Login / Sign Up


Snow-Forecast logoSnow mountain photo


Ski Austria

Ischgl Resort Reviews

Visitor reviews for Ischgl Ski Resort



  • February 26, 2013
    John from United Kingdom

    Just returned having visited Ischgl for the first time in over ten years. I read some of the reviews before I went and thought the resort must have changed as some of the reviews did not match with my memory. Myself, my wife and two teenage children visited at half-term and had a fantastic holiday.
    I agree with previous reviewers that it is not for extreme skiers but then it never has been and has never marketed itself in that way. For a half-term once a year ski holiday it was perfect. Massive plus points are: perfectly groomed runs. A fantastically efficient lift system that, even at half-term, coped superbly. Apart from at the start of the day the longest wait was three or four minutes, on many occasions there was no wait at all. Apart from one chair lift all chairs are high speed and the majority have covers, a god send at minus 17. Some even have heated seats. Good quality and good value mountain restaurants serving a variety of food at a sensible price, all with clean well appointed toilets, something my wife and daughter would love to be exported to France.
    On the skiing front there is more than enough for most on piste with a good variety of runs. On the minus side there isn't much in the way of steep slopes and the off-piste is skied out very quickly.
    To answer some of the points raised by others, I have skied all over France including the 3 valleys, Espace Killy and Chamonix and I didn't notice any reduction in the ability of skiers here than in any of those resorts. Also, on the whole, the slopes were no more crowded and I didn't see an accident all week.
    The resort has one major issue, the runs back to the valley. We followed local advice and called in at a restaurant at 4.00 as the lifts closed, had a drink then skied down. The slopes were virtually deserted. However, on the last day we skied down with the crowds and it was chaos. Most of the runs down are icy and in places narrow, if you are anything other that a good confident skier then I would imagine they can be frightening. Parts of the runs, in particular just above the mid stations and the last pitch into the resort resembled a battle field with bodies strewn all over. My advice is if you have to go down with the crowd and are a beginner or early intermediate then take the gondolas back down, it just isn't worth the risk. But don't let that put you off, if you are after a place that gives you the all around experience of good hotels, good skiing, especially for a family, and good mountain restaurants then this place is perfect. We have already booked for next year.

  • Ischgl Ratings

    Based on 29 votes. Vote

    Access: 3.9

    (1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Ischgl.

    Public Transport: 3.7

    (1) There are no buses or taxis to Ischgl, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

    Scenery: 4.2

    (1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

    Accommodation: 4.6

    (1) No places to stay in/near Ischgl, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

    Cheap Rooms: 3.0

    (1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

    Luxury Hotels: 4.9

    (1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Ischgl.

    Ski in/Ski out: 4.2

    (1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

    Childcare: 3.9

    (1) There are no child care facilities at Ischgl, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

    Snowsure: 4.8

    (1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Ischgl is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

    Snowmaking: 4.7

    (1) Ischgl relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

    Snow Grooming: 5.0

    (1) There are no snow groomers at Ischgl, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Ischgl are groomed daily.

    Shelter: 3.5

    (1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Ischgl is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

    Nearby options: 3.5

    (1) If snow conditions are poor at Ischgl, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

    Regional rating: 4.6

    (1) Ischgl usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

    Lift Staff: 4.3

    (1) The staff at Ischgl are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Ischgl are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

    Crowds/Queues: 4.0

    (1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

    Ski Schools: 4.4

    (1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

    Hire and Repairs: 4.9

    (1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

    Variety of pistes: 4.8

    (1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Ischgl has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

    Beginners: 3.9

    (1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

    Intermediates: 4.8

    (1) No intermediate terrain at Ischgl, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

    Advanced: 4.4

    (1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

    Snow Park: 4.5

    (1) Not even a kicker at Ischgl, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

    Off-piste: 4.1

    (1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

    Cross-country: 2.6

    (1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Ischgl, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

    Luge/Toboggan: 3.8

    (1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Ischgl has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

