Login / Sign Up


Snow-Forecast logoSnow mountain photo


Ski Austria

Kaprun Resort Reviews

Visitor reviews for Kaprun Ski Resort



  • December 28, 2013
    Bob from Qatar

    We've been going to Kaprun since 2000 and love it! Wonderful friendly locals make the visits better each year. Skiing is inexpensive compared to France, Switzerland & USA. We find the hotels and restaurants reasonable when compared to many European resorts.
    We also enjoy visiting Kaprun during the summer for hiking and biking the many trails in and around Kaprun. A true year-round resort.

  • Kaprun Ratings

    Based on 15 votes. Vote

    Access: 4.5

    (1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Kaprun.

    Public Transport: 4.3

    (1) There are no buses or taxis to Kaprun, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

    Scenery: 4.4

    (1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

    Accommodation: 4.6

    (1) No places to stay in/near Kaprun, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

    Cheap Rooms: 3.9

    (1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

    Luxury Hotels: 4.5

    (1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Kaprun.

    Ski in/Ski out: 3.6

    (1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

    Childcare: 3.7

    (1) There are no child care facilities at Kaprun, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

    Snowsure: 4.9

    (1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Kaprun is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

    Snowmaking: 4.1

    (1) Kaprun relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

    Snow Grooming: 4.4

    (1) There are no snow groomers at Kaprun, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Kaprun are groomed daily.

    Shelter: 3.5

    (1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Kaprun is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

    Nearby options: 4.4

    (1) If snow conditions are poor at Kaprun, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

    Regional rating: 4.4

    (1) Kaprun usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

    Lift Staff: 4.6

    (1) The staff at Kaprun are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Kaprun are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

    Crowds/Queues: 3.4

    (1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

    Ski Schools: 4.5

    (1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

    Hire and Repairs: 4.8

    (1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

    Variety of pistes: 4.2

    (1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Kaprun has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

    Beginners: 3.9

    (1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

    Intermediates: 4.4

    (1) No intermediate terrain at Kaprun, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

    Advanced: 4.2

    (1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

    Snow Park: 4.2

    (1) Not even a kicker at Kaprun, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

    Off-piste: 3.8

    (1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

    Cross-country: 3.6

    (1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Kaprun, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

    Luge/Toboggan: 3.4

    (1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Kaprun has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

    Mountain Dining: 4.2

    (1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

    Eating: 4.3

    (1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

    Apres-Ski: 3.8

    (1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

    Other Sports: 4.3

    (1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

    Entertainment: 3.9

    (1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

    Winter Walks: 3.6

    (1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

    Ski Pass Value: 3.8

    (1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

    Value (National): 3.8

    (1) Overall, Kaprun is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

    Value (Global): 4.0

    (1) Overall, Kaprun is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

    Based on 15 votes. Vote

  • July 25, 2013
    Bob from United Kingdom

    Not great, ok apres.

  • March 24, 2013
    Rachel from United Kingdom

    Just returned from a week in Kaprun and we absolutely loved every minute of it. We have been to a few places in Austria and this was our favourite by far. We are snowboarders beginner/intermediate and the slopes were fantastic. The weather was perfect, lots of snow and more sunshine. For me (beginner) the Schmittenhohe (Schuttdorf 5 mins away) using the Areitbahn 1 to 1st station then the chair lift on the right was the perfect blue slope to improve my skills, while my partner could go off at times and ride the red and blue runs further up. Kaprun itself is the friendliest place we have been to in Austria, the locals can't do enough to help and make you feel very welcome. We loved the lively apres-ski bars in Kaprun at the bottom of the Maiskogel and the Pavilion in the centre, both with great atmosphere, lively crowds and friendly staff. We have decided to get married there next year as we fell in love with the place. Highly recommend Kaprun, a beautiful place with fabulous people and great slopes for beginners through to advanced.

  • February 02, 2013
    Paul BIFFEN from United Kingdom

    Kaprun is a charming Austrian village with a great range of bars, restaurants and easy access to some of the best skiing in Europe.

    We used the Kitz Residenz top 6 apt which was perfect for our group; highly recommend it. Friendly people and great skiing; guaranteed on the glacier inc spring skiing.

    Prices are reasonable and much cheaper than France / Switzerland, 3 euros for a coffee or beer pizza for 8 euros.

    Great for families & groups, both beginners and experienced skiers.

    Some world class skiing within 1 hour inc Kitzbuhl and only 70 min to Salzburg and the airport.

