Login / Sign Up


Snow-Forecast logoSnow mountain photo

Android app on Google Play Snow Report Snow Forecast App

Ski USA - Oregon

Mt Hood Meadows Resort Reviews

Visitor reviews for Mt Hood Meadows Ski Resort



  • February 13, 2011
    alan from United States

    Meadows has some good snow usually and the staff has always been helpful in my experience. Beware though that Meadows takes a lax attitude about safety. There is a lot that they could do but choose not to. Almost everyone I know has either been hit or nearly hit and it seems no one ever takes notice. I emailed Meadows and they never responded. At Bachelor in Bend, there are ski patrol at the intersection of trails and safety signs, etc.. They take away passes and are serious about safety. I was hit in the back by a boarder myself recently and the Meadows staff 100 feet away ignored the situation. Ski at your own risk at Meadows.

  • Mt Hood Meadows Ratings

    Based on 66 votes. Vote

    Access: 4.1

    (1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Mt Hood Meadows.

    Public Transport: 3.3

    (1) There are no buses or taxis to Mt Hood Meadows, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

    Scenery: 3.9

    (1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

    Accommodation: 2.4

    (1) No places to stay in/near Mt Hood Meadows, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

    Cheap Rooms: 2.6

    (1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

    Luxury Hotels: 2.3

    (1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Mt Hood Meadows.

    Ski in/Ski out: 2.3

    (1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

    Childcare: 3.6

    (1) There are no child care facilities at Mt Hood Meadows, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

    Snowsure: 4.0

    (1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Mt Hood Meadows is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

    Snowmaking: 2.5

    (1) Mt Hood Meadows relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

    Snow Grooming: 4.0

    (1) There are no snow groomers at Mt Hood Meadows, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Mt Hood Meadows are groomed daily.

    Shelter: 3.5

    (1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Mt Hood Meadows is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

    Nearby options: 2.5

    (1) If snow conditions are poor at Mt Hood Meadows, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

    Regional rating: 3.8

    (1) Mt Hood Meadows usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

    Lift Staff: 3.8

    (1) The staff at Mt Hood Meadows are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Mt Hood Meadows are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

    Crowds/Queues: 3.0

    (1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

    Ski Schools: 3.8

    (1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

    Hire and Repairs: 4.1

    (1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

    Variety of pistes: 4.0

    (1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Mt Hood Meadows has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

    Beginners: 4.0

    (1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

    Intermediates: 4.3

    (1) No intermediate terrain at Mt Hood Meadows, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

    Advanced: 4.0

    (1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

    Snow Park: 3.8

    (1) Not even a kicker at Mt Hood Meadows, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

    Off-piste: 3.6

    (1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

    Cross-country: 3.8

    (1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Mt Hood Meadows, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

    Luge/Toboggan: 2.0

    (1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Mt Hood Meadows has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

    Mountain Dining: 3.1

    (1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

    Eating: 3.5

    (1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

    Apres-Ski: 3.1

    (1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

    Other Sports: 1.9

    (1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

    Entertainment: 2.0

    (1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

    Winter Walks: 2.8

    (1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

    Ski Pass Value: 3.1

    (1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

    Value (National): 3.3

    (1) Overall, Mt Hood Meadows is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

    Value (Global): 3.3

    (1) Overall, Mt Hood Meadows is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

    Based on 66 votes. Vote

  • February 12, 2011
    Kelly from United States

    Seriously, it's not the holiday gripes, it's the all year gripes. Nothing ruins a perfect day of skiing like a surly, suspicious, and rude staff and Mt Hood Meadows is famous for that. They may have some decent runs, but I don't bother with them anymore. I live here and have a season pass for Timberline where the folks are polite and friendly and a run down Magic Mile, through Kruser, down to the glade, will blow your skis off! Occasionally, I get friends who want to do MHM and I sometimes agree to go with them, but it's always such a pain! Haven't had a bad experience yet at Timberline. Save your dollars and save your smiles and all out whoops for Timberline.