    Mountain Dining: 4.6

    (1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

    Eating: 4.9

    (1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

    Apres-Ski: 5.0

    (1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

    Other Sports: 4.1

    (1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

    Entertainment: 3.6

    (1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

    Winter Walks: 3.9

    (1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

    Ski Pass Value: 4.3

    (1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

    Value (National): 4.0

    (1) Overall, Ischgl is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

    Value (Global): 4.4

    (1) Overall, Ischgl is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

    Based on 29 votes. Vote

  • July 02, 2012
    Mia from New Zealand

    Hopfgarten is a beautiful ski resort. I skied here twenty years ago and it was amazing. It is well linked to other resorts so there is a big range of places to ski. A great place to ski.

  • March 14, 2012
    Tirolerhund from United Kingdom

    To another reviewer: your comments about the quality of snow and off-piste in the Rockies is valid. The problem for us Brits is the distance and jet lag (8 hours) is generally too much, especially for 4 or 7 day trips.

    If you want it really steep and deep in the Alps and with top comfort go and ski the Arlberg area, but stay in Lech or Zurs rather than St Anton. The off-piste is simply awesome throughout the whole area, especially off the back of Valluga and Albona. Enjoy!

    Personally I'm back to Ischgl this weekend for some more cruising, with a few blacks off the Palinkopf and Greitspitz which offer enough challenge for most, and the best apres-ski in the Alps! St Anton eat your heart out!

  • March 08, 2012
    RB from United States

    To another reviewer: you sound like a skier after my own heart. I, too, go skiing mainly for the skiing. You make excellent points about lack of challenge at Ischgl but I have to admit as I get older, it is nice to have the amenities also. An ideal area would offer both. That's where I think the Rockies have the edge over the Alps. OK, the verticals aren't quite as large there as in the Alps but the snow is better (20 meters last year in Utah) and most of the skiing is below tree line. I can't overemphasize the value of the latter. Trees give character to the slopes and offer an endless array of lines. Anyone who has skied Moran Woods or Saratoga Bowl at Jackson Hole after a big dump understands what I am saying. Also, trees provide the shadows and contrast needed to ski on cloudy or snowy days. There is nothing quite like being able to ski the trees when the falling snow fills in your tracks behind you. Snowy (or even just cloudy) days in the Alps relegate skiers to feeling their way from marker to marker down groomed pistes, or worse yet, waiting out the weather in the lodge. That's not how I want to spend my precious vacation days!

  • March 08, 2012
    JC from Singapore

    To another reviewer:
    Some of your points are indeed valid, Tignes and Val have fantastic skiing. I have been skiing for 30 years now since I was a kid. I learned to ski in France and went there year in year out for more than 15 years. However, I discovered Austria, and nowadays I don't bother with France for all of the reasons another reviewer mentioned. I am a fanatical skier, I am up early, I ski all day off-piste with guides wherever the snow is best, but I also enjoy a beer, I don't like cold spag Bol from rude French waiters, and I like to go out in the evening too.

    [note from editor: text edited for the sake of relevance]

  • February 27, 2012
    RB from United States

    Just returned from a week skiing holiday in Ischgl. We normally ski in the Rockies and it has been over a decade since I last skied in Europe. My observations about Ischgl and comparisons to my experience in the U.S.:

    High points:

    Lift system is unparalleled. Nothing like it in the U.S. All chairs are detachable, high-speed and many accommodate 6 or more people. All have plexiglass bubbles and some even have heated seats and conveyor systems to ease entry.

    On mountain restaurants and many and quite good. Still tough to find a seat at lunchtime, though (see comment below about crowds).

    Town of Ischgl is very charming and also quite lively. Apres-ski doesn't involve a drive into town like at many U.S. ski areas. Good, reasonably priced restaurants abound. Fun bars are everywhere.

    Scenery in Austria, like in most of the Alps, is stunning. Jagged peaks as far as the eye can see.. Huge vertical relief between peaks and valleys. The U.S, has a few areas that can compare, but not many.

