Ski en France

Commentaires sur la Station de Saint-Jean d'Aulps La Grande Terche

Ski en France

Commentaires sur la Station de Saint-Jean d'Aulps La Grande Terche

Les commentaires des visiteurs de la station de ski Saint-Jean d'Aulps La Grande Terche

Notes pour Saint-Jean d'Aulps La Grande Terche

Globalement: 4.1. Basé sur 13 votes et 10 commentaires. Vote

Accès: 4.8

(1) nécessite une halte d'une nuit, (2) exige une journée entière, (3) nécessite plus d'une demi-journée – vous aurez peut-être le temps pour quelques virages (4) arrivée avant midi et ski tout l'après-midi, (5) Il y a un aéroport principal à moins d'une heure de Saint-Jean d'Aulps La Grande Terche.

Transports publics: 3.9

(1) Il n'y a aucun bus ou taxis allant à Saint-Jean d'Aulps La Grande Terche , (3) il y a des bus/trains mais ils sont lents ou/et peu fréquents, (5) il est facile d'accéder à la station grâce aux fréquentes connexions par bus ou train.

Paysages: 4.5

(1) Une station laide dans un décor fade, vue sur les montagnes de moyenne (3) Station moyennement agréable avec paysages de montagne, (5) Décor spectaculaire et station de toute beauté ou historique.

Hébergement: 4.1

(1) Aucun hébergement à/près de Saint-Jean d'Aulps La Grande Terche , (3) quelques possibilités d'hébergement à la station, (5) une grande variété d'hébergement pour tous les budgets.

Chambres pas cher: 3.4

(1) Aucun hébergement pas cher disponible, (3) juste un ou deux hotels bon marché; il est recommandé de réserver à l'avance, (5) plusieurs hotels et pensions bon marché disponibles.

Hôtels de luxe: 2.0

(1) Aucun hébergement de luxe disponible, (3) Un ou deux hôtels de luxe, donc réservez à l'avance, (5) Plusieurs hôtels haut de gamme à Saint-Jean d'Aulps La Grande Terche .

Pied des pistes: 4.7

(1) Le domaine skiable est situé loin de tout hébergement, (3) un bus gratuit vous emmène à la station de ski en peu de temps, (5) Hébergement au pied des pistes est disponible.

Garde d'enfants: 4.5

(1) Il n'y a aucune garderie à Saint-Jean d'Aulps La Grande Terche , (5) la station a d'excellentes garderies d'enfants, y compris au moins une crèche à prix raisonnable.

Fiabilité (neige): 4.1

(1) Occasionnellement assez de neige pour le ski, (2) est souvent fermée en raison d'un manque de neige, (3) souffre parfois d'un manque de neige, (4) souffre rarement d'un manque de neige, (5) Saint-Jean d'Aulps La Grande Terche a un enneigement assuré même pendant les saisons les mauvaises.

Canons à neige: 4.4

(1) Saint-Jean d'Aulps La Grande Terche se fie entièrement à la neige naturelle, (3) il y a juste quelques canons à neige (5) il y a des installations d'enneigement artificiel sur toutes les pistes.

Prep. pistes: 4.8

(1) Il n'y a pas d'entretien des pistes à Saint-Jean d'Aulps La Grande Terche , (3) Certaines pistes sont parfois laissées non damées et en mauvais état, (5) toutes les pistes de Saint-Jean d'Aulps La Grande Terche sont damées quotidiennement.

Refuges: 4.6

(1) On ne peut y skier nulle part par grand vent ou mauvaise visibilité et les remontées sont souvent fermées dans ces conditions, (3) il y a quelques arbres par mauvaise visibilité mais les remontées principales peuvent parfois fermer, (5) Saint-Jean d'Aulps La Grande Terche est principalement en forêt où on peut skier en cas de mauvaise luminosité ou de vent; les remontées ferment rarement.

Options à proximité: 4.8

(1) Si les conditions de neige sont mauvaises à Saint-Jean d'Aulps La Grande Terche , ce sera pareil partout aux alentours, (3) il y a des bonnes alternatives à moins d'une heure de conduite, (5) d'autres endroits sur le même forfait offrent une grande variété de conditions de ski plus fiables.

Note régionale: 3.9

(1) Saint-Jean d'Aulps La Grande Terche a généralement des conditions de neige moins bonnes que d'autres stations de la région, (3) a des conditions d'enneigement moyennes pour la région, (5) possède normalement les meilleures conditions de neige de la région.

Personnel (remontées): 5.0

(1) Le personnel de Saint-Jean d'Aulps La Grande Terche est impoli ou peu serviable, (5) Le personnel des remontées mécaniques de Saint-Jean d'Aulps La Grande Terche est sympa, jovial et serviable.

