are not to be argued with. They are amazing, with free beer and cocktails coming out of our ears and cheap tabs after a beautiful bit of grub.
    I have been skiing since I was twelve and Andorra was my first stop. I am now a 21 year old ski instructor and have been to Pas every year and don't intend on stopping. As a matter of fact I can't wait till March when I head back out there.
    Andorra ........ highly recommended

  • March 06, 2006
    carina from United Kingdom

    Just got back from a one week's snowboarding holiday (6 March) in Pas de La Casa. Great runs and a cool snow park. Had a good time, made a difference all areas being linked together. Had good snow as it snowed the day we got there.
    The nightlife is good. Go to the underground, good music and great bar staff.
    All in all had a great week, would recommend Andorra to anyone.

  • February 28, 2006
    matt from United Kingdom

    Just did a week staying in Pas. On day two, without pushing it at all I got to El Tarter, covered several of the runs over Soldeu and the blues down to Pla de Les Pedres and was back to Pas by 2pm. You can tell there is only a 500m vertical drop as the runs (specially at Pas and down to Cubil) are pretty short. Longer runs can be found from Llosada down to El Tarter.
    The Grand Villara is a big area and for a beginner and novice snowboarder it is great, the blues over Soldeu and Pla de les Pedres are perfect for practising your turns and the runs through the trees are great fun, which is why I would recommend staying in Soldeu rather than Pas, if access to the best pistes is what you want.
    A lot of the runs are over graded and would be rated lower if they were in a French resort. I would say a decent skier or snowboarder with good light and lifts on his side could do every run within three days easily. Anyone who is advanced will be bored within a few days.
    It is a great place to learn or improve you skills, spend a couple of days riding switch or use the park in Pas to get to grips with some rails and jumps.
    It is cheaper than France, especially for beer and food. But the lift pass is not much cheaper, 180euro for Grand Vallira compared to 190euro for Tignes/Val d'Isere.
    Would I go back? Probably not.
    Would I recommend Andorra? Yes if you are still learning and aren't looking for challenging piste.

  • February 06, 2006
    Brendan from United Kingdom

    We couldn’t have been luckier. It dumped a massive 80cm of snow the weekend before arrival on the 30th Jan. The weather was sunny for the rest of the week and we had lots of powder to play with.
    When I left on the 5th Feb the off-piste stuff was pretty much tracked out but the groomers were doing an excellent job keeping the slopes fresh each morning. The runs on the Pas and Grau side are long, wide and not over crowded. Grandvalira is huge but you can do the whole thing in a day.
    In a nutshell Pas was awesome! I am an intermediate snowboarder and I thoroughly recommend coming here. The lessons I had were cheap and very rewarding. Definitely go.

  • February 02, 2006
    ' SMITHMEISTER ' from United Kingdom

    I have just returned from Pas(29th Jan)and what a wonderful time I had . The snowboarding was awesome; there are so many good runs. Managed to go over to Soldoeu and El Tarter. There were some good blacks too!!!
    The nightlife is fantastic and cheap too!!
    I can see why its called Mandorra though, men to women ratio is about six to one I reckon, so make sure you get on the pull early!!!!!
    Make sure you visit the Millwakee bar and the Underground club. Also, Kyu and Billboard clubs are well worth the visit .
    I stayed at THE HIMILAIA hotel. It was fantastic there and it's right on the slopes. Lovely lounge bar with large settees too!!!
    Food in Andorra is cheap and good. A decent steak is around 9 euros so no need for half board. May as well eat out. There is a Burger King and Macdonalds too!!!!
    Have fun, I'll be back next year.

  • January 26, 2006
    Kathie Phelps from United Kingdom

    Stay somewhere else and ski Pas from there! Access from Encamp by Funicamp cable car is the best. The night life is great all over Andorra. However, the Skiing is fabulous in Pas, Grau, all over to Soldeu, Canillo -a wicked Black - and El Tarter aka Piccadilly Circus. Bet you can't do every run in the Grand Valira in a week. Also, for a romantic lunch, the gourmet restaurant by the lake in the trees on the Grau side is lovely.

  • November 15, 2005
    Melanie from United Kingdom

    Please don't be put off Andorra by the tales of cheap booze and easy slopes. Although it does have these in abundance there is a whole side to Andorra that few reviews every mention.
    Yes, Pas is rather ugly... however if you don't want the package tour area and electrical hardware stores then head over to Canillo or Encamp. There are also some great hotels in Andorra La Vella or Escaldes and access to the slopes is either by the little white bus/train or by your hire car. There are some great runs in the Grand Valira area and a great deal more off-piste or blacks than usually mentioned.
    Andorra has invested so much money into their skiing/boarding that the lifts now easily outstrip those in many of the 'top class' resorts such as Verbier and their attention to service is utterly 5 star. It is a great place to visit with excellent boarding and skiing.