  • February 12, 2011
    Kimberly from United States

    Mt Hood Meadows is awesome. Sure, it's a little spendy but what big resort isn't? If you can get past the prices, and the crappy people driving up, it's amazing. The employees all treat me like family and have gotten help with everything I need. I don't understand the people bashing Meadows, the people and employees are better than any mountain I have ever skied, not to mention the best terrain and the best snow on a good day.

  • February 04, 2011
    Rod from United States

    After year-after-year cuts in services and jumps in pricing I decided to leave MHM (Mt Hood Meadows) behind and have not missed it one bit. All over, from hikes in locker fees, removal of cheap menu items, to cutting out allowing buddies to share your 10-punch after 3/1, seems like erosion of the experience. It's often ridiculously windy. It takes at least two lift rides to get one run in Upper Heather. Sure there are secret stashes but they are small, not worth the effort. Skip it! Though snow is iffy, Ski Bowl is a much more satisfying experience. And you can often park right in front of the lodge.

  • January 12, 2011
    Leslie from United States

    Meadows (Mt Hood Meadows) is usually the best terrain and snow option on Mount Hood - which is good for Meadows because from my own experience and many of my friends who have worked for Meadows - the management needs an attitude adjustment. I do recognize, however, that this is the resort that most of the snow riders with major attitudes choose to go to, so part of Meadow's problem is the crowds and clientel. Bottom line, I choose Ski Bowl over Meadows any day as long as the snow level is low enough - as Ski Bowl is the best value on the mountain and has the best vertical drop. Timberline has a fabulous new area with lots of tree skiing and the people that work there are so refreshingly nice. Customer service is still alive at Timberline so if that's what you're looking for - have at it!

  • January 06, 2011
    Nick from United States

    It's always funny to read the reviews here after Christmas break. There are always so many people that come on here raging about this or that and how its Meadows fault. Anybody that actually lives in NW Oregon knows it is 100% the people, you get people in Portland metro area in snow and all hell will break loose. Crashing into things, not paying attention, all things that translate to the mountain.

    Honestly its not fair to judge Meadows on Holiday conditions, everybody and their entire family goes up during the holidays because every one is on vacation kids included. Most regulars just know to avoid Meadows, or anywhere on the mountain really any time during the 2 week Christmas period as its just hell on earth getting there at 20mph behind people with chains on bare pavement, skiing, and getting down.

    Meadows is by far the best place overall on Mt Hood. Skibowl has the best terrain but the snow is so hit and miss you need to plan ahead to be there on deep pow days.
    Timberflats IMO is a joke: I have never seen more groomed runs in my entire life. Every trail is groomed flat with maybe 1 foot of snow left on the edges before your at impenetrable dense trees.

  • January 06, 2011
    Kyle from United States

    If you don't take the mountain for what it is and enjoy it as much as possible, I feel sorry for you. There is plenty of fun to be had for anyone who is willing to relax and enjoy it. Shred with someone who knows where to go and you might find a whole new world at meadows. Meadows is a great training ground for skiers and riders of any ability level. The staff loves Mt. Hood and the ski and snowboard lifestyle. Everyone would be nice and helpful to you if you treat them and the mountain with respect. If you don't enjoy and respect your surroundings happiness will be hard to come by. Make new friends and improve your skiing and riding. It's easy if you try! I'll see you all on the slopes.

  • January 05, 2011
    dPoc from Afghanistan

    Meadows blows, hard. This is Oregon's premier destination resort for rich assholes. While it may have the best terrain on Hood, the outrageous lift prices and long lift lines simply make it not worth the extra 10 mile drive from Govey.

  • January 03, 2011
    Willamette Weakers! from United States

    Wow! Amazing to see the displacement of blame and distortions here -- too bad everyone is right! Portlanders are unconscious negating little F'ers from my years of dealing with thousands of them -- but all populations have an 80%-20% ratio of idiots to cool people. The cool people in Portland don't like Portlanders much either.

    Willamette Weak however has it's own mother archetype distortion and it eats its young destroying the hope of a small town Shangri-La -- we all wanted and cannot have as long as the blind lead the blind.

