Login / Sign Up


Snow-Forecast logoSnow mountain photo


Ski Italy

Gressoney-la-Trinite Resort Reviews

Visitor reviews for Gressoney-la-Trinite Ski Resort



  • December 04, 2013
    Tom Peters from Ireland

    A great place for a week of skiing. Lift lines at the base were never more than 5 minutes and the longest wait at the Alagna tram was about 10-15 minutes.
    Pistes were groomed every night without fail.
    Piste terrain was never boring with lots of undulating and twists to the shape of the slope. Some good steeps and run-outs. Not a place for moguls except for narrow chimneys off-piste. Off-piste is extensive as advertised but watch out for snow snakes.
    Stayed at the Hotel Gressoney, a very pleasant lodge with wonderful dinners; 3 choices for main course and a superlative antipasti buffet and a dessert table to die for.
    I would gladly return for more of the same. Great people and a lovely set of beautiful villages nestled in nearly hanging wall valleys.

    Crystal ski was our host and the rep was sometimes hard to track down.

  • Gressoney-la-Trinite Ratings

    Based on 12 votes. Vote

    Access: 4.1

    (1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Gressoney-la-Trinite.

    Public Transport: 3.5

    (1) There are no buses or taxis to Gressoney-la-Trinite, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

    Scenery: 4.9

    (1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

    Accommodation: 4.1

    (1) No places to stay in/near Gressoney-la-Trinite, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

    Cheap Rooms: 3.9

    (1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

    Luxury Hotels: 3.0

    (1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Gressoney-la-Trinite.

    Ski in/Ski out: 4.5

    (1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

    Childcare: 3.5

    (1) There are no child care facilities at Gressoney-la-Trinite, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

    Snowsure: 4.3

    (1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Gressoney-la-Trinite is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

    Snowmaking: 4.3

    (1) Gressoney-la-Trinite relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

    Snow Grooming: 5.0

    (1) There are no snow groomers at Gressoney-la-Trinite, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Gressoney-la-Trinite are groomed daily.

    Shelter: 3.4

    (1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Gressoney-la-Trinite is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

    Nearby options: 3.3

    (1) If snow conditions are poor at Gressoney-la-Trinite, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

    Regional rating: 4.2

    (1) Gressoney-la-Trinite usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

    Lift Staff: 4.5

    (1) The staff at Gressoney-la-Trinite are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Gressoney-la-Trinite are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

    Crowds/Queues: 4.4

    (1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

    Ski Schools: 4.4

    (1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

    Hire and Repairs: 4.3

    (1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

    Variety of pistes: 4.9

    (1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Gressoney-la-Trinite has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

    Beginners: 3.0

    (1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

    Intermediates: 4.6

    (1) No intermediate terrain at Gressoney-la-Trinite, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

    Advanced: 4.8

    (1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

    Snow Park: 2.4

    (1) Not even a kicker at Gressoney-la-Trinite, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

    Off-piste: 4.9

    (1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

    Cross-country: 4.0

    (1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Gressoney-la-Trinite, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

    Luge/Toboggan: 2.2

    (1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Gressoney-la-Trinite has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

    Mountain Dining: 4.8

    (1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

    Eating: 3.8

    (1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

    Apres-Ski: 2.8

    (1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

    Other Sports: 2.6

    (1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

    Entertainment: 2.4

    (1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

    Winter Walks: 3.7

    (1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

    Ski Pass Value: 4.2

    (1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

    Value (National): 4.3

    (1) Overall, Gressoney-la-Trinite is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

    Value (Global): 4.8

    (1) Overall, Gressoney-la-Trinite is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

    Based on 12 votes. Vote

  • November 01, 2012
    Simon from United Kingdom

    Some of the worst ice climbing I have come across in 30 yrs of climbing, have visited the area several times just to make sure! Terrible place, way too quiet, like 28 days later! and no real shops to speak of, stay in Chamonix for sure. I for one will not be returning again,....at least not until February.

  • October 25, 2012
    Daniel from United Kingdom

    Thanks for the reviews people. So looking forward to the skiing in Gressoney Jan 2013. I only learned to ski 3 years ago in Switzerland, then went to Bansko, and last year Morzine and loving it. Looking forward to my first black run as bottled it in Morzine. Will let you know if the resort and skiing are still as good ahhhh! mean bad.... but sure it will be perfect.

    Keep reviewing
    P.S good website Snow-Forecast Cheers.

  • March 12, 2012
    Bill from United States

    I spent two weeks at Gressoney-la-Trinite in early April 2011 and had a great time. Uncrowded (if not oddly deserted) slopes, no liftlines, fantastic corn snow on the pistes, and friendly people made it a great place. They did suffer from a lack of snow in the valley so the pistes to the town and Stafal were sporty. The lift company did shut down most of the lifts during my last week and only the lifts to the east of Stafal and up to the Passo Salati. This was a disappointment as it was a bit of a surprise and no real notice was given as far as I could tell. After a day or two of moping about it, a gentleman from Britain said "You are skiing in the sunshine in Italy for free and enjoying a beer at lunch. Stop whining." Excellent advice. All in all, one of the best areas I have skied and I hope to return soon.

