Ski France

Les Carroz Resort Reviews

Ski France

Les Carroz Resort Reviews

FrLes Carroz

Use the buttons below to tell us…

Visitor reviews for Les Carroz Ski Resort

  • March 28, 2009
    from United Kingdom

    Just got back from Les Carroz and I'll start with the bad stuff:
    The Sunotel appartements were not very good and were small. We chose to pick self catering which was a bad idea as food was very expensive from the local shop. However, the snow was amazing and we had two great fresh powder days where it didn't stop snowing. We also had two sunny days with two average days. As we went to Les Carroz pretty late in the season we didn't have to wait for any lifts and I rate Les Carroz for their off-piste.
    Personally, I reckon that Les Carroz was better than Flaine, Morillon etc. Overall, I had a wicked time there and would definitely recommend it but I was disapointed with the 'pro jam' park in Flaine as it was small and I wouldn't recomend it if you enjoy a good 'freestyle' park. There were some great black mogul runs that were fast and well groomed from all the snow that was there.

  • January 13, 2009
    from United Kingdom

    We have just returned from a fantastic weeks skiing/boarding holiday in the vast Grand Massif area. The sun shone every day and there was loads of snow on uncrowded runs. We stayed in Les Carroz at Chalet le Balcon, alpexperience.com a very cozy and friendly catered chalet a short walk from the telecabine, run by Dave and Sue, who looked after us very well with great food and relaxed atmosphere. Transfer times are under an hour, arranged by Sue, so we made the most of our holiday. We soon got to know the area after being guided for the first day by Dave, best vin chaud bar included. Can't wait to go back, hopefully this season.

  • April 13, 2008
    from United Kingdom

    Just returned from a week in Les Carroz (29th March - 5th April 2008); third visit for for my other half, but first for myself and 13 year-olds twins. Having stayed in Flaine many years ago and hated the stark architecture, Les Carroz came as a welcome surprise with its more traditional village feel, and yes, everyone is very friendly. Check out the market on a Tuesday morning! Access into the skiing area is quick and easy, and the ski buses to the telecabine station are frequent and efficient. We were lucky to hit the best Easter snow for 10 years, and had several days of fresh powder on the higher slopes. All the Grand Massif slopes were almost deserted so late in the season, so there were no queues for lifts or tables in restaurants. I would echo the comment about prices, both on the mountain and in the village, but it was probably more because the Euro was so strong against sterling. Our favourite mountain restaurant was L'Igloo at the top of the Bergin lift in Morillon: big, sunny deck, cosy interior for snowy days, great food, and smiling friendly staff. We stayed in an apartment in Les Campanules (manxski.com) just off the village square, with one of the two supermarkets a few yards away and plenty of restaurants and bars within a few minutes stroll. One of the best points about the trip was the fast easy access from Geneva: from landing we were on the autoroute within 30 minutes, and the drive took a mere 45 minutes. If conditions hadn't been so great, it would have been easy to drive somewhere else for the day e.g 1 hour to the Portes du Soleil. We'll be back!

  • April 06, 2008
    from United Kingdom

    We stayed in Les Carroz from 29th March to 5th April 2008. It's perfect for families with young children with a great selection of blue runs that our beginners were completing by the end of the week. The Nouvelle Dimension ski school instructors were great.
    The town is quiet with a handful of nice restaurants so it won't suit those looking for wild apres-ski. Good picnic hall at top of gondola (you can safely leave your bag there before going off to ski in the morning); on piste restaurants were expensive. Free bus runs around the village very frequently taking you up to gondola station.
    Snow fantastic; it snowed nearly every day and conditions were perfect.

  • March 01, 2008
    from United Kingdom

    Arived at Les Carroz on 3rd February 2008 for an extra weekend skiing after just visiting Serre Chevallier (excellent resort). We intended to stay in Flaine, a short drive away, but were unable to find accommodation at short notice. Stayed at the Abaron Hotel right in the village centre. Nice family run hotel, excellent food and facilities and well run. Les Carroz is a beautiful village with nice bars etc and lovely atmosphere. Had a big snowfall in the evening and skied to Flaine. There was 3 foot of powder on all runs, all the way to Flaine. However, next day the piste-bashers had done their job (excellent runs). Excellent resort and it's well worth a visit to Les Carroz if going to Faline. It's only a 45 mins drive to Geneva. Well recommended.