    Once your above 6,500 feet and the temperature is below 20 degrees, all complaints stop! The terrain is tough, and you have to seek out your lines to get into the hidden spots.

    Ignore the Portlanders, or better yet laugh at them. I've never seen a more ego distorted, passive aggressive group of people more idiotic than your average Portlander. That's why I moved out of that gloomy little town. The Portlanders I know are embarressed and cannot stand the geeks that squeak the wheels.

    Funny thing is that most Portlanders never leave Portland! They never go to the mountains or the coast as it is only an hour and a half drive -- they stay home and sulk, as they are a gloomy people.

    Let them go, and go have a great time skiing on a gorgeous mountain. If you are willing to traverse the high walls of Heather canyon's roots -- you'll never see them or any other complainers!

    The Portlander's that are idiots are moot.

    ~Barney Rubble

  • January 03, 2011
    John from United States

    Mt. Hood Meadows is trash. Sure, it has pretty nice terrain but it is far too crowded. Unless you are there weekdays, you can expect long lift lines, often with 10 minute waits. Even then, weekdays aren't always better. If you're going to have crowds that large, then learn to manage the crowds. Mt. Bachelor gets more people but they at least know how to manage the crowds. Meadows doesn't and it causes awful crowds on the mountain.

    Meadows also attracts some of the worst people to the mountain. Most people at Meadows are not friendly. This ranges from riders who think they're better than everyone else down to the people who work there. You know, it's possible to go to the mountain (or work there) without being a complete douchebag. Unfortunately, Meadows has a long way to go to learn this.

    All in all, good terrain but the crowds and quality of people make it my least favorite place to ride in Oregon. If you know where to go, there is steep stuff at Timberline where the crowds are smaller and the community of riders/workers is much more enjoyable. If you don't like Timberline, there is always Ski Bowl which has great terrain and again, it's not the community of douchebags who ride Meadows. But if you think you're better than everyone else and arrogant enough to scream at beginners instead of simply riding around them, then please go to Meadows where douchebags aren't only welcome, they're encouraged.

  • January 02, 2011
    Ryan from United States

    First off, "Friendly Neighbor," you sound like the biggest d-bag ever. Do the world a favor, take your own advice, and "STFU." Did you really bring up snowboarders scraping powder off of runs? I remember when I started riding blacks and double blacks. There were times I had to heel slide to regain control and establish a new line. If you had screamed at me, I would have calmly unhooked my bindings, pulled your jacket over your head and punched you in the face repeatedly. Then people would call you a gaper because of the empty void where your front teeth used to be. So if you ever see a 6'4" snowboarder in a Marmot jacket and pants doing something you don't approve of, you might want to keep your mouth shut.

    Now on to Mount Hood Meadows as a resort... There are definitely better resorts out there and there are definitely worse. For those of us who come from the Portland area, it's hard to turn your nose at such an accessible place to come up and ride/ski for the day and in some cases the night. The snow and conditions aren't always the best, but if you follow the weather and pick your days you will usually come home happy. Being so close to a metropolitan area, it does tend to get pretty busy on weekends. In most cases if you distance yourself from the Mount Hood Express runs as soon as possible and only use them to get back and forth from the two sides, you will find plenty of open real estate. If you have an issue with the food prices, pack a lunch and throw it in a backpack. Pull off in a low traffic area and enjoy a meal on the side of a dormant volcano. Personally, I love coming to Meadows and plan on having a pass for many seasons to come.

  • December 30, 2010
    Driz from United States

    I've been to all of the resorts on Mt. Hood enough to know it can be epic for any skill level. People get really psyched up about barreling down a hill at fast speeds and you will hear them talk about being awesome no matter their skill level. The diversity of terrain and size of meadows brings the crowds. Put enough rats in a cage, or on a mountain, and they fight or bicker. Its not people at any resort that suck. Its a sweet resort when you are there to simply ride and, as you should always, ignore humanity at large.