    Snow: The Alps have had a great year (unlike most of the U.S.), so no issue here in 2012 However, to be fair, conditions in the Alps are far less dependable, on average than in the Rockies. Nine years out of ten, you will be better off going to Utah or Wyoming than France or Austria.

    Low points:

    Terrain: Most of the terrain in Ischgl was beginner to intermediate. Very little expert terrain, at least compared to my favourites: Jackson Hole and Snowbird. Also, all of the good skiing is above tree line. This means no tree skiing and, as importantly, very poor visibility in cloudy conditions. On the former point, I was dismayed to find that tree skiing is sometimes prohibited in Europe due to questionable environmental concerns (how can it be more harmful to ski through the trees than over fragile Artic tundra?).

    Crowds: Isghl made Vail look deserted. Lift system can handle holiday traffic ok (excepting 30-minute lines on gondolas out of town), but that just puts masses of people on the pistes. At times reminded me of skiing in Vermont. The good news is that Ischgl's skiers don't seem to venture off-piste, leaving untouched or lightly skied powder days after a storm. The bad news is that skiing off-piste is dangerous to impossible when light is flat, meaning you are stuck negotiating a limited number of boring marked runs with hordes of other skiers.

    Bottom Line: If you are a serious skier who looks for steep terrain, tree skiing, and powder, you are better off heading to the Rockies than skiing in Ischgl or other European resorts. If you prefer comfort, ambiance, scenery, and after-ski variety, head for the Alps. Or, better still, mix it up and try both.

  • February 14, 2012
    Victor from Estonia

    @Tirolerhund, no i am not a sale rep from Val/Tignes. Just a guy who understands skiing in a different way than you.
    I do agree with most things you say - food, drinks, accomodation, hospitality - it is all cheaper or better in Ischgl than Val/Tignes. But once again - I go skiing for the skiing itself. Nothing else matters to me. A miserable flat in an ugly appartment block in Tignes is perfectly fine by me - I never go to hotels when I go skiing. I have my comfort at home and if I wanted to have the same during my holiday then I can just stay home. Also, I ski hard all day and then I am in bed by 10 pm and it does not make a difference to me if I am in a 4 star hotel or an ugly flat. The only skiing-related comment you make is about queues in Val/Tignes during half-term - well, the solution for me is simple - I do not go there at half-term. Maybe I am just lucky that I am not one of those people who take their holidays when 95% of Europe's population does.

  • February 10, 2012
    Tirolerhund from United Kingdom

    I believe another reviewer is so wrong and sounds like a rep from the tourist office of Val d'Isere/Tignes.

    Yes the Espace de Killy has more skiing, including some that is more challenging than Ischgl, as do many French resorts, but who cares? With nearly 240 km of marked pistes how much more do you want for a weeks skiing?

    If you want surely French hospitality, second rate hotels at rip off prices often with no atmosphere or third rate apartments, a second class lift system and extortionately priced lunches then carry on going to France but spag bog and a beer at 140 euros for a family of four in a tatty hut with third world toilets soon gives you a wake up call.

    Ischgl, by contrast, is stuffed with affordable 4 star hotels, 28 to be precise, hundreds of high quality appartments at 50 - 70 euro per person per night, value for money mountain restaurants and hospitality that puts the French to shame.

    Try going to Espace de Killy or any of the mega French resorts at February half-term and you spend too long queueing for the lifts having taken 6 hours to get there from Lyon or Geneva. Austria, by contrast, is a revelation with virtually no lift queues. Why? because all their top resorts are designed to run at full capacity through out the season, with spare capacity in the lift systems, something the French simply don't get in their service offer.

    As regards the nightlife, Feuer und Eis and Kuhstal attract the younger set as do Pascha and the Trofana Arena later at night. Also better value with large beers typically 5 euro and entry to clubs 5 - 10 euro inc complimentary drink and beer at 5 euros thereafter.