Fréqu./files d'attente: 4.8

(1) La station est très fréquentée et il y a souvent de longues files d'attente aux remontéees, (3), la station est calme, hormis les week-ends occasionnels et vacances scolaires, (5), la station est peu fréquentée et les files d'attente sont très rares.

Ecoles de ski: 4.6

(1) Aucune école de ski, (2) Une ou deux écoles de ski, mais en langue locale uniquement, (3) Quelques écoles de ski mais réservation anticipée recommandée pour les instructeurs multilingues, (4) Nombreuses écoles de ski avec instructeurs multilingues disponibles, (5) Excellentes écoles de ski avec moniteurs de ski multilingues et sympa.

Location/répar.: 5.0

(1) On ne peut rien obtenir sur place, pas même du fart ou ptex. (3) il y a quelques boutiques de ski mais les locations doivent être réservé à l'avance, (5)des équipements de ski de bonne qualité peuvent être achetés ou loués et les réparations d'un jour sur l'autre sont possibles.

Variété de pistes: 4.3

(1) Les pistes de ski sont monotones et sans caractère, (3) les pistes de ski sont variées mais pas assez pour une semaine, (5) Saint-Jean d'Aulps La Grande Terche a des pistes variées et intéressantes, y compris des forêts et du haut relief alpin.

Débutants: 4.2

(1) Les débutants ne pourront que regarder les autres faire du ski et du snowboard, (3) quelques pentes douces mais les débutants en seront lassés en moins d'une semaine, (3) vastes étendues de pentes douces

Skieurs interm.: 4.6

(1) Aucun terrain intermédiaire à Saint-Jean d'Aulps La Grande Terche , (3) les skieurs intermédiaires vont s'ennuyer après quelques jours, (5) vastes zones de pistes de croisière.

Skieurs confirmés: 4.2

(1) Terrain ne convient pas aux skieurs confirmés et surfistes, (3) assez de dénivelé pour quelques jours avec quelque bon hors-piste, (5) assez de dénivelé et hors-piste pour satisfaire les skieurs avancés pour au moins une semaine.

Snow Park: 2.1

(1) Pas même une bosse à Saint-Jean d'Aulps La Grande Terche , (3) Snowpark de taille moyenne assez bien entretenu, (5) Snowpark immense avec half-pipes, sauts et pistes de boardercross habilement conçus

Hors-piste: 4.3

(1) Presque pas de hors-piste, (2) Le hors piste est hors limites, (3) Du hors-piste varié où la neige reste fraîche pendant un ou deux jours, (5) un vaste éventail d'itinéraires hors-piste qui peuvent rester sans traces pendant plusieurs jours.

Ski de fond: 2.9

(1) Il n'y a pas de pistes de ski de fond près de Saint-Jean d'Aulps La Grande Terche , (3) il y a quelques pistes de ski de fond, (5) la station dispose de nombreuses pistes de ski de fond spectaculaires et bien entretenues.

Pistes de luge: 1.4

(1) Aucune piste de luge désignée, (3) Pistes de luge ouvertes assez souvent, (5) Saint-Jean d'Aulps La Grande Terche a de vastes étendues de pistes de luge bien entretenues et convenables pour tous les âges.

Rest. sur piste: 4.5

(1) Aucune restauration sur les pistes, (3) Quelques endroits de restauration en montagne, mais ils sont souvent bondés et chers, (5) Bonne variété d'excellents restaurants de montagne tout près des pistes et convenant à tous budgets.

Restauration: 4.4

(1) Apporter vos sandwichs, il n'y a même pas un magasin! (5) Une grande variété d'endroits de restauration à la station, du fast-food au restaurant grande classe.

Apres-Ski: 4.1

(1) Rien, pas même un bar, (3) il y a quelques bars dans la station mais rien de spécial, (5) les clubs et bars sont ouverts jusqu'à très tard et ont une atmosphère conviviale.

Autres Sports: 2.6

(1) Aucune installation sportive en dehors des remontées mécaniques, (3) la station a juste une petite piscine publique, (5) Station avec toutes sortes d'installations sportives, y compris une piscine d'au moins 25m.

Divertissements: 3.4

(1) A part la neige et la marche il n'y a rien d'autre à faire ici, (3) le non-skieur trouvera des occupations pour quelques jours mais s'ennuyera après une semaine, (5) Cette zone de villégiature est un endroit fascinant à visiter, indépendamment de sports d'hiver.

