Login / Sign Up


Snow-Forecast logoSnow mountain photo


Ski India

Manali (Himachal Heli-Ski) Resort Reviews

Visitor reviews for Manali (Himachal Heli-Ski) Ski Resort



  • February 10, 2014
    Chris from Brazil

    The skiing in Manali is great, I heli-skied in most parts of the world but heli-skiing with HHA Himacahal.com was the best ever. Great snow, best skiing terrain, big mountains, big runs, and the very friendly and experienced team.
    Had a wonderful time. Thanks HHA and India for an incredible experience. Now I know why it's called the 'Incredible India'.

  • Manali (Himachal Heli-Ski) Ratings

    Based on 3 votes. Vote

    Access: 2.3

    (1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Manali (Himachal Heli-Ski).

    Public Transport: 3.7

    (1) There are no buses or taxis to Manali (Himachal Heli-Ski), (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

    Scenery: 5.0

    (1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

    Accommodation: 4.0

    (1) No places to stay in/near Manali (Himachal Heli-Ski), (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

    Cheap Rooms: 4.3

    (1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

    Luxury Hotels: 3.0

    (1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Manali (Himachal Heli-Ski).

    Ski in/Ski out: 3.0

    (1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

    Childcare: 1.0

    (1) There are no child care facilities at Manali (Himachal Heli-Ski), (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

    Snowsure: 3.0

    (1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Manali (Himachal Heli-Ski) is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

    Snowmaking: 3.0

    (1) Manali (Himachal Heli-Ski) relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

    Snow Grooming: 1.0

    (1) There are no snow groomers at Manali (Himachal Heli-Ski), (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Manali (Himachal Heli-Ski) are groomed daily.

    Shelter: 2.0

    (1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Manali (Himachal Heli-Ski) is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

    Nearby options: 1.0

    (1) If snow conditions are poor at Manali (Himachal Heli-Ski), it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

    Regional rating: 4.0

    (1) Manali (Himachal Heli-Ski) usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

    Lift Staff: 3.0

    (1) The staff at Manali (Himachal Heli-Ski) are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Manali (Himachal Heli-Ski) are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

    Crowds/Queues: 4.0

    (1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

    Ski Schools: 1.0

    (1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

    Hire and Repairs: 2.3

    (1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

    Variety of pistes: 3.7

    (1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Manali (Himachal Heli-Ski) has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

    Beginners: 2.0

    (1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

    Intermediates: 1.5

    (1) No intermediate terrain at Manali (Himachal Heli-Ski), (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

    Advanced: 3.0

    (1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

    Snow Park: 1.0

    (1) Not even a kicker at Manali (Himachal Heli-Ski), (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

    Off-piste: 3.7

    (1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

    Cross-country: 2.5

    (1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Manali (Himachal Heli-Ski), (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

    Luge/Toboggan: 1.0

    (1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Manali (Himachal Heli-Ski) has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

    Mountain Dining: 3.0

    (1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

    Eating: 4.0

    (1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

    Apres-Ski: 2.0

    (1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

    Other Sports: 1.0

    (1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

    Entertainment: 2.5

    (1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

    Winter Walks: 2.5

    (1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

    Ski Pass Value: 3.0

    (1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

    Value (National): 3.5

    (1) Overall, Manali (Himachal Heli-Ski) is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

    Value (Global): 3.5

    (1) Overall, Manali (Himachal Heli-Ski) is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

    Based on 3 votes. Vote

  • December 27, 2013
    ram from India

    2014 winter season is going to be great; lots of snow. Come enjoy skiing in Manali.

  • March 23, 2013
    RichieRich from India

    Feb 2013: It's been an awesome experience in Manali, especially the Snow Deposits at Rohtang had been great. However, the pollution making heavy traffic vehicles are the menace causing the traffic snarling and impacting on air quality.

    My two cents :)

  • March 01, 2013
    mittu from India

    Great snow and terrain in Manali for ski tour and very safe to travel around out any restriction all area is open. No army, no problems. Enjoy the Himalayas.

  • January 27, 2013
    Dr. ANIL K.GUPTA from India

    Our college: Agra Public Pharmacy college Agra B.Pharm students tour went to Manali & stayed in hotel. On 17 Jan 2013 morning at 5 am and by 11 am the snowfall start, all students enjoyed very funny and snowfall continue for next day also. I never seen like this snowfall it is very funny.