  • January 20, 2008
    from United Kingdom

    My future wife and I stumbled across Lez Carroz 15 years ago. It is one of the friendliest resorts in Europe. After skiing around Europe we have returned on many occasions to Les Carroz with our children as it has one of the best ski schools in France. The new 8 person high speed lift system whisks you to a 266Km ski area within minutes. A choice of 4 villages for lunch; Morrilon, Samoens, Flaine or Les Carroz. Higher up you have the powder bowls of Flaine and spectacular views of Mont Blanc. There are easy blues from the highest points so all the family can enjoy the whole resort with blues from the top turning into beautiful tree lined runs. If you drive, the great organisational skills of the local police will help you get parked up as close as possible to the lifts. It also has a regular free bus service to the hotels and the accommodation on the outskirts of the village. There is free floodlit skiing twice a week and all the restaurants serve families. There is not much in the way of nightlife with only a few bars around the square getting busy early evening. All in all, this resort serves families and those wanting a quieter friendlier resort.

  • May 17, 2007
    from United Kingdom

    Having been to Samoens in the summer of last year, I was keen to get out to the Grand Massif in Winter. We opted for Les Carroz due to it being slightly higher up and closer to Flaine. We were not disappointed with the place one bit. Stayed in a stunning French B&B (www.labergerie-lescarroz.com) which I would recommend to anyone. The French owners are extremely nice and if you are looking for chilled out,relaxed accommodation then this is the place for you.
    We were surprised (being Easter) that the slopes of Les Carroz were empty. We literally had the pistes to ourselves. The snow was not powder, but not that hard either. Great for bombing down the runs in total isolation :0). I guess everyone was heading to Flaine to find the powder. So, don't follow the hordes up high. There are masses of GREAT runs on the slopes of Samoens, Morillon, and Les Carroz.
    This place is Great. It has Flaine to keep you busy if snow is not great down low. However, the lower resorts are packed full of picturesque tree lined pistes. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants to simply spend full days on the hill exploring great slopes.
    The only thing that lets these places down is the nightlife. Don't go to the Grand Massif if you are expecting to be out till 4am every night in a different bar. The bar scene is there. It's just not there in abundance!!!!
    I think I am going to buy somewhere here :0)

  • March 27, 2007
    from United Kingdom

    Just returned from a week in Les Carroz with the family. 2 boys aged 4 & 5 on their first real skiing holiday & a non skiing wife. This is a great family resort - we stayed near the centre & everything was close by. Free bus to Telecabin was regular and not too packed.
    When we arrived it was to green fields and the odd bit of snow up on the highest mountains. One day of finding something to ski on and then it snowed & snowed & snowed - fab conditions both on and off-piste.
    The boys had lessons with Nouvelle Dimension & they were very good. 6 kids in the class & the boys were skiing well by the end of the week. Would recommend this ski school to anyone.
    Only downside of resort is the flat runs at the top and on the links to Flaine and then back from the Tete de Saix to Les Carroz or Morillon. Avoid the Peirce Neige.
    Holiday & resort was so good we've booked to go back next year

  • September 04, 2006
    from United Kingdom

    Great family holiday in early March 06. Good snow cover and topped up with lots more during our stay. Great kids instructors at Nouvelle Dimension. Good picnic area at top of gondola from Les Carroz and quite a number of on slope restaurants to keep you pinned to the slopes all day long. Best snow record of any European resort according to the Daily Telegraph (report can be viewed at www.ski2france.co.uk). Pretty village with lots of amenities and separate nursery slope. Easy drive from Channel ports and quick taxi transfer to and from Geneva airport. It's easy to get to, doesn't take all day to get there and fun when you're there.

  • March 08, 2006
    from United Kingdom

    I would recommend Les Carroz as a great ski resort, particularly suited to beginners like us! A huge ski area with slopes for all standards. The village is charming with all the facilities you need. The apartment (www.ucanski.com) is lovely with fantastic views, homely finishing touches and only a very short walk from the free ski-bus. Feb 2006