  • September 01, 2012
    Andrew Smith from United Kingdom

    A charming village with a good choice of accommodation and restaurants.
    Prices seem surprisingly good value with a large beer costing 3.5 Euros in the town or on the mountain.
    Whilst not ski in-ski out there is a wide range of skiing from gentle to some serious off-piste.
    The Kitzsteinhorn offers great powder potential and is as high as any of the top French resorts.
    We hired a car and paid slightly more for a Salzburger super ski pass. This entitles you to ski lots of different ski areas. Within 30 mins of Kaprun you can access the Saalbach Hinterglemm, Hockenig, Kitzbuhel, and Bad Gastein ski areas!
    We have just come back from a week in the summer and the options are wider and the scenery breathtaking
    Great for families or a lads ski trip.

  • January 16, 2012
    Jim from United Kingdom

    If you like buses, you'll love Kaprun!

    You can't get to any of the slopes without a bus trip unless you are prepared to yomp (in the case of the Kitzsteinhorn - miles) in ski boots. The Dorfbus is the local bus that runs continuously in a circuit - but even a moderate fall of snow seems to prevent that from running - meaning yet another yomp in ski boots.

    The Kitzsteinhorn glacier offers some good skiing (note that your lift pass only entitles you to one trip a day) but the very top black runs can only be reached by T-Bars; making things a bit more tiring than they need be.

    If you have children there is a ski-school in the centre (opposite the Tauern Hotel) but when we were there the drag lift was so icy as to make it tricky for even experienced skiers. They really should have had someone pisting it mid-day or at least throwing more snow on it to make things a bit easier for those learning.

    If you fancy a trip to Zell-am-See (which has a large and, in my view, better ski area with some nice long blacks and reds (and more blues for beginners) you'll need to...catch a bus. Bear in mind though that they can be jammed packed sometimes making it impossible to pick up people waiting at the en-route stops. Get on at Zentrum if you can to make sure you can actually get on! If you want to avoid the hassle - you can order a taxi. Kaprun to Zell-am-See is about 20 Euros; not too bad if you split it between 4 or 5 of you.

    The roller coaster on the Maiskogel is great fun! Give it a go!

    All in all - if you are a group of adults - it's worth a visit. The locals are very friendly and helpful (which is needed as the sign-posting in Kaprun is woeful! Not even the bus-stops are obvious when you first get there.

    If you've been used to ski-in-ski-out you'll be disappointed at the amount of time you spend just getting to the slopes.

  • January 04, 2012
    Andrew Smith from United Kingdom

    I visit Kaprun 3 times a year during winter and summer months.
    The place offers great opportunities for skiing, boarding, hiking, cycling, rafting, golf, and or just relaxing!
    The area is within 30 minutes easy drive of several other major ski areas: Saalbach Hinterglemm, Gastein valley, Hockning, Rauris, and Kitzbuhel to name a few.
    Being a key skier there is plenty to do and the Kitzsteinhorn provides great skiing into April and May with regular dumps of powder late into the season when most other resorts have spring snow or are simply closed.
    The restaurants on the mountain and in the town offer excellent quality and value and the charm of Austria far outweighs anything I have experienced in France or Italy.
    In the summer swimming in the lake at Zell am Zee or visiting the outdoor pools at one of the many small villages offers another dimension and with the new Spa Centre you can now well and truly pamper yourself and embrace the Austrian spirit of "Wellness".
    To be honest I cannot think of a better place to visit!

  • January 16, 2011
    Andrew Crump from United Kingdom

    8th Jan - 15th Jan 2011 at Kaprun.
    Fantastic resort, very charming and easy to reach everything. The glacier was brilliant and even if the weather was iffy which it was the last couple of days the snow up there was brill plus it was brilliant blue sky and pretty warm. I found all the mountain restaurants pretty reasonable. Burger, chips and a soft drink: 7 Euros, or spag bowl and drink 9 which I think is much cheeper than France. The only things that can be expensive is wine and spirits although beer is cheaper than the UK. The glacier is 10 mins max in the bus and you can reach Zell by getting a cable car from Schuttdolf which takes 5 mins in a bus. Over all, being this my 6th different resort: 9/10!!

