Ski France

Les Menuires Resort Reviews

  • Weather Forecast for Les Menuires at  m altitude issued: 1 pm01 Oct 2016 (local time)  
Ski France

Les Menuires Resort Reviews

FrLes Menuires

Use the buttons below to tell us…

Visitor reviews for Les Menuires Ski Resort

  • January 16, 2016
    from United Kingdom

    Great week with school, snow was great but was whiteout for two days. The town itself is not the prettiest and neither is Val Thorens. However, that is compensated by the massive range of difficulty and the huge area to ski. I recommend the red off the top of La Masse 2. The views are amazing. Overall, a great holiday with great instructors from the ESF.

  • Les Menuires Ratings

    Overall: 4.1. Based on 22 votes and 25 reviews. Vote

    Access: 3.6

    (1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Les Menuires.

    Public Transport: 3.8

    (1) There are no buses or taxis to Les Menuires, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

    Scenery: 3.5

    (1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

    Accommodation: 4.6

    (1) No places to stay in/near Les Menuires, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

    Cheap Rooms: 3.8

    (1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

    Luxury Hotels: 4.4

    (1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Les Menuires.

    Ski in/Ski out: 4.6

    (1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

    Childcare: 4.2

    (1) There are no child care facilities at Les Menuires, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

    Snowsure: 4.8

    (1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Les Menuires is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

    Snowmaking: 4.6

    (1) Les Menuires relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

    Snow Grooming: 4.7

    (1) There are no snow groomers at Les Menuires, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Les Menuires are groomed daily.

    Shelter: 3.2

    (1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Les Menuires is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

    Nearby options: 4.4

    (1) If snow conditions are poor at Les Menuires, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

    Regional rating: 4.3

    (1) Les Menuires usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

    Lift Staff: 4.3

    (1) The staff at Les Menuires are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Les Menuires are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

    Crowds/Queues: 3.9

    (1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

    Ski Schools: 4.5

    (1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

    Hire and Repairs: 4.7

    (1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

    Variety of pistes: 4.7

    (1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Les Menuires has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

    Beginners: 4.1

    (1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

    Intermediates: 4.8

    (1) No intermediate terrain at Les Menuires, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

    Advanced: 4.5

    (1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

    Snow Park: 4.0

    (1) Not even a kicker at Les Menuires, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

    Off-piste: 4.3

    (1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

    Cross-country: 3.2

    (1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Les Menuires, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

    Luge/Toboggan: 3.6

    (1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Les Menuires has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

    Mountain Dining: 4.1

    (1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

    Eating: 4.2

    (1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

    Apres-Ski: 3.3

    (1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

    Other Sports: 4.2

    (1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

    Entertainment: 3.2

    (1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

    Winter Walks: 3.5

    (1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

    Ski Pass Value: 4.3

    (1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

    Value (National): 4.2

    (1) Overall, Les Menuires is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

    Value (Global): 4.2

    (1) Overall, Les Menuires is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

    Show all 35 ratings

  • April 04, 2015
    from France

    We stayed in the excellent hotel Mont du Yallon. As a disabled skier I was looked after very well. The rooms are spacious, clean and very well appointed.
    Skiing is fantastic here. The south side of the valley is much quieter and the skiing challenging and rewarding. Beautiful pan armour view at the top of Masse 2.

  • April 24, 2014
    from United Kingdom

    We skied Les Menuires W/C 5th April staying at the Soleils Vacances Apartments. The accommodation was tiny, bordering on inadequate with simply nowhere near enough storage space for the amount of people in the room (2 adults and 1 child in this case). We had 1 wardrobe with 8 hangers and 4 small shelves and that was it. We’re used to the bijou nature of ski accommodation but this was taking things too far. Cooking facilities were OK and the kitchen had what you needed but again there was no space to store food. Location wise these apartments are good to start the day with easy access to the main run down to the ski school meeting points but are a bit of a slog on the way home unless you want to take a route up into the mountains at the end of the day and ski a long slushy green home.