    If you still think Ischgl is too old, then go to St Anton. It has skiing to match the Espace de Killy, an apres-ski scene that is mental, a state of the art lift system and as with all Austrian resorts high quality accommodation, at all cost levels, that is genuine value for money.

    Sorry if I sound like a rep for the Austrian tourist office but have skied for over 30 years including all the major french resorts, except Les Arcs and Alpe d'Huez, I see nothing in the French Alps to entice me back in the foreseeable future. I finally fell out of love with French skiing in January 2005, when we paid 200 euros per person per night for a standard twin room in a soulless 3 star hotel at Courcheval 1850. Yes, it was ski in / ski out, but so what. God only knows what it would cost today?? 7 years on you can stay in every 4*/4*s hotel in Ischgl/ St Anton/ Soelden and Saalbach etc for less, often substantially less....I rest my case!!

  • January 31, 2012
    Victor from Estonia

    Went to Ischgl the week of 21 Jan. I had read a lot about it and mostly good things but I have to say that I expected more. I was by no means disappointed, though. In fact it is a good resort with lots of pistes and good facilities.

    Some comments compare it to Val D'Isere and Tignes. You have to be joking. Val/Tignes are on a completely different level. Why? Plenty of reasons:

    1. In Ischgl some of the pistes are marked in a funny way. They are marked read but in fact it is a ski road in most parts. This can be very annoying given that it happens rather often.

    2. Overall, Val/Tignes (especially Tignes) is much sportier - pistes are wider, harder (some blues in Val/Tignes are like Ischgl reds) and longer.

    3. The quality of skiers - oh my god. Ischgl is a freak show in that respects. Idiots who barely manage wedge turns go down on blacks or hard reds is a beautiful sight. On one occasion I got hit by someone coming from behind and all he said was "I was going straight, it is your fault". No comment. We were a group of 15 and everyone said that this is the worst resort in terms of quality of skiers they have ever been to. And none of us had seen so many bad accidents in one week.

    4. I really do not understand why Ishgl has a reputation of a party town. If your idea of partying is 50-year olds drinking snapps with beer all afternoon/night then you have to get a life. But this is a minor point for me since I go skiing....(surprise) - for the skiing.

    5. Overall, Val d'Isere/Tignes or Val Thorens (again especially Tignes) just feel that people are there for the skiing and for the sport in general. Yes, Tignes is an ugly purpose built resort but it is so practical. You go out of your ugly concrete appartment block on skis and 5 minutes later you are on the top of the mountain. No nonsense, no car or bus ride to get to the lifts, no distractions, no waste of time.

    Ischgl has of course some positives too, even if it is more expensive that other ski resorts in Austria food and drinks on the pistes remain much cheaper than in France where you can easily pay 7 euros for a coke or 20 euros for some miserable burger. The lift system is indeed rather new. The facilities (piste restaurants, toilets etc) look amazing. But come on - is this enough? What do we really go skiing for? For the "accessories" (like cheap goulash soup and beer, good toilets and heated lift seats) or for the real stuff (pistes, snow, off-piste, beautiful mountains)? Val/Tignes beat Ischgl hands down in those departments. Whoever says the opposite goes skiing for a different (not necessarily wrong) reason than me.

    So about Ischgl - decent resort but if you really want to ski there is way way way better (not just Val/Tignes). Would I go there again? I do not see a reason why I would.

  • March 07, 2011
    DP from United Kingdom

    Fantastic resort with great lift system. However, Ischgl is only suitable for good intermediate and above. Beginners will struggle. Far too many very fast skiers on lowers slopes. During the week there was helicopter after helicopter picking up injured skiers who had bumped into each other every few hours. I saw lots of nasty accidents.

  • December 16, 2010
    GB from United Kingdom

    The beauty of Ischgl is that the lift system is owned by a town co-operative and they just keep pumping the money back in to more slopes and more and better lifts. (Compare that to the 3 Valleys and Tignes where I seem to ride the same lifts I was sitting on 20 years ago).