  • September 27, 2010
    David from Austria

    My wife and I had several holidays in Kaprun in the early 1990's and have just returned from our third visit in the last two years. We were mountaineers but are now more into walking and looking at the amazing colours of the wild flowers in summer (we are not skiers).
    We like Kaprun because it is much quieter than neighbouring Zell am See and a much friendlier place. There are excellent uplift facilities into the mountain for walkers and many miles of paths varying in grade from very easy to nigh on impossible - take your pick. Although Kaprun shuts down a bit in summer there are still plenty of nice hotels, B&Bs, appartments and restauraunts to accomodate everyone.

  • April 11, 2010
    Dan from United Kingdom

    I have just returned from Austria after a week long ski trip with my school, run by PGL. Although late in the season, the snow was extremely good: the glacier at Kaprun meant that even in April, the snow felt crisp and fresh without either melting and becoming slushy, or freezing and becoming hard.
    The slopes were great, providing plenty of skiing for beginners up to advanced skiers. Although there are only two black runs in the resort, plenty of off-piste runs have been opened providing a good challenge for the more experienced.
    In terms of bars and restaurants, there are plenty on the mountain. At the very top, there is a panoramic view point as well as a large and usually quiet restaurant. Halfway up the mountain, the main restaurant at the alpine centre serves a huge variety of food. Be prepared for high prices here however, for a decent meal, you won't get much change from 10 euros!
    Overall, the resort has great views and slopes with consistently good snow even late in the season. The ski pass itself allows skiing in two other resorts, including the picturesque Zell am See across the valley. Plenty of skiing for everyone, Kaprun offers it all.

  • February 17, 2009
    nic from Romania

    I've been to Kaprun each winter season since 2003. We like it very much: the snowsure glacier, the varied slopes, the 3029m restaurant & terrass, the tunnel + panorama at top, the easy slope near our pension where our 2y4m boy skied (soon after Predeal, of course), decent prices, free parking, useful locals, cosy restaurants, TV channel with images from all Austrian resorts and new large shopping areas near Zell, the lake ...
    We dislike: the economic bulbs in the rooms, the rather chilly inside temp (approx 19C), the long drive from Bucharest. That's it.
    We've been in the summer too and it is lovely.

  • October 30, 2008
    Derek Housley from Austria

    Skied there last year and found that it was an ideal resort, with a good mix of slopes for beginners, intermediates and expert. The three ski areas of i)Kitzsteinhorn with the glacier skiing above Kaprun, ii)The Maisikogel where you can ski down into the centre of Kaprun, iii) The Schmittenhohe above Zell am See with fantastic views over the lake at Zell and beyond.
    There is further skiing in Sallbach and Hinterglemm in the next valley along, and the Gastein Valley is only half a hour away by car.
    Good and short transfer links of just over 1 hour, and indeed the icing on the cake.
    For more info see the blog at:- austria-holiday-apartment.blogspot.com/
    Derek Austria

  • October 27, 2008
    Doug W from United Kingdom

    First went to Kaprun as a complete beginner in Dec 05 straight into ski school behind our hotel (Taurenhof); excellent week and learnt a lot. Have now been every year to either Kaprun or nearby Zell usually twice a year. Have tried other areas but keep returning to this place. Like one reviewer said "don't tell everybody about it, it will be spoilt"
    Every thing is perfect from the snow sure glacier, to the varied pistes, the food, the reasonable prices for top hotels, the friendly locals, just everything; it's the daddy. Counting down the days to 3rd of Jan 09

  • March 28, 2008
    Karen and Pat from Ireland

    Stayed in Kaprun with our 6 month old. Great resort, very family friendly. Skiing is great, with blues and reds being good enough for those who have skied a good number of times. Would recommend for families and will definitely be back. Great creche facilities. Will be back again for sure!!

  • January 09, 2008
    Steve B from United Kingdom

    The Glacier provides a snow sure holiday. When the conditions are right (which is most of the winter) there are so many off-piste possibilities. The village offers, probably the best beginners slope available and small children have several areas in which to learn as well. As an alternative the area of Zell am See is a short bus ride away and offers a large variety of skiing. Zell is a larger town and nosier/livelier than Kaprun. Kaprun town is typical Austria and has many restaurants and bars without being too noisy. So a family friendly resort with a lot of skiing and a beautiful setting. Doesn't get any better.