  • August 30, 2005
    Charlotte Wray from United Kingdom

    Went to Pass de la Casa in April 04 and it was the best ever ski holiday...ever. Lovely people, great , and I mean GREAT food and loadsa nice bars and clubs open, even in April. Although it was late in the season there was pleanty of snow. Amazing, a must see must SKI resort.

  • February 16, 2005
    Louise from United Kingdom

    I just had to return to pas last week to see if I had dreamt the most hedonisitc, fabulous previous holiday the year before. I hadn't it was even better! Wide, well groomed, speedy pistes, abundance of free alcohol, and a 12:1 ratio men to women. HEAVEN.

  • January 20, 2005
    laura mckillop from United Kingdom

    5 gals on a boarding holiday jan05. Was by far the best holiday we'v ever had. Gorgoeus sunny weather everyday, yet slopes managed to stay well groomed. No ice! We went with Inghams and although we were moaning about the prices before we left, we were all in agreement that it was more than worth it. Great cheap clothes,drink,grub. Great people great atmosphere! Inghams(G.I. JOE,ALISON AND EMMA) had something organised everynight of the week from bar crawls to tex mex nights to shopping and even bum boarding.Was great.
    Would happily recommend the resort to anyone. What more could you ask for.

    Thanks Inghams for a great holiday!!!!

  • November 18, 2004
    paul from United Kingdom

    Went to Pas de la casa feb/march 04.As mentioned in previous posts,the skiing area of the three other nearest resorts is all now combined.You pay about £20 extra for 'gran valiera' lift pass that covers the whole area.You would have to be serious to get it done in 3 days! Pas town itself is pretty ugly and reminds you of an inner city center.But the nightlife is very lively (ibiza stylee),a stark contrast to swiss/austrian resorts,you make your mind up what type of holiday you want! Usually very good late season snow cover,was still rideable at the end of march with nearly all lifts open.

  • December 30, 2003
    Mark Vincent from United Kingdom

    Pas, Grau Roig, Soldeu and El Tarter are now all linked! it costs ?22 or so for the week for the extra magnetic pass, but well worth the money. The soldeu side has lots and lots of nice easy, wide runs for beginners and intermediates, whilst there's a whole load of off piste stuff available too. Well worth the extra coin. I went (2nd time this year) with 2 skiers, and they had almost as much fun as me. This is an excellent resort for all but the most advanced and adventurous skiers/boarders, and with the new linked resort pass, youve got to really have a short attention span to get bored in a week.

  • September 24, 2003
    David Hayes from United Kingdom

    I was in pas de la casa last December over the christmas period. Fantastic place.. cheap booze... loads of party's... and the skiin is pretty good too. the terrain is not in itself that big.. 100kms... but def worth going to.. they say pas is geared towards intermediates and beginners but i wouldnt completely agree... The back country is excellent... the week i was there last year the snow was excellent and the back country was great.. for an advanced skiier is a good week... i didnt seem to get bored as i constantly hiked for better off-piste and powder..
    Some of the blacks are pretty decent too.. the black mogul field on the pas mountain is excellent and will challange even the top skiiers. Grau Roig hosts some pretty good powder up in the tree's both right and left of the base and can be accessed by a number of lifts very easily.

    Def a good resort for anyone.. whether you are looking for a skiing hol or a partying one.. its got it all...

  • September 01, 2003
    Sinbad from United Kingdom

    I have been snowboarding twice in Pas. The first time was in 1997, and that was my first ever time snowbaording. The second time was in 1998, late season. I would highly recomend Pas for beginners, or those on a tight budget; the instruciton was excellent, and the conditions were pretty good. The town itself isn't exactly eye candy, but if you're after cheap booze, fags, or electrical goods, then Andorra is the place to go. The nightlife is fairly vibrant due to the nature of the cheap booze; most bars will give you a free shot just for walking through the door. The clubs and bars are cheesy though, so if you're a serious clubber/vinly spotter then don't get too excited; this town is pure cheddar.

    Overall, Pas is an excellent 'cheap and cheerful' ski area, its downsides are the smallish area of terrain, and I wouldn't go back there now beacuase after sampling some of the greatest resorts on the planet, I think I would get bored within a couple of days. Saying that, I think Pas was going to be eventually linked to another resort in Andorra (Soldeu?, Pal?) so the terrain may well be alot more sizable these days, plus I sure there is some decent back country to be had if you know the area.

    Definatley a place worth checking out if you are new to snow sports.


  • anjith from United Kingdom

    Went to Pas March 2007 and the snow was pants, but then it was all over that time last year.... can't blame the place for that! What snow they had was well maintained and they did their best to keep all the links up and running. I've never been to Pas before. It was all linked up so can't comment on the improvement. What I can say is that I'd love to go in better conditions as there is some great skiing to be had. Poor snow didn't stop us enjoying the runs, not the prettiest, but not the ugliest either. Shopping & drinking is cheap compared to Italy & France so that's always a bonus.
    Overall, good, I'd go back.