    Two years ago they put in a new black to rival some of the best in the world (well not quite a Triftji, Le Herse or Sudan Couloir but p.d. good) but it was a 3 lift journey to go around. This year they have a brand new direct lift to service that and 3 other runs slapped on the side of the mountain in 08. Ski area also includes Samnaun. Probably most extensive interlinked "quality skiing" resort in Europe other than 3V and other than Whistler/Bc on the other side of the water.

    Lots of excellent accom but not cheap but then it never is in the best resorts is it (eg Zermatt, Whistler, Chamonix), supply and demand and all that. Cheaper accom available in outlying villages with excellent valley bus service and huge underground car park if you drive over. Good variety of after ski from party bars with table dancers (clad) to small bars and cafes. Similar range of price and variety later on. The only slight negative is that the number of in-town restaurants has not grown at the same pace as the accommodation and none are cheap by Austrian standards but, both in town and on the mountain, a bargain compared to 3V and most of France. Ski pass c £200 for a week.

    Even more of an early season snow pocket than St Anton/Lech. Extensive powder options after a dump.

    First visited 1977, now firmly established as my early season favourite just before the crowds arrive at Xmas. Roll on Friday!

  • March 22, 2010
    millsy from United Kingdom

    Just returned from Ischgl having last visited half a dozen years or so ago and it's still a great place. There has been huge investment in the lift system, with few queues out of town and plenty of high speed detachable chairs. Piste maintainance is generally very good with artificial back up on the home slopes. Most runs are reds and suit confident intermediates with a number of steepish blacks looking at you as you ride the chair to start the duty free run down in Samnaun in Switzerland. There are mountain restaurants aplenty from self service and pizza to waiter service at Alp Trida. Off the hill the apres throbs from early on starting at around 3ish at Idalp and carrying on into town at the Schatzi /Hotel Elizabeth Bar at the foot of the slopes or in the village centre under the funitel at the Khustall or outside at the Fire and Ice. Later on the Arena in the Trofana, downstairs in Fire and Ice, the Hotel Post, Pacha, and Coyote Ugly provide the entertainment. We stayed at the Apartwolf apartments where the standard of accomodation was good, clean and reasonably well appointed. Go to Ischgl and enjoy.....

  • May 20, 2009
    Andreas from Norway

    After a few seasons in Ischgl (07/08 and 08/09) I thought I'd give the resort an honest review, seen as there doesn't seem to be much decent, accurate info out there.

    First I'll start with the good:
    Ischgl sits just over the mountain range from St Anton in Arlberg, so along with its infamous neighbour, it is a magnet for powder. Lucky for us, unlike St Anton, Ischgl attracts most people for the apres-ski and are just there to be 'seen' not to ride, so hang out on the piste all day in shiny Versace jackets, or in the local bar/restaurant with the rest of their 'apres ski-team'. In other words, the general standard of skiers/snowboarders is low; perfect for those who love back-country.
    Many areas stay untouched for days after a dump. Very surprising, considering most of the off-piste is easily accessible by the lifts. Expect perfect, untouched, challenging powder runs, all day long with very minimal crowds. This is the #1 reason I returned to Ischgl.
    For the days between powder, there is a novice/intermediate park,. However, this is nothing to write home about. There is a fun kicker line (3 x 10-15 meter tables), a few nice little 'muck around' barrel bonks, 5 or so boxes/rails, a spine, and a dodgy airbag for the punters.
    The facilities at Ischgl can't be faulted, everything is so fresh and so clean. Along with perfect lift placement, I can guarantee you'll be smiling with surprise while your bum is being slowly warmed on the gondola up. When paying 45 Euro for a day pass I guess a warm buttock is expected anyway.