  • December 05, 2007
    Bruce Carter from United States

    I worked in Kaprun for the 2005-2006 season and had a great time. The people are really friendly (much friendlier than the French (I worked in Chamonix this season). The kitzsteinhorn had brilliant snow especially compared to Zell Am Zee - the park was good and has been upgraded and now hosts Roxy events. Off-piste is brilliant but to get the most out of it you need a guide. I lived there for six months and only got to know the best routes at the end. They are not obvious and can be dangerous (six ski instructors were killed by avalanche off the back of the Kitzsteinhorn in 2004. Palettis is great and great cheap pizza. Hope this review has been a help.

  • March 13, 2007
    pete from United Kingdom

    Very good place for all levels. By staying in Kaprun you can bus to Zell or the glacier. I would advise avoiding the glacier on Sundays; iy's very busy. Flanigans bar in Zell for English sports is a good bar. All buses inc in ski pass.

  • January 14, 2007
    James Lovatt from United Kingdom

    Was There in March 2006 and going again this Feb.
    Always snow on the glacier and Zell am see has the alpine mountain scenery and motorway slopes you would want. In Kaprun there is a small set of Blue and Red Slopes which are great to find your legs on. There are 2 snowboard parks on the glacier and the lifts on all the mountains are pretty good.
    If you shop around the holiday is also relatively cheap.

  • October 18, 2006
    Paul W from United Kingdom

    We went late in the season in 2005 over the easter holiday and had a brilliant time although the glacier was quite crowded. Infact we enjoyed it soo much we're all going again this season at the end of Jan 07. *****VERY IMPORTANT****** DO NOT TELL EVERYONE ABOUT THIS RESORT AS IT WILL BECOME SPOILED!!!!!!

  • September 24, 2006
    Sheri from United Kingdom

    Help , Just booked a hotel in Kaprun from 11th Dec to 23rd Dec this year.
    I am a novice snowboarder ,
    1. Does the resort have runs for beginners and even lessons ?
    2. IS there snow at this time of the year ?
    3. Is it busy ?
    Thank you Sheri

  • January 13, 2006
    Simon Shirley from United Kingdom

    We were at Kaprun over 1-7 Jan 2006. I was extremely impressed: together with Zell am See, Kaprun offers a fantastic range of skiing. The glacier area at Kaprun offers a great combination of blues/reds for the beginner and intermediate, whilst giving the expert extensive powder areas to play in. Zell am See, a short ski bus ride away, has a good spread of blues/reds/blacks to keep the whole group interested. It was the peak week of the season, but with the exception of the morning queues to get up the Mountain, everything moved quickly and the slopes weren't crowded (Black runs were even quite empty). Definitely a location to keep all skiers happy.

  • November 23, 2005
    David P from United Kingdom

    I visited Kaprun on my first ever ski trip in 1996. After thinking I didn't need lessons and breaking my thumb, skiis and one pole, I was taught extremely well by the local ski school. I became hooked on skiing. It took me 9 years before revisiting Kaprun. It is a great place to learn and it was good to return for a day - I wouldn't want much longer though.
    The 'blue' run down from the Alpin Centre gets steep and narrow in places. I would not call this a blue run.

  • April 30, 2005
    Ekim $ Albena from Bulgaria

    We were at Kaprun on the 20 to 24 of April 2005. The experience was quite extreme in any possible sense. Great slopes, great mountain, great powder snow skiing. We could not stop skiing from 8:30 to 16:00… I don’t know why they say it is best for beginners and intermediate skiers. We are quite advanced and extreme skiers and enjoyed every bit of those incredible slopes… Off piste skiing in 1m of fresh powder at the end of April – you don’t get this experience easily in many places. And the organization of everything provided by the Austrians was perfect. We are already infatuated with this place, hope to see it again next spring…

  • November 20, 2004
    philip knight from United Kingdom

    Was at Kaprun in feb 04 and i have to say it was one of the best places i have been to ski. The slopes were kept in excellent condition, the snow was perfect and the apres ski was incredible. So many places to eat and drink and the locals are very friendly. The hotels are plenty and very comfortable. I stayed in the hotel antonius, although it was 4 star, it was very well proced and worth every penny, good location and short walk to lifts, although a free bus stops outside the entrance to take you to the lift. Plus your pass covers you for zell am zee, which is under the europa sports region. Will be going back next year, cant fault it

  • September 06, 2004
    Matt Gomez from United States

    My friends and I skied Kaprun back in 1986. It was one of the best ski trips I ever had. The people were great! I was very sad to here about the tragic accident in the train tunnel. My thoughts are with the victims families.
    Again, thanks to everyone at Kaprun for giving me a great time and wonderful memories.

    God bless, Matt Gomez