  • February 25, 2012
    Sarah from United Kingdom

    I learnt to ski in Gressoney when I was 10. Have been to many other resorts over the years but always go back to Gressoney every year as it really is fabulous. Such a pity that my favourite wine bar at the top of the Alps has burnt down, it will not be the same without it. I will surely shed a tear when I get there in a few weeks time.
    Still, I hear we have a new bar in town now so let's see.

  • January 28, 2012
    Nick from United Kingdom

    Oh, such an awful place. Not sure why we're going back again with 24 friends to a high mountain hut!

  • January 13, 2012
    massi from Italy

    It is a wonderful place, snow, skiing, stunning views. Unsuitable for those looking for clubs or who just want to go shopping.

  • December 16, 2011
    ronald coia from United Kingdom

    I agree with the sentiments of all of the reviews: lets try and keep the resort a secret. This will be my 4th consecutive visit in January 2012. We are staying at Lo Scoiattolo again. Great hotel, great food, great staff, standard of cleanliness: triple A.

  • December 13, 2011
    Paul Again from United Kingdom

    Gressoney (Gressoney-la-Trinite) got a listing as "one of the best resorts you've never heard of" in the Guardian this October - but what do beardy sandal-wearing muesli-munchers know ???
    Won't be at the Squirrel again in March 2012...

  • March 12, 2011
    Brian from United Kingdom

    Quite agree with others. Rotten resort, stinking hotel (just 1 minute from the lift), terrible food (same chef for 40 yrs), horrendous lift queues. Please go and ski anywhere else, but Gressoney (Gressoney-la-Trinite). Unfortunately, we arrive next Sat.19th.March, for our 7th consecutive time. PS. we never tell our friends.

  • February 09, 2011
    nick from United Kingdom

    Agree that Monterosa (Gressoney-la-Trinite) is an awful ski resort and I'm going back in a few weeks, for the third year on the trot, just to confirm.
    Hate espresso at a Euro, not queuing and long leisurely Italian lunches with house wine at 8 Euros. Oh and some of the toughest and easiest lift served runs in Europe
    Please stay away and keeping going to the lovely, lovely Meribel.

  • December 05, 2010
    Paul Boutal from United Kingdom

    Stayed at Hotel Residence (Gressoney-la-Trinite) Mar 2010 - awful 20 metre walk to the lift. Going to the Scoiatollo 2011 to see if the Monterosa area was as bad as we remember.
    Please stay away, and don't look-up irony in the dictionary.

  • September 07, 2010
    Ian MacGregor from New Zealand

    Skied the whole area (Gressoney-la-Trinite) 1st week Feb 2010. Dreadful skiing. Dreadful food. Shocking queues. Skied Europe for the last 20 yrs.
    Thoroughly agree with another review: can't wait to get back next year - quite possibly too at the Squirrel Hotel.
    And it's very rare that I return to a ski field.

  • January 05, 2009
    Alef Arendsen from Netherlands

    I just got back from an awesome week of skiing and boarding in the Gressoney area. I have a place a bit further down the Gressoney Valley, so I can't comment on the hotels, although the times my friends stayed in places in town they were quite happy.

    Granted, you only get Italian food here, but well, isn't that what you go to Italy for? The Polenta Concia is great, the cafè Corretto (expect a question along the lines like 'which correction you want, grappa or rum) is great and the local drink Bombardino obviously not to be forgotten.

    Don't expect an amazing night life, but again, if you want that, go to Anton or Ischl. For off-piste, head over to Alagna, especially in the next week, when there's going to be heavy snow fall again. If you're in for some good food and are willing to drive a little bit: Lo Stambecco in Gressoney St. Jean is great. Also in the main valley (but this is about an hour's drive) in Quincinetto there's Da Marino and even better and closer (but still 50 driving I think) is Ramo Verde in Carema (just a bit south of Pt. St. Martin).

    If you want more tips, drop me a line at alef.arendsen at google mail.

    By the way, Champoluc or Alagna might be better on the night life, you don't get to be more central in the Monte Rosa ski resort as in Gressoney though at is in the centre of it.

    Cheers,
    Alef

  • December 29, 2008
    Kay from United Kingdom

    OK so we were lucky - 4 meters of snow on the top at Gressoney-la-Trinite and 1.5 in the village, blue skies, sun, no wind, no crowds - this is paradise. But be warned, early season snow isn't always this good and it is a bit risky at Xmas. The pistes are incredibly quiet - especially in Gressoney and Alagna where it was quite common to find yourself skiing with no one else in sight. The long red runs from top to bottom that link well mean that this is a fantastic place for good intermediates to challenge their skiing. Don't come to this area if you want to party - the local bars are great but are LOCAL bars (no frills but fantastic people watching). Very few English are around - even better.