    Now for the bad (or I guess the good depending on who is reading this):
    Life off the mountain: I'd like to dispel a huge myth that "Ischgl is the Ibiza of the Alps". Now, I've never actually been to Ibiza, but going by the tourist brochure, I'm pretty sure the majority of tourists there are not 35-45 year old drunken, mid-crisis men dancing on tables to German sing-a-longs, stumbling home feeling sorry for themselves or Russian gold-digging women with more fur draped over their bodies than a whole herd of the near-extinct animals that it came from. Ischgl is a far cry from Ibiza, but for middle aged men with a love of Deutsch apres-ski 'favorites' with a German DJ singing on the mic over every song, I would have to say this is the place for you.
    The main problem with the off-mountain scene in Ischgl is there is no cheap accommodation, which makes the average age there significantly higher than nearby resorts, St Anton for example (S.A is not cheap by any means but is if compared to Ischgl). So for the likes of me (25 years old), there aren't a lot of similar aged people around Ischgl, and with the prices soaring in all popular bars (4-5 euro for a small beer), it's not the kind of place where you can call a bar your 'local'. Expect a large age gap in the 'clubs' with the locals being 16-18, and the tourists ranging from 35-45 years old.

    So to conclude:
    Pros:
    Untouched powder to play in with your friends
    Perfect facilities
    Big resort, plenty of runs for all levels
    Can cruise to cool little Swiss town on the other side of the mountain.

    Cons:
    Expensive
    No cheap accom = not many young seasoners or tourists
    Middle aged men everywhere
    No train in the valley

    In final, if you want to go to a resort to ride and have the cash then Ischgl is for you. If you would like to include partying to your holiday then shop around.

  • September 17, 2008
    ERLA from Iceland

    Went to Ischgl last February on my fourth time and enjoyed it a lot. Prices have gone up a lot !!!! and where did all those people come from ???
    To my surprise the Sammnau slopes were better looked after than on the Ischgl side - Strange discovery. Even though I m an expert skier and love the black runs on the Ischgl side, I preferred to ski on the Sammnau slopes this time.
    Next year I'm going somewhere cheaper and where there are fewer people.

  • April 25, 2008
    Vilius from Lithuania

    I were there 3 times and all of them were just cool. The story started 8 years ago, when I was only 9 years old and I was just a beginner and it was amazing. We liked this place so much that we got back here and it was maybe 4 years ago. Last time was the best and that was this year. Slopes were just amazing, it helped me to learn snowboarding easier and of course, very nice thing was it's a special place where you can learn jumping. Night life and people who go to Ischgl is also very friendly and nice. We lived near a first "bahn", strategically best place. Clubs: ammmm, when I was there, pacha wasn't working yet, but fire&ice is also good, nice girls, tasty obstler. Now it is 25th April, after two days I will go to Ischgl for another time this year. And I think that I will enjoy my trip. Last skiing week in Ischgl must be great.

  • February 08, 2008
    JM from United Kingdom

    There's no two ways about it - Ischgl is just absolutely fantastically brilliant. Amazing ski area, fast and efficient lift system, no queues at all, great food and drink up the mountain (not on the Swiss side though - expensive).
    The apres-ski and night life, my friends... legendary, out of this world. Why anyone would ever go skiing in France is utterly beyond me - not a clue. At the end of the day, come down on the Fimba side of town and go to the Schatzi Bar - "Apres Ski mit Go-Go-Girls". It is MAD in there! Indoor fireworks, girls dancing on platforms, great tunes... Everyone has a fabulous time. In the evenings, head for Pacha. Brilliant.
    The bottom line is, there are no bad points. Ischgl is just about perfect, which is proven by the fact that it's virtually impossible to get a room. They must be doing something right!