  • December 26, 2010
    Tim moran from United States

    Just a quick comment on MHM (Mt Hood Meadows). I have skied the mountain for 40 years and I have skied B.C. Utah, Idaho and Montana as well. Hood is a great local venue. It has some insanely steep terrain (please stay away from it until you know what you're doing) and lots of intermediate stuff too. In years like this we get great powder and in other years we get "cascade concrete"...no different from Whistler!
    Yes, it's crowded and all the 'greenies' in Portland sue to limit expansion. It's funny that the "keep Portland weird" people are probably the same ones bitching about the mountain! I digress...sorry, anyway be happy you have such a great mountain an hour and change from your driveway - but, hey MHM, open Daisy again for night skiing mid week!

  • December 25, 2010
    stephen from United States

    I love the Meadows (Mt Hood Meadows)! We always have a wonderful time there. Last spring was some of the best skiing I have ever done in my life. We made so many friends just riding on the lift talking to complete strangers. I have yet to encounter any rude or unpleasant people, with one exception... the ski patrol. Anytime I ask about the conditions I always get some snide and sarcastic remark and feel like I have bothered someone. Standing at the top of Bowl 1 trying to make friendly conversation and hopefully get some safety info I asked a patroller if the snow was still set up (hard). he just shrugged and said "why don't you find out for yourself". Why do they have to be like that? Aren't they there to serve and protect like the police. Here's to you Meadows at Mt Hood. Here's not to you ski patrollers. Get off your high horse and be cool for once. You're nothing more than a rent-a-cop on skis. Be friendly, courteous, polite.
    my .02 cents.

  • November 14, 2010
    autumn from United States

    All I want to say is thank you so much Meadows (Mt Hood Meadows) for a great place to ride! I don't care if your food prices are high, I bring my own food thank you. Not a hard thing to do..throw some PB&J in a cooler and call it good! and to all you rough tough rude-riders who take offense to a person not at your pace or skill level on the same run as you.. go complain to someone who actually cares! I have been boarding for a while now and have never taken offense to a beginner learning on the big mountain..(you don't learn it all on the bunnie hill)..slow the hell down for one second! Thank you and see you on the mountain**

  • November 09, 2010
    Rick Smith from United States

    Really, all this complaining? Wow, we are so lucky. On the mountain (Mt Hood Meadows) in less than an hour from the east side and 1 1/2 hrs from downtown? Really, just be happy and zenful! Your food prices just suck though. Food sucks and dollars spent on it just don't add up. Yes, I could bring my own but what if this is a place where I, the customer, shouldn't have to pack any food. Feed us good healthy food at a reasonable price and stop being the food scrooges!

    Other than that, MHM (Mt Hood Meadows) rocks! Have fun and be safe!

  • May 19, 2010
    friendly neighbor from United States

    Reading all this makes me want to vomit! People are talking more about other people than they are the mountain and snow. I'm not the authority on international ski destinations, but I've seen my share of mountains, terrain, snow, and dumbass people. MHM (Mt Hood Meadows) has them all.
    Lets first address these common complaints from dumbass people:
    First, there is a thing called Avalanche Danger, which is why Cascade and Heather are not open the moment you arrive on your one day trip per year up to the mountain. Did anyone notice the 1.5 mile long slide that happened this year? Heather was open that day and had it not slid at night, hundreds of people would have undoubtedly died. So from this one example, you can proceed to STFU.

    Mt.Hood is in a maritime climate, it gets wet manky snow and is affected by weather anomolies such as El Nino. Now that you know this, STFU and stop complaining about imperfect snow conditions.

    Mt. Hood is a volcanic mountain formed a long time ago. MHM staff cannot go back in time and change its formation, or the terrain you ride. Now that you know that, STFU and ski it for what it is. There's great shit on MHM if you know where to look (think Daisy chair).