  • December 01, 2008
    Paul from United Kingdom

    Can I just say that Justin is absolutely 100% correct. This is an appalling place. There’s quite literally nothing to do except ski. The lift queues are unbelievable. The only views are of mountains. The snow is too deep. The hotels are too cheap. The restaurants serve only Italian food. The bar only has Moretti, red wine and grappa. The deli sells only dried porcini. And the largest hotel has been closed for 40 years. Please, I beg you, take Justin’s advice and go skiing anywhere but here. You really wouldn’t like it.

    Azzura, Laura, (and Justin?), see you at Scoiattollo on 12 December. Conditions look fantastic and we can’t wait for our third visit to ski heaven.

    Paul (and the other 10 of us)

  • December 01, 2008
    Francesca from Italy

    Hello. This year it seems to be a magical winter! All the lifts are open at Gressoney-la-Trinite with 2,4 meters snow on the top.. and it is still snowing now! All the skiers that enjoyed this Sunday said the the pistes are so beautiful and the off-piste... simply breathtaking!
    See you in Gressoney-la-Trinite then!

  • November 26, 2008
    Azzurra Thedy from Italy

    2 meters of snow on the top and very good condition on the bottom. Perfect temperature and big sunshine. Breathtaking freeride... this year it is a paradise!!!!

  • November 16, 2008
    sam from United Kingdom

    This was the best weeks skiing I have had in a while. The slopes where empty, lifts where empty and the food was awesome.
    Go if you can.

  • March 23, 2008
    laura thedy from Italy

    Yestarday in Gressoney La Trinite' 25 cm fresh snow !
    Ciao Laura

  • March 09, 2007
    Bernard Roberts from United Kingdom

    I am only glad to hear Justin's comments if it keeps some people away from this jewel of a resort.
    As others say; non-existent night-life.
    We have been four times and have had varying snow conditions but great skiing.
    Very friendly people.
    The skiing to Alagna and Champoluc is as good as Alpine skiing gets.
    Our one wish for improvement is a chair to cross the road and car park at Stafal but maybe the less developed the less of the Justins. We are back in a fortnight.

  • March 30, 2006
    Graham Ellis from United Kingdom

    Just come back from a 4 day snowboarding break. Stayed in Residence Hotel Valverde. Excellent hotel, adjacent Jolanda lift, ride right back to hotel.
    Snowboarding here is superb, plenty of intermediate & advanced level slopes & easily accesible off-piste, flat sections nowhere near as bad as Trois Vallees.
    Village is very small with no nightlife except for hotel bars, but that isn't what I go for.
    I'm surprised at Justin's comments, especially about the lifts, lots of them had magic carpets to help you on, and the locals were extremely helpful, even though my Italian is limited.
    To sum it up, if you're a decent skier or boarder & want an unspoilt resort, but are not into nightlife, this place is for you!

  • February 26, 2006
    Steve from United Kingdom

    Perhaps Justin is used to the likes of St Morritz or Chamonix where queuing and partying is part of the lifestyle choice. For the rest of us, Gressoney is a traditional resort with excellent skiing spread over three resorts and four mountain slopes. Good selection of beginners to difficult slopes as well as loads of friendly off-piste. Have not had to queue more than a couple of minutes even on a busy Sunday. Having been to other parts of Italy, France and Switzerland in the past, I am returning next week for the third year here and cannot fault the peacefulness of the location or the friendliness of the locals, including the ski school, which is as excellent as you'd expect in Italy.

  • February 19, 2006
    Justin Case from United Kingdom

    The whole Monte Rosa area is just horrible. Nasty outdated lifts that have a habit of knocking you of your feet as you dismount, inept snow grooming and a useless piste map, expensive and crappy food served with a snarl, zero night life and unfriendly, vicious locals... just stay away. You will hate skiing here! Go to Suze!

  • November 05, 2005
    Max Manganello from Italy

    That's right!!! Gressoney is a wonderfull place! I say so because I come from there... yes I am a Gressoney guy but now I spend a lot of time in UK. I organise ski holidays to Gressoney, Champoluc and Alagna for the Brits (not only). If you want to ski in these beautiful European undiscovered jewels check www.skiwithmax.com and I will be delighted to help you. Ciao for now.

  • May 14, 2005
    John Houghton from United Kingdom

    Shouldn't really talk about this awsome powder mecca, but i've kept quite now for to many years! Other like minded mountain boys and girls need to know about the addrenlin filled tall peaks of the Monta Rosa. Ok, so theres not much night life, but after a day in this mountain range you'll be in bed by 9pm! Experience the superbly relaxed typically Italian 'freeride paradise', making chamonix look like a tea party! I've been skiing back country for the last 20 years, and Gress for me has it all, none of your 'you can't go here, and you 'cant go there', fresh tracks still available after three days! Great value, very experienced friendly local guides with the right attitude (recommended) Completely looney Italian helicopter pilots who don't mind a bit of wind! Plenty of very high quality accomadation at the right price up down the valley. Oh well, i suppose the cat is out of the bag now, but i'll keep quite about the Gressoney couloirs, roll on next winter!

  • December 01, 2004
    MacKnee from United Kingdom

    Keep the secret. Great mountain scenery, long empty runs, efficient lifts, lots of off-piste for all standards. What more could you want? Apres ski is a bit tame--no, it is non existent.