  • February 14, 2012
    sunder from India

    APL was organized @ the local ski resorts..... it was a great success and promoting skiing in Manali......lot of young skier racing down....

  • February 14, 2012
    sham from India

    over 50cm of snow @ 1950m...... the skiing will be excellent ....

  • November 16, 2011
    Nicolas Harasic from Chile

    Hi, I'm going to India next January and we are planing our trip.
    We are working for our 5th snowboard movie and India is the place selected to go for.
    So, I'm interested to do HeliSki there, but we need the price list and know if there is any chance to get support from you, obviously we include all your logos and graphic you need to show in our website, video, imprent, and more.

    Have a great season

    Peace

    Nicolas Harasic

    [note from the editor: this post will stay in place in order to generate responses]

  • August 15, 2011
    John from India

    July 20, 2011
    raj from India

    The company has operated for 22 yrs at Manali (Himachal Heli-Ski) and have an excellent safety record. They have made many dream come true: heli-skiing on world's highest mountains, on the best snow.

    February 19, 2011
    raj from India

    The company has operated for 22 yrs at Manali (Himachal Heli-Ski) and have an excellent safety record. They have made many dream come true: heli-skiing on world's highest mountains, on the best snow.

    Well, the crash happened in 1997, so if the company worked for last 22 years who is responsible for the crash? Actually Delhi company was run by an Australian foreigner who is still involved today in this business by holding the permit to fly in these areas.
    Who are the locals benefitting from this business? Maybe 10 or 20 individuals...

  • July 20, 2011
    raj from India

    Ya, you are right. Stop all developments, especially tourism. I work in travel and tourism and try my best to bring in people from foreign counrties to the Indian Himalayas, Himachal and Manali. In my understanding, it's the best way for bringing in foreign money into the area but maybe you have other beliefs and when you talk to the richest people in the world about coming to our part of the world the 1st question is back backup we have for rescue.. the only answer is helicopter rescue... it's easy for you to say that is fine for the rich but does a third world country have its right to develop??
    I appreciate your concern about the power lines and I do not only talk and write about it!! For you information there is another one coming off the Rothang pass which will join the the existing one in Prini and I have been raising the question, telling people about it and went and met the CM to put objection on it. Everyone can put their objections but what is important is to give a better alternative, which we did, which is under ground lines or over the Hamta pass. So st lest is not in the valley... which we want to make into a tourism.
    You should try and explain to the big business men not to invest in eduction and not in aviation.
    I only talk of the heli-skiing because my childhood friend works for them and I think it's better than no one getting nothing than 30 to 50 local families directly benefiting for it and surely there is 100 more that indirectly benefit from it and for your info there as been no heli crash in the heli-skiing. The one you talk about was in the summer owned to a Delhi company in Prini many yrs back.

  • March 31, 2011
    John from India

    Until there is still one Indian in need of food, helicopters here are an insult to poverty. On top they are noisy and don't help at all the economy of local residents, except a very few lucky ones who will write positive reviews about the subject.
    Shame on helicopters flying only for rich people in a third world country, Would be better to invest all this money in education for everybody as local people really need it. Just look at how they allowed a power line to be built in the middle of the valley of Gods, spoiling its beauty forever and making locals loose crores of rs. in land value. All this is the result of uneducation.
    How could Raj assert that they have an excellent safety record??? A helicopter fell few years ago killing all on board!!!
    I agree with Maria (May 1, 2006) totally.

  • March 23, 2011
    suraj from India

    best snow and best heli-skiing in the world.........sensational skiing...

  • March 01, 2011
    pin2 from India

    The highest snow fall year for many years. The skiing is out of the world...deep powder everywhere...
    Manali offers not only great skiing but a much wider cultural experience. Nothing compares.

  • February 21, 2011
    joy from India

    Had a great heli-skiing week. Skied some of the best powder at Manali (Himachal Heli-Ski). Best of heli-skiing ever. It a great setup in Manali and the mountains are surely the best. Well done the team of Himachal....

  • February 19, 2011
    raj from India

    The company has operated for 22 yrs at Manali (Himachal Heli-Ski) and have an excellent safety record. They have made many dream come true: heli-skiing on world's highest mountains, on the best snow.

  • February 18, 2011
    pin2 from India

    I love Himachal helicopter skiing Manali. It's the best skiing..in the world.....