    The resort of Les Menuires is OK. There isn’t much to do if you’re not skiing though. We did find a swimming pool but it was very expensive and, as far as we know, that’s it. Restaurants were plentiful but all much the same and if you don’t like fondue, raclette, steak or pizza you’d best pack some sandwiches. Prices were a bit on the steep side for all but a basic pizza (9 Euros) but expect a meal for 2 to be around 40 to 50 Euros if you want much else. Drink prices were ok with a large beer around 5 Euros. The choice of wine and beer, like the food, lacked variety from place to place which is a shame as I like Pelforth etc. and we couldn’t find it anywhere. I can get Stella and 1664 at home thanks!

    The skiing in the resort and the wider 3 valleys is all that’s it’s billed to be. For a start the area is massive and we knew quite early on in the week that we’d only do a fraction of what was available. The area probably suits intermediates best with absolutely loads of long, well pisted reds. Beginners will be happy and our 6 year old enjoyed the ski school and the afternoons out with us. The area generally lacks much in the way of pisted blacks so advanced skiers, who want to stay on piste, won’t see too many options. Off piste I haven't a clue. We skied all through Les Menuires, Val Thorens and a bit of Meribel but never made it to Courcheval. Best run was the Mont Vallon just inside the Meribel area but it needed to be done first thing as it was cut up and lumpy quite quickly. Lifts were generally uncrowded and well managed. Our daughter skied with Pro Neige ski school and had a great time. I'd recommend them over ESF.

    Weather-wise we had a fantastic week but wouldn’t go so late in the season again. The ski area was well maintained but it just got too warm in the afternoons and the snow was like sand. The skiing in the early mornings though showed just what a great resort this could be a bit earlier in the season.

    Overall then, Les Menuires is a great place to go for the skiing and an average place to go for everything else.

  • January 09, 2013
    from United Kingdom

    Another update, this time direct from Les Menuires. This season is following last season's weather pattern. We had 3m of snow in December, followed by a warm sunny spell after Christmas and are now (9th January) about to go into a cold snowy episode.
    We have worn out the old snow, on and off-piste, so that is very good news.
    Daily updates at 3w.raylambert.org.uk
    Sportivement,
    Ray

  • September 25, 2012
    from United Kingdom

    Brief update on previous post - change of website URL.
    I live to ski all winter in Reberty. Have done since I retired 10 years ago. Try looking at my report of snow and weather conditions, updated every evening, from mid December to end of April. Just re-written in HTML5 and CSS3.
    3w.raylambert.org.uk
    Fingers crossed for a repeat of last year's brilliant skiing.
    PS Booked on Easyjet for Geneva December 5th 2012 for next season.
    PPS Curious the contradictions in the posts here, though I think we are all agreed that some of the week-only-stay dog owners create a very unpleasant problem.

  • March 07, 2012
    from Netherlands

    My wife, my daughter (a beginner) and I went for a week from end of February 2012 to early March. Getting to the 3 valleys was a bit of a nightmare as it was the French school holidays so a part of the journey that should have taken 3 hours actually took more like 6.

    We made use of the ESF (French ski school) and they were great. By the end of the week my daughter was doing small jumps off-piste and did her first red run. However, something that did trouble me was that we were assured that if the children were not picked up then they would be cared for. Another couple were late returning and their child was left sitting in the snow alone.

    We had nothing but sunshine for the whole week. Great for our daughter but we would have liked a little fresh snow. However, despite this none of the pistes were closed due to lack of snow (on the Friday the other side of the valley was closed for blasting due to an avalanche). It did mean that sometimes the pistes were a little icy in the morning but by mid morning they had softened. We are not expert skiers but it appears there are enough pistes to cover all levels.

    Les Menuires is part of the 3 valleys and if you are an experienced skier then you will want to buy a 3 valleys pass. As we needed to be back for the end of the ski school at lunch time we opted for the cheaper Les Menuires and Val Thoren option and even then never managed to ski everywhere.

    The resort has loads of places to eat and drink but as with all ski resorts you pay a premium if you shop locally. We brought a load of food with us and it really saved us a lot of money.

    Getting around the resort is made easy by the free shuttle buses. You just hop on or off at the stop you need. Our first day was made tricky as getting down the mountain to the ski school meant lugging the skis for us all on and off the bus and then using a couple of ordinary lifts. Not a big problem once our daughter was able to ski the basic run to the ski school though.

    A big issue is the level of dog muck. I know it is an English cliche that France is covered in dog poo, but it really was everywhere around our residence (Madian) and around the roads and even the waiting area for the ski school. It was especially irritating to have to wipe skis and poles on return as a the ski in area clearly doubled as a dog toilet. They had made a half hearted effort to erect a pole dispensing poo bags but clearly the dog owners ignored this.