    Now that we are clear on things we can't change, lets address those that we can. First of all, Gapers. Gapers are those skiers or boarders who just started riding, or have been riding 1-5 times per year for years and not gotten anywhere progressing their abilities, but believe, or try to hard to be extreme... To those of you who fit in this category, please realize you suck (yes, it's ok to suck) and mind those that take to the mountain like their trying to tame a beast. Get in their way and yes, they will make you want to dig a snow cave, crawl in, and cry. Yes it is everyones mountain, but realize your ability levels and stay within those limits. Realize there are others who's life passion revolves around every line they ski, not a weekend trip to disney mountain, who will be severely disturbed should you interfere with that pursuit.

    When in the lift lines, learn to alternate with the line next to, and then the line across from you. Jump up with the unfilled group (4 on quads) to fill a chair. Do not stand in the middle of the lift line waiting for your buddies, adjusting your bindings, or doing something else stupid that clogs the efficiency of lift lines. Keep this as a general rule in your head at all times.

    To (some of) the MHM lifties; try and smoke a lil less ganga on your ride break and make sure the lift lines flow the best they can. This is your job. Some of you do it ever so well its like music, yet some really suck ass so bad i doubt you could tie shoes or match those colored blocks. Yes it is that easy to make a group of four, and alternate.

    Snowboarders: If you're learning how to snowboard, learn on the bunny hill, or something relatively easy (and groomed) how to use both your heel AND your TOE edges. Do not venture into terrain outside your comfort zone, and heel slide down a perfect chute, scrapeing what little powder surface we had down to the ice. This is bad, and you will at one point, get screamed at for being a dipshit gaper.

    To those that think the people you meet on the mountain have attitudes and should go somewhere else, STFU. They likely have an attitude towards you because you've done something stupid that interfered with their enjoyment, or worse, nearly gotten you or them hurt. Just STFU and know your place.

    Lastly, to you gaper parents, yes of course your kids are precious to you, and nobody wants to intentionally hurt them. When you see someone cruising by your out-of-control gaper child at a speed you think is too fast, do not scream at them, unless you want to humiliate yourself and loose all respect from your child. Because someone is going faster than is comfortable to you does not mean that someone is out of control or sucks as bad as you do. Keep your child (and yourself) on appropriate runs and just realize that other people can ski, even if you cannot.

    Meadows is a good mountain for what it is, but the people there can really excel at making it worse.

  • April 24, 2010
    Carlo the Ski Nose from United States

    If you skied Meadows (Mt Hood Meadows) five years ago, you'd have some stuff to complain about. Nowadays the mountain is run a gazillion times better than then. The only problem is the crowds. But when you're the only higher elevation hill with above average terrain in a market where there are only 3 resorts serving the entire Portland area, then you've got crowds. They could discontinue the 4 by 4's etc... but that's not bidness.

    So what's the mgmt to do?

    I'd say.. in 2004 on a scale of 1 to 10, the mountain was run at about a five. Nowadays I'd give them a 8. And here's why. Heather has been opened as much as possible and the new cannons open it more quickly. They cancelled the superbowl snowcat.. opening up superbowl when conditions are prime only to those with proper gear and a partner. This has kept some of the upper reaches untracked and pristine. The inbounds grooming has become much better and is as good as any grooming, anywhere.

    A one would be too crowded, terrain and lifts never opening, cranky lifties, bad mgmt, crappy snow.

    A ten would be a place like Red Mountain on a powder day. Local, uncrowded and untracked for days after a storm.

  • April 08, 2010
    ProphFrmTha3rd from United States

    I'm a rookie to the shred game so I don't know a whole lot as of yet. But it's funny to me how many reviews I read of people just crying and complaining. There's a simple solution..... If you don't like it, don't go! I went up last Sat. and yeah it was packed, but the pow was unbelievable! You have to find other lifts and other runs. My rookie ass was only there for a little over 3 hours and I got 8 great runs in, with a few stops in the trees for trees. I love Meadows, and so do my boys that have been shredding it for 15 years.

  • April 08, 2010
    Douglas Stanton from United States

    To all the people who read another reviewer's rant on Mt Hood Meadows, they're not far off. I've skied Meadows for 40 years. In the beginning you could get fresh lines all day due to slow lifts and smaller crowds. However, we still complained about crowds back then. This is the type of mountain that sees maritime storms that would close down just about any resort. When it's snowing and blowing, which is often, Meadows quickly becomes a three chair resort. Slab avalanche conditions in Heather and Clark Canyons are deadly hence the limited openings. Add 10,000 people on a weekend and the place is bombed out in 15 minutes. But when you've got nothing else within an hour of home, what are you going to do?