Randonnées d'hiver: 4.3

(1) Possibilité de randonnée très limitée et pas de sentiers pour raquettes, (3) un ou deux itinéraires panoramiques désignés marche/raquettes, (5) vaste réseau de sentiers de randonnée d'hiver diversifiés et pour toutes les compétences.

rentab. forfait: 4.9

(1) Le forfait de ski d'une semaine est cher par rapport au nombre de remontées mécaniques disponibles, (3) le forfait de ski a un prix moyenn et comprend un nombre raisonnable de remontées mécaniques, (5) Les forfaits ont un excellent rapport qualité-prix et comprennent beaucoup de remontées mécaniques, sur une large superficie.

Rentab.(national): 4.6

(1) Dans l'ensemble, Saint-Jean d'Aulps La Grande Terche est l'une des stations de ski les plus chères du pays et n'en vaut pas la peine (3) représente dans l'ensemble un bon rapport qualité-prix,( 5) offre le meilleur rapport qualité-prix du pays.

Rentab.(mondial): 4.7

(1) Dans l'ensemble, Saint-Jean d'Aulps La Grande Terche est l'une des stations de ski les plus chères du monde (3) représente dans l'ensemble un bon rapport qualité-prix par rapport aux stations d'autres pays,( 5) offre le meilleur rapport qualité-prix internationalement

Afficher toutes les évaluations 35

November 07, 2018
Pierre Marie Libeer-Cicion from Ski en France France
Station familiale bénéficiant d'un magnifique circuit "roc d'enfer" permettant de skier longtemps sans prendre de remontées mécaniques..L'un des must de Alpes pour son côté nature. Quelques bons restos sur piste (La Licorne (Olivier)- L'Escale Blanche (Chez Minet) -Aristide semble fermé...Par contre le resto sur les pistes de Bellevaux est extra...) Du personnel de piste et remontées attentionnés.. Une station à vivre...et avec un super projet de liaison avec Le col de l'Encrenaz et les Gets..
January 18, 2017
Pierre Marie from Ski en France France
Station familiale bénéficiant d'un magnifique circuit "roc d'enfer" permettant de skier longtemps sans prendre de remontées mécaniques..L'un des must de Alpes pour son côté nature. Quelques bons restos sur piste (La Licorne- L'Escale Blanche -Chez Aristide..entre autre) Du personnel de piste et remontées attentionné.. Une station à vivre...

Afficher 8 plus d'évaluation(s) dans d'autres langues

Ski France

St Jean d'Aulps/Espace Roc d'Enfer Resort Reviews

  • Weather Forecast for St Jean d'Aulps/Espace Roc d'Enfer at  m altitude issued: 1 am26 Oct 2016 (local time)  
Ski France

St Jean d'Aulps/Espace Roc d'Enfer Resort Reviews

FrSt Jean d'Aulps/Espace Roc d'Enfer

Use the buttons below to tell us…

Visitor reviews for St Jean d'Aulps/Espace Roc d'Enfer Ski Resort

  • December 29, 2014
    from United Kingdom

    Brilliant resort for hassle free skiing. Been going for a few years now with a group of mates. The resort is small and very quiet so hardly any queues. Must recommend La Licorne and great hospitality from Richard and the team there. Pere Bills is also great but always seem to get a fuzzy head the morning after.... can't think why :).

  • St Jean d'Aulps/Espace Roc d'Enfer Ratings

    Overall: 4.0. Based on 10 votes and 7 reviews. Vote

    Access: 4.8

    (1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of St Jean d'Aulps/Espace Roc d'Enfer.

    Public Transport: 3.8

    (1) There are no buses or taxis to St Jean d'Aulps/Espace Roc d'Enfer, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

    Scenery: 4.5

    (1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

    Accommodation: 3.9

    (1) No places to stay in/near St Jean d'Aulps/Espace Roc d'Enfer, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

    Cheap Rooms: 3.3

    (1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

    Luxury Hotels: 2.0

    (1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in St Jean d'Aulps/Espace Roc d'Enfer.

    Ski in/Ski out: 4.6

    (1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

    Childcare: 4.5

    (1) There are no child care facilities at St Jean d'Aulps/Espace Roc d'Enfer, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

    Snowsure: 4.0

    (1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) St Jean d'Aulps/Espace Roc d'Enfer is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

    Snowmaking: 4.3

    (1) St Jean d'Aulps/Espace Roc d'Enfer relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

    Snow Grooming: 4.8

    (1) There are no snow groomers at St Jean d'Aulps/Espace Roc d'Enfer, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at St Jean d'Aulps/Espace Roc d'Enfer are groomed daily.