  • January 22, 2008
    John Bauer from United States

    Revised from earlier review:

    Visited Ischgl from Jan 5 2008 to Jan 12, 2008. The slopes are magnificent and you can go to Switzerland to visit from the top of the mountain. Prices, in general, are expensive compared to the dollar but that is due to Bush and can't be helped. Altitude is around 1400 meters or 4620 feet, which is not too high. However, you can easily get out of breath if you're not in shape. The ski slope starts at 7200 feet. If you get a multiple day pass, don’t forget to return the pass to the machine and you get 5 Euros back. Beats me why they would want it back but the cards is an RFI card so they probably re-use it. The lifts are mostly chairs. However, there are quads, sixes and even an 8 person chair. There are only a few T-bar lifts and Poma lifts on the beginner slopes.
    If you are in town go to the Hotel Sonne and ask for Iva, the blond Czech bartender. She's very friendly and can chat with the best. She speaks 4 languages. The food was also great. They had a two piece band with Dagmar the singer from Slovenia and a keyboard player, didn’t get his name. They sing all the German oldies and some Motown too, pretty fun entertainment. The Russians dance like crazy when a Russian song comes on.
    This time period coincided with the Russian Christmas and the town was 80% full of Russians. They were very friendly and out to have good time. They bring the whole family, including grandma.
    The main discos are Fire and Ice and Kuhlstahl (cow stall?). They are packed with kids, so if you want an older crowd the restaurant bars are the better places to be. The apres-ski is great at Trofana, but you have to get there early at around 4:00 pm straight from the slopes because it gets so crowded that you cannot walk, but have to body swim. Ask for Heinz, he is the only guy in town that knows how to make a decent vodka martini. However, you have to bring your own olives because he does not sell enough martinis to stock olives, he’ll have onions though. If you let him know that you’ll be back the next day, he will reserve a place at the bar for you, which is where you want to be instead of upstairs. They throw everybody out at 6:50 pm to clean up and get ready for dinner because it's also a restaurant.
    We stayed in Galtur, the site of a massive avalanche in Feb 1999 and the room was 28.00 Euros per night at Frau Niedermeier's Pension (niedermeier@cable.vot.at; tel: 004354438322). The single room was small but included a bathroom, but don't forget to bring soap and shampoo because it is not included. The cab ride from Galtur to Ischgl is 20.00 Euros for a 10 minutes ride and cabs are available at all hours. We also skied at Kappl and they had the best slopes because they faced south and were sunny the entire day until 4:00 pm when the lifts closed. We skied Galtur also but this was not as nice because it was in the shadow the entire day.
    All in all, I would not hesitate to come back because everyone was so friendly. The food was great and the skiing was outstanding with 3 separate areas that can be skied on the same ski pass. Of course, Ischgl is the biggest and best but if you want to avoid the crowds try Galtur and Kappl.

  • January 09, 2008
    KKS from France

    Dec 2007 2nd week: Ischgl off-piste skiing rocks and is now on my list of top 2 ski stations in Europe - 5 continuous days of 1-3ft consistent pow. Freshies nearly every run.....500m tree lines to carving GS turns in 2ft of powder down classic 1000m big mountain open terrain. And, though usually not a hindrance for accessing the goods, unbelievably NO hiking for our turns the whole week. Our crew of 10 hombres enjoyed the hospitality and service of the Wolf family and staff at the Olympia Hotel - what a great value (Euro70/night x 5 nights for xlnt full buffet breakfast and consistently delicious 4-course dinner; spacious, clean, well appointed rooms, 200m from tram and main village. Must take the pleasant and scenic backside piste down to Samnaun for lunch......especially charming if with a family. Great on slopes dining for all budgets. Euro15 also buys you a single entry to the must-go-to wellness spa facility at the Madelein Hotel. Can't comment on the nightlife and apres-ski, but a good time was had by all. (By the way, the other top pick of overall ski stations with heavy weighting on the off-piste skiing quality are in the Engadine Valley/St.Moritz area.) Peace, love, and powder!

  • December 23, 2007
    Andrew from United Kingdom

    Having just returned from a week's fantastic skiing at Samnaun / Ischgl, I'd just like to say what a brilliant ski area it is. A brand new Fimbabahn up from the town, no queues at all and great snow accompanied by 6 days of sun-filled skiing. Enough piste and off-piste to satisfy anyone, and stunning views from the new Pardorama restaurant and Trida Sattel.