  • February 11, 2011
    ram from India

    I am a local in Manali and Himachal Heli-ski (Manali (Himachal Heli-Ski)) is great for Manali. They can't employ all of us but they are at least bringing money into Manali and all the people that come here are spending it here and there is no problem between the company and locals. There is a famous saying in India. Don't go by my comments or by or any other one. Come to Manali and see for yourself.

  • February 09, 2011
    Tom Power from Canada

    Looks incredible. Another variation of skiing (at Manali (Himachal Heli-Ski)) is speed gliding, which is using a chute on your back. You hug the mountains all the way down, although I would imagine this would be risky for certain weather conditions.

  • January 14, 2011
    abc from India

    The heliski (Manali (Himachal Heli-Ski)) does not giving any benefits to local people here, they are just come here for their business only.

  • January 06, 2011
    ashish from India

    I have been reading all of the comments and can see that a lot of people have lack of info on the heli skiing in Manali. I have a friend that works for the company for 9 years and he loves the organization. In fact he told us that the some of the local staff have a share holding in the company, so what is this nonsense of locals being paid less? If you guys really have a problem and want to do some about it, I suggest you should talk to the people that are working there.
    I personally think we need things like the heli skiing to put Manali on the international map.

  • July 03, 2010
    Vicky from India

    I believe Manali (Manali (Himachal Heli-Ski)) is one of the best places I have ever been. I love being there. These issues would never end. People coming to Manali are of all types. Many of them are from rich background. If you start charging them high tax as well to visit Manali, they would be more than happy to pay and contribute, making this lovely place same as Hell. I wish I could just stop Punjabi's to come to Manali. 90% of the total tourists who would be contributing to destroy Manali are Punjabi's. We cannot stop anyone to come and destroy it. Nothing would change. I would always love this place no matter one day would come when you would need to go to Baralacha pass to see snow and Manali would be second Punjab. I would still love it a lot. I will surely tell my childern that how amazingly beautiful Manali was... :-(

  • May 06, 2010
    Prem from India

    I'm resident of Manali and I know that Heli-skiing and the infra structure owned by the company are not beneficial for the local .. they were good skier rather before.

  • April 02, 2010
    raju from India

    This year the heli-skiing in Manali (Manali (Himachal Heli-Ski)) was great..19 local boys from the near by village got job - in the winter season when no one has anything to do, one of them a very good friend. They are really well paid for what they can do and many others got jobs because of the company.
    Good job heli-ski Manali. Bring in money from all over the world and giving it to the locals using hotel which are already here so the money goes into everyones hand unlike others company planning to make big villages near Manali, where they can have all to themself.

  • March 26, 2010
    Praveen from Turkey

    Himalayas are surrounded by thousands of square kms of central Asia and the weather patterns here move moderately slowly. In the winters the Kullu valley is renowned for long fine weather spells with very light winds. And in general has better weather from the mountains further west. This leads to reliable recrystallised powder snow and no comparison with the ranges outside Asia can convey the grandeur of the Himalayas.
    Due to this unique combination of excellent recrystallised powder snow and sensational skiing terrain Manali has been home to Himachal helicopter skiing (Manali (Himachal Heli-Ski)) for the last 20 years.

  • March 23, 2010
    samriti from India

    I am a permanent resident of Manali, infact I am eagerly waiting for the project to be accomplished (Manali (Himachal Heli-Ski)). But still there isn't any initiative as to when the project will start. I do agree, due to the change in the weather condition, snow level has come down. This is a immediate effect of global warming which is being affected throughout the world. So why only this project is at halt? I guess this would be a great opportunity to all locals as per employment and even the infrastructure would have been improved, standard of living, N our small place Manali would be known globally.

  • February 03, 2010
    steve from India

    I am a resident and a forigner near Manali (Manali (Himachal Heli-Ski)).
    Ski-ing has become a joke as last year there was no snow (2009) and this year looks like more of the same. So that just leaves heli-skiing, which is not really a problem.
    Environmentally, this place is already f**ked by the rampant hotel building over the last 30 years. The complete antipathy of the local lobby to do anything about the sewage and rubbish disposal situation. The invasion of the private car containing people who have no idea about the environment (apart from a handy place to dump their rubbish). The locals who build 3 story houses in beautiful concrete along the road side to obscure the view. Now we have the beginning of polytunnel agriculture which will complete the job.
    As a foreigner you will be over charged, cold (the hotels do not have heating unless you like crowding round a 2kw electric fire that has 150 volts to power it if you are lucky) and lucky if you see snow.
    Best go to Canada.