    Generally, I'd say we had a great holiday and would go back again (despite the poo).

  • December 21, 2011
    from Belgium

    I will be going to Les Menuires next week, after a fantastic week last year. We stayed in the Belhambra Neige et Ciel, which is great for families, with a very good buffet.

    Skiing in Les Trois Vallées is simply fantastic. The infrastructure in Les Menuires is very good (with shorter queues at the lifts then in Méribel), but I find the views in Val Thorens Better.

    My interest goes to skiing and not to the apres-ski (we have a 6 year old daughter), so I can't write much about that. Ski-passes are expensive, but for 600 km of well-maintained pistes, I find it worth the money.

  • September 23, 2011
    from United Kingdom

    Feb28 - Mar 5 2011

    We stayed in Les Balcon d'Olympie, Preyerand, found great apartment at great price, everything we needed and nothing too far away. We decided on these dates out of UK half term...hmm, not such a great idea, we didn't know that the French have 3 split half-term weeks so we hit the BUSIEST week EVER!!! OMG, it was SO busy!

    We did have a dumping of snow on the night of arrival which was great until the sun melted, it then froze overnight and left with really icy conditions, that mixed with chaos made me as a learner, not make the best of my holiday.

    We ate out every day and found costs on a par with UK except you get really great food and absolutely massive amounts. Would recommend La Ruade, a great family run restaurant, bit pricier that a lot but you leave feeling over satisfied. We also had a great little place (don't remember the name) right outside our apartment down some steps, the raclette was amazing.

    After reading the comments on here about the rudeness of the French, we didn't have any rudeness from restaurants or shops, we did try to speak French...badly. On the slopes...slightly different, they do cut you up, they do push and not queue, I learnt very quickly to behave the way that they do, they aren't rude verbally, it seems that it is just their way.

    We are going back to the same apartment next year but this time a month earlier to avoid all those lovely families during their holidays!!

  • February 07, 2011
    from Ireland

    Reasonable value in Les Menuires for food and drink, in comparison to any of the other 3 valley locations anyway. Skipass for 3 valleys is exorbitant at €234 for 6 days, I've been in a number of great places in Switzerland where ski pass is half that price. Lots of good runs, looks like great off-piste options but for us this year there was no fresh snow (29thJan - 5thFeb 2011-no snow for 2+ plus weeks). So it was rock hard and fairly icy but I'd say with fresh snow it would be heavenly. Val Thorens was easily accessible, as was Meribel and Courcheval. Self catering accommodation (Chalet Dame Blanche) was in great condition, had sauna and the beds were comfortable.

    Personally, I find the French extremely rude which would put me off going back to French Alps but maybe it's a cultural misunderstanding. This applies to service and encounters on the slopes.
    We rented gear from InterSport Troxler. The boots were junk which looked liked they'd been picked out of a skip somewhere (mine leaked when the snow melted on them), the boards were alright although definitely a few years old and they didn't have a helmet to fit me comfortably (my head isn't small but it's not extraordinary). All of this I could live with if there was some comforting words, but again with the French attitude all I got was a hmmmph and a shrug of the shoulders.

    Overall, it looks like great mountains for fresh snow but pricier, less welcoming and definitely less professional than equally good resorts in Switzerland (pending the exchange rate returning to normal levels).

  • January 17, 2011
    from France

    Wednesday 12th January 2011. Disappointing day. Following the fatal avalanche in Val d'Isère on Monday, the French Avalanche Service issued a grade 4 avalanche warning for today for all of the Northern French Alps - bit of panic setting in, I think. Dire warnings on Météo France, who have to pass on the message. In fact, we barely had 10cm of fresh snow on a snow pack which is pretty stable. I would put the avalanche danger today at 2, 3 to be really cautious.

    The result was that all of the upper lifts were very late opening. The pisteurs, regardless of what they thought, had to act on the warning by closing the upper lifts and blasting all the likely spots. They only managed to produce a few minor slides - a complete waste of time. The danger is that avalanche warnings from the Service could be ignored in future. Certainly the ESF were ignoring the grade 4 warning - there were plenty of groups with ESF instructors skiing off-piste.