    Shelter: 4.7

    (1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) St Jean d'Aulps/Espace Roc d'Enfer is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

    Nearby options: 4.7

    (1) If snow conditions are poor at St Jean d'Aulps/Espace Roc d'Enfer, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

    Regional rating: 3.7

    (1) St Jean d'Aulps/Espace Roc d'Enfer usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

    Lift Staff: 5.0

    (1) The staff at St Jean d'Aulps/Espace Roc d'Enfer are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at St Jean d'Aulps/Espace Roc d'Enfer are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

    Crowds/Queues: 4.8

    (1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

    Ski Schools: 4.5

    (1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

    Hire and Repairs: 5.0

    (1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

    Variety of pistes: 4.2

    (1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) St Jean d'Aulps/Espace Roc d'Enfer has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

    Beginners: 4.0

    (1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

    Intermediates: 4.6

    (1) No intermediate terrain at St Jean d'Aulps/Espace Roc d'Enfer, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

    Advanced: 4.2

    (1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

    Snow Park: 2.1

    (1) Not even a kicker at St Jean d'Aulps/Espace Roc d'Enfer, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

    Off-piste: 4.3

    (1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

    Cross-country: 3.1

    (1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around St Jean d'Aulps/Espace Roc d'Enfer, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

    Luge/Toboggan: 1.2

    (1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) St Jean d'Aulps/Espace Roc d'Enfer has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

    Mountain Dining: 4.3

    (1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

    Eating: 4.2

    (1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

    Apres-Ski: 3.9

    (1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

    Other Sports: 2.2

    (1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

    Entertainment: 3.3

    (1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

    Winter Walks: 4.5

    (1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

    Ski Pass Value: 4.9

    (1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

    Value (National): 4.5

    (1) Overall, St Jean d'Aulps/Espace Roc d'Enfer is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

    Value (Global): 4.6

    (1) Overall, St Jean d'Aulps/Espace Roc d'Enfer is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

    Show all 35 ratings

  • December 06, 2011
    from France

    Just to update...The Rufus is no more. The Efanle is a true dangerous bar, Avalanche a balance of bar and restaurant and Pere Bill more mountain restaurant with popular take away pizzeria. Take the telecabine to 2 very good altitude bar/brasseries -Chez Minet and La Licorne. The back run takes one to Belleveaux, charming small village where, on the way home is the "cow shed" a totally unspoiled 300 year old building and is just that! Le Tavaillon like to owner, Aristede, his potato beignets are sensational. Had great season last year with very well managed pistes and no crowds.

  • August 13, 2010
    from United Kingdom

    I'm sold. Now I've La Grande Terche St Jean d'Aulps in both Winter and summer. Very friendly, perfectly groomed yet deserted pistes, cheap lift passes, and the whole of the Ported du Soleil on your doorstep. In summer, walks where you can see no-one all day if you wish, mountain biking, bathing by freshwater lakes, plus the numerous festivals and activities for kids and adults alike. The recent change of ownership of Avalanche has raised their game significantly, and they along with the other restaurants have very reasonably priced theme nights during both seasons. Accommodation plentiful and all very close to the facilities. Small resort that isn't on a through road - perfect.

  • January 12, 2009
    from United Kingdom

    St Jean d'Aulps/Espace Roc d'Enfer is a lovely quite resort with good skiing on all levels catered for. Rustic and charming La Grande Terche sits 10 minutes from Morzine/Le Gets. The village offers 3 restaurants giving a wide variety of local food to the epic 'Rufus Burger' and traditional stoned baked pizza's found at Rufus. Traditional food readily available and the local 'vin rouge' Gammay at the others.
    Family friendly ski resort without the crowds.

  • March 31, 2008
    from United Kingdom

    Great resort! You've got the best of both worlds, a quiet resort with deserted pistes and no queue's on your doorstep or the hustle and bustle of the Morzine or Avoriaz 5 mins up the road.

  • March 31, 2008
    from United Kingdom

    What a gem of a resort. It's so quiet: I was riding powder 3 days after any snowfall as it hadn't been tracked-out. The pistes are so quiet it's perfect to practice technique/tricks without fear of being taken-out. The only lift operators in France I've known to take to smile and say hello! The resort itself is small, so everything is on your door step - bars, restaurants, ski hire, lifts. Highly recommended.

  • March 20, 2008
    from United Kingdom

    Fabbo little resort. Loved every minute. No queues or crowds and passes v. reasonable. Pistes excellent with snow making. More challenging runs up the road @ Morzine/Avoriaz. Awesome food at the Pere Bill and Avalanche - not just pizzas but gourmet nosh as well. Enfanle bar v. wicked. Go do it!