    This is the type of mountain you must learn to ride, have routes on powder days, know how to manage the hill and crowds. Learn how to do this and it's not a bad place. The opening of S&R and Private Reserve add to the side country experience, something not available on Hood except maybe Ski Bowl's Outback. Accept Hood for what it is. Save your extreme powder trips for Utah. By the way, my last trip to the Bird this year was no different than Meadows. Road to Provo, Mineral Basin, the Upper Chirque were all blown out by 11:00.

  • April 07, 2010
    Ray from United States

    Very funny comments.
    From Portland local who used to live in Utah.

    I agree that Heather (at Mt Hood Meadows) is over-rated, but it is very nice on powder days. I've had them and they were as good as Utah (my base mountain is Snowbird).

    I agree that some people are yuppies and can't really ski/ride as they claim. However, this is prone at any mountain. I think this is more common in MHM (Mt Hood Meadows) because most skiers/riders (Weekend Warriors) think they rip, and they have not been out of Oregon in their life; very likely scenario when Portland only provides Mt Hood (great mountain though).

    But on the other hand, I've met serious rippers, both snowboard and ski here. You can't judge this mountain/people by just 2-3 days of skiing/riding. That's just lame.

    If you are one that's bashing this scene I'd think you are just one of them too!

    Just enjoy the mountain peeps...and Hood is what we got here near P-town!

    I enjoy the summer skiing the most. In fact, I ski more in the summer at Timberline as they gather all the people all over the world...quite a scene.

    I'm heading out tomorrow and enjoy the mountain...how about you guys?

  • April 05, 2010
    steve from United States

    Mt Hood Meadows is alright with me. It's April and there was 6 feet of new snow last week. If you know where to go and can avoid weekends, it's great. This was not the greatest season, but the last 4 have been incredible. You can't win 'em all.
    If you don't like it you could move to Colorado, we'll miss you, or better yet Utah, I hear they have a wonderful Mormon community and 3.2% beer. Enjoy! I'll be in the trees on Mt Hood.

  • April 04, 2010
    KM from United States

    I like the terrain and the lifts at Meadows (Mt Hood Meadows). But why is it that they can't get that mountain opened up on time whenever we have a decent snowfall?

    Every ski area in the country seems to be capable of getting their parking lots plowed, avalanche control handled, and all the lifts running after a storm. Except Meadows.

    Today we went up to enjoy the 14" of freshies and darn near got shut out at the parking lot. We were fortunate enough to grab one of the last spots on the HRM access road and made it to the lifts but what a dissappointment to not have Cascade and Heather opened. It never ceases to amaze me.

  • April 03, 2010
    Fluidsession from United States

    The negative writing I read in so many of these reviews is disheartening. It's the same kind of attitudes that turn great days on the mountain into unpleasant encounters in the lift line and serious dangers on the highway to and from.

    It's unfortunate that so many skiers and boarders take such an elitist and big headed approach to the sports we all go to the same piece of amazing real estate to enjoy.

    Being an athlete is like being a musician. We are all on a continuum of expertise and some of us further along than others, and there is no good reason to belittle the skills of one person, because we all started as beginners, and we all ride for the same reasons. We love it.

    It also saddens me to see people questioning the decisions of the ski patrol and Meadows (Mt Hood Meadows) management... the people that work hard so that we can all have a safe and pleasurable experience while spending our hard earned dollars doing what we love. The ski patrol at Meadows is purely professional and I believe second to none, and they are there for your safety. They don't get paid a lot, but will unselfishly risk their asses to save yours. Get over yourselves.