    My only grumble is the prices in Samnaun's restaurants are on the steep side - €9.40 for 2 sausages and chips in the Alp Trida is a bit cheeky in my opinion. However, I got the impression there are plenty of people willing to pay it, as well as go into Samnaun Dorf itself and pay €750+ for ski wear...

  • March 14, 2006
    jc from United Kingdom

    Whilst the off-piste is not as good as its near neighbour St Anton, the on-piste skiing is as good and off the slopes in the bars Ischgl is definately 5 star. The lift system is very efficient, the views great, especially on the long run down into Samnaun. Not many cosy little restaurants on the pistes though. Ischgl also is one of the most snow sure resorts around, usually open from the end of November to the beginning of May, and no glacier skiing. Only negative with the skiing is the two runs from the middle station back to the village often icy, narrow in places and full of those who would be better off getting the gondola down from the mid station.

  • February 01, 2006
    Andrew from United Kingdom

    Apparently the only station in the Alps with its own dedicated air rescue due to the apres ski... though whether that's a myth or not I can't say as we were staying on the Swiss side and unable to stay in Ischgl to see the KuhStall in action. Shame, as the number of clubs and bars we saw in the daytime in the town is staggering. As will you be...

    Skiing wise the lifts are probably the best I've ever experienced. Fast, new, mostly padded (nice), and no queues!!! Pistes are long and the food good. No drawbacks I can think of...

  • December 08, 2005
    masa from Slovenia

    We have been to Ischgl three times and can honestly say Silvretta arena is a very good resort. New lifts, good snow, great views and runs of various difficulties. The low-lying pistes can be a problem with snow and can get all iced up. Also rodelbahn (runs at least twice a week after dark) is all ice. Silvretta Arena also falls partly into Switzerland, the village Samnaun is a duty-free zone (with good snow conditions you can ski right trough the village) but beware – there are customs officers in ski boots on the top of the mountain which like to check you when you slide down the chair lift.

    Famous for it's Apres and high society Ischgl is unfortunately also expensive when accommodation is concerned. The neighbouring villages have fortunately many affordable apartments and free bus connections are good all along the Paznaun valley. If you fell 200 km of pistes are not enough, you can spend a day or two on other resorts in the valley – Galtur, Kappl and See (Silvretta ski pass is valid). St. Anton (another great resort) is not that close as information below the photo says, it’s more like 40 km and you’ll need your own car to do it comfortably.

  • December 22, 2004
    Shaun Wallace from United Kingdom

    Just returned from my 6 visit to Ischgl 14.12.04, conditions were poor with very little snow, however the recent snow falls have greatly improved the resort, Apre ski was/is best in world. Check out Trofana Alm between 4pm and 8pm for best party in resort.

  • March 05, 2004
    Erla from Iceland

    Just returned from Ischgl.Great skiing !
    Much better than its neighbour ST ANTON. No waiting time at lifts and the slopes were just perfect.
    Great Apres on the slopes at Pasnauer Thaya as well at the famous Kuhstadl at the bottom.
    Best restaurant and atmosphere is on the Sammanu site at the Skihaus Alp Trida.

    I will return next year with a smile on my face.

  • September 10, 2003
    rey from South Africa

    We have been to Ischgl twice and it is our favourite ski resort in the Alps! Tabogganing is the highlight of the trip. Good snow, excellent atmosphere and WAY ahead of its Swiss competition


  • Rod Grinsted from United Kingdom

    Ischgl is a hidden gem. We were there in the 1st week of April and the snow conditions were amazing, especially given that 2006/2007 has been no better than average. The lift system is very efficient with fast 4/6/8 seater chairs that get you away from the main gondola stations quickly. The apres-ski and clubbing is every bit as good as some other reviews have indicated, with the Khustall at the centre of the action from 4:00pm. One draw back is the late night noise when the clubs close. If you aren't there and want to get some sleep, make sure to take ear plugs!! Having said that, Ischgl is a great ski resort and one we will definately be returning to.