  • January 12, 2010
    Sam Fernandes from India

    To all the locals. Instead of talking you should throw them out. If there is an issue of no locals being employed and a threat to envionrment. I firmly believe you should throw them out and if you can't do this then enjoy the damages and entertain them.

  • August 30, 2008
    LOCAL OF MANALI. santosh thakur from India

    I’m a resident of Manali since birth and love this place to death. I’m not a very good skier myself but I am learning. Today I was looking for ski in Manali at Google and I come to this page and I ‘m shocked by what Mr Tsering from Germany posted here.
    He is talking about environmental issues, and local economy. Which a really good thing thanks a lot for your concern the Manali area but what I don’t understand is why only talking about this heli ski thing. What about all the garage that goes into the rivers. The garage on the Rohtang pass and 100’s of trees being cut all around Manali.
    If heli skiing is the biggest issue to you let me clear out a few points. I have a good friend also a local resident of Manali who been working with the heli skiing for 12 year now, yes the company run by a foreigner, yes the hotels is also owned by a person from Delhi. But the fact is that most of the big tour and adventures company that get thousands people from all over from world to Manali and to the Himalayas are not from Manali, and the hotels they use are not owned local. In fact all the big star hotels in Manali are not owned by us and we do not have local pilot here in Manali to fly heli skiing helicopters and if think that all these thousand of tourist that are coming to Manali every year are not helping the economy of the area just because they are not coming to you . Then my friend your are WRONG and if you think about it does help the local economy. Where do these hotel buy all the good items? Where does all the hot staff come from??? What about the drivers that drive the car? What about all the shopping that these tourist do? And you think being a driver or a help or a porters is a mean job?? You are wrong my friend. It’s due to the lack of education people do the job like being a porter or helper and they do live a good life and have loads of friend that a taxi drivers in Manali, who are living a good happy life and not every one can become CEOs and managers in life and I believe that there is a local guy who is a guide with heli skiing who was trained at the company & did the course in Europe and they are training a few others and not every one has the skills and aptitude to be a heli ski guide and the only guys that ski in front of the group is the guide and the heli skiing guides come from Canada I think ..and they are trained to do the job. If it's a dangerous job then how many local people have died heli skiing in Manali? I have not heard of even one. More die on the roads every day. And where do you want all the readers to come to? Which is your place? Please let me know I would like to come too and see what different things will you do. Will you not have people doing the, so you call it, mean job like driving, helping as porters. Let the local people that work with the company decide on whether they are or not paid well or if the promises made to them are met or not. Pl do not go of my point of view Mr Tsering, come and see for yourself. Manali is in the heaven.

  • August 08, 2008
    tsering from Germany

    I am a native of Manali and lived there all my life. I love my place and I'm very touchy about the environmental issue, but I'm also practical man. Although in principal I don't like this heli-skiing business for various reasons, but when it comes to it helping the economy of the local people I have don't mind it. But the problem with this is that, the place belongs to us local people and but all the benefits are taken by the outsiders, e.g the business run by an Australian, the hotel they hire is owned by some one from Delhi, the pilots are European and the customers are all Europeans. So how does it help the local people, may be doing some mean job like driving, helping as porters, all of which is very poorly paid, maybe Euro 50 per month to keep it on higher side. I forgot another thing, the owner of the agency to keep his selfish interest going has been making false promise to so many young skiers from the valley, that he would employ them. Yes! he has employed couple of them and one of the guys happens to be very good friend of mine. But the truth of the matter is that what the owner does is uses these guys, he hires them at 5 Euros a day, and gets them to do the most dangerous job of leading the pack while skiing down the dangerous terrain. Worst thing is that he does not even insure them, and these guys are not hired full whole year but part time. Imagine if the owner has to hire some one from Europe he would have to shell may be thousand of times more only for his insurance leave the service. I think its disgusting, I suggest all you heli- skiing lovers please come to my place and enjoy but at least give what is due to these guys who put their life for your entertainment. I would also like to mention that couple of years back the owner of the firm promised these guides that he would sponsor their learning of higher skills in Europe but it has never happened. Rest I leave all for your judgment.

    Tsering

  • April 19, 2008
    suresh from India

    Step taken against the heli-ski was really appreciable. Nearby people used to say it was less the ski more animal poaching and smuggling. Also disturbing the wildlife like brown bear.