    If you don't think Meadows is big enough, diverse enough or well run... If you think that the people that go there are A-Holes and the people that run it and make the safety decisions are there just to cramp your style... look at yourself. You are one of the A-Holes that the rest of us would rather not have to be around on the mountain, or have to deal with endangering our lives on the drive to and from. Go somewhere else and leave the fresh tracks to those of us that appreciate the pure essence of why we all ski and board in the first place - The freedom to shred in a place that we love and feel welcome. The mountain and the resort and all of it's gracious patrons only respect those who respect in turn.

    Peace, Love and Pow Days!

    Fluidsession

  • April 03, 2010
    Eric from United States

    I have lived my entire life in the shadow of Mt. Hood (Mt Hood Meadows). Learned to ski and board at 4. Now I have a son who is joining me on the slopes. I feel fortunate to have her as a wonderful teacher, to show my son the magic of the NW.
    Who of you out there that are complaining stopped and looked behind the chair to see the cascade range on a lift. Bombed down A-zone on a fresh pow day so light you had to wear a snorkel? Those are the things that make Meadows special. It's not the long lines or the people or the commute to the mountain. It's leaving the city behind, enjoying mother nature and feeling free.
    I have had the extreme privelage to travel the world and ski/board is some pretty nice places. Some are better than Meadows, in fact over 50% are better. You can have them, this is my mountain, our mountain. If you want to come here and bad mouth our terrain stay home! I treat every mountain I go to with respect. If I go anyplace else, I am a guest and am respectful of that.

    Come to my mountain but be respectful of your surroundings.

  • April 02, 2010
    Brent from United States

    Was looking at forecast for tomorrow when I noticed the list of comments about Meadows (Mt Hood Meadows). Wow, what a bunch of miserable sounding people. I hope I never park next to or sit in lodge next to most of you. Go ride elsewhere please. No resort is without it's problems or problem guests. Remember life is what YOU make of it. Smile, have fun and be safe.

  • March 28, 2010
    Alex & Joan from United States

    We visited Oregon on a ski vacation last week. We started our trip in Bend and skied at Mt Bachelor. What a great mountain: fantastic skiing, friendly staff and Bend was a great place to stay. Lots of night life and down to earth people.
    We spent a couple days in Hood River and skied at Mt Hood Meadows. What a disappointment. The lift ticket prices were about the same as Mt Bachelor, but Mt Hood Meadows was crowded with rude people and the runs were terrible. Mt Hood Meadows was expensive and Hood River was really expensive.
    I guess Mt Hood Meadows is the resort that everyone in Portland goes to. We left Hood River after two days and spent the rest of our vacation in Bend, skiing Mt Bachelor.
    If you are coming to Oregon to ski, skip Mt Hood Meadows and go straight to Mt Bachelor.

  • March 26, 2010
    John from United States

    I love Meadows (Mt Hood Meadows)!! Sure, it's not the absolute best but so what? I enjoy the weekends on the mountain and the crew has always been friendly to me. I'm sure that there are nicer places to ski, but I can't complain. Season Pass = $399. I'm not sure what all the complaining's about. Meadows Rocks!!!

  • March 20, 2010
    mc from United States

    I agree about the ski patrol at Mt Hood Meadows. I ask them on several days about the conditions in Heather Canyon. I always get a sarcastic remark, or a false report. I am a season pass holder and have been for 10 years.

  • March 19, 2010
    Ed from Da Hood from United States

    I read the post from another reviewer placed on March 19; I believe I witnessed the incident in the lift line, at Mt Hood Meadows, that she described. A big guy; 6'4, 250lbs came all the way from the other side of the lift tower and got right in some guys face and would not let him get past him. After shoving the big guy aside to get by; the big guy jumped on the back of the other guys snowboard and would not let him move. There was pushing and shoving both ways all the way to the chair.
    I'm not sure what happened on the slope but, if the big guy had a problem, he should have gone to the ski patrol not provoke a confrontation in the lift line. After reading some of the comments here regarding skiers taking enforcement of the rules into their own hands and having witnessed this behavior first hand, I am concerned about the management of Mt Hood Meadows to condone this sort of action.
    I am a skier and my son is a snowboarder. Perhaps that big thug will decide to push my son around next time.