Login / Sign Up


Snow-Forecast logoSnow mountain photo


Ski United Kingdom

Glenshee Resort Reviews

Visitor reviews for Glenshee Ski Resort



  • February 26, 2014
    Peter from United Kingdom

    I went to Glenshee during this February half-term. I was worried that crowds would be prohibitive but hats off to the centre, it was awesome. There were some challenging runs, it was busy but well organised, and the snow was brilliant. The moment when navigating a steep red run into third valley and the mountains peaked through the mist will live with me for a long time. On top of that we got to take the kids up the chairlift as non-skiers and they are still talking about it!

  • Glenshee Ratings

    Based on 16 votes. Vote

    Access: 4.0

    (1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Glenshee.

    Public Transport: 2.8

    (1) There are no buses or taxis to Glenshee, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

    Scenery: 4.1

    (1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

    Accommodation: 3.5

    (1) No places to stay in/near Glenshee, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

    Cheap Rooms: 4.4

    (1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

    Luxury Hotels: 3.5

    (1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Glenshee.

    Ski in/Ski out: 2.4

    (1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

    Childcare: 2.4

    (1) There are no child care facilities at Glenshee, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

    Snowsure: 2.9

    (1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Glenshee is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

    Snowmaking: 3.3

    (1) Glenshee relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

    Snow Grooming: 4.3

    (1) There are no snow groomers at Glenshee, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Glenshee are groomed daily.

    Shelter: 2.6

    (1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Glenshee is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

    Nearby options: 2.8

    (1) If snow conditions are poor at Glenshee, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

    Regional rating: 4.1

    (1) Glenshee usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

    Lift Staff: 4.6

    (1) The staff at Glenshee are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Glenshee are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

    Crowds/Queues: 4.1

    (1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

    Ski Schools: 3.6

    (1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

    Hire and Repairs: 4.2

    (1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

    Variety of pistes: 3.7

    (1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Glenshee has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

    Beginners: 4.0

    (1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

    Intermediates: 3.9

    (1) No intermediate terrain at Glenshee, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

    Advanced: 3.7

    (1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

    Snow Park: 2.8

    (1) Not even a kicker at Glenshee, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

    Off-piste: 3.5

    (1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

    Cross-country: 2.7

    (1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Glenshee, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

    Luge/Toboggan: 2.2

    (1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Glenshee has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

    Mountain Dining: 3.8

    (1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

    Eating: 3.6

    (1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

    Apres-Ski: 3.0

    (1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

    Other Sports: 2.0

    (1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

    Entertainment: 2.5

    (1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

    Winter Walks: 3.6

    (1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

    Ski Pass Value: 4.1

    (1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

    Value (National): 4.6

    (1) Overall, Glenshee is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

    Value (Global): 4.0

    (1) Overall, Glenshee is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

    Based on 16 votes. Vote

  • March 23, 2013
    Lorna from United Kingdom

    I started skiing up Glenshee when I was 15, I'm now 37. I've had a good few years where I have haven't skied at all, due to prefering a hangover then having kids, now I'm back. Boy have things changed up there (I'm less than an hour away). For a start no queues, there doesn't seem to be the coaches that there were 20 years ago. I remember waiting in the queue at Butcharts looking down seeing buses thinking 'Oh God, the queues'. Good news for us, bad for business. The friendliness of the staff hasn't changed, all good for a wee passing of the time of day. The tows don't seem to breakdown like they used too.
    Yes it's an expensive sport, and I do think that the dink dink, should be free. This may attract skiers to bring the kids for a wee shot. My kids are young. I costed out around £45 a day with 2 hours tuition, that hurts (I've got 3!) I can't wait to get them on the slopes.
    Love Glenshee totally :)

  • March 15, 2013
    Stormrider_uk from United Kingdom

    Have been at Glenshee several times this year and the conditions have been fantastic. The wind can be very strong as is true of any Scottish resort but when it dies down and the skies are blue Glenshee (Glen of the Fairies) really can be a special place. The staff are very friendly, the scenery is lovely and the snow can be as good as anywhere on a good day.

    I spend most of my time exploring the many excellent off-piste areas but when I do go on piste the addition of two new piste bashers has made an incredible difference to the conditions.

    The runs are very short in comparison to Europe and some US resorts and the constant use of Pomas and T-bars can be tiring but the surface lifts are necessary due to the often windy conditions.

    This season even the weekends have been quiet and the lift queues have been almost non existant and I have been lucky enough to not have to stand in line once this season.

    All in all, a great place to ski if the weather plays ball but quite often the conditions are better than forecast and much beeter than they appear on their webcam.

  • February 10, 2013
    Jimmy from United Kingdom

    I have very mixed opinions about Glenshee and I think some of the negative points could be addressed fairly easily which would make it a more enjoyable place to ski. So here goes:

    On the plus side: there are a lot of runs over a wide variety of terrain, slightly less expensive than some of the areas (£29 for a full day) and there has been some investment over the past few years (cafe, baddoch chair, new piste bashers) This has improved the area and the grooming and snow farming seems to have improved. So well done on this front.

    The large area and geography also has its down sides. This seems to make it difficult to prepare the whole area or even mark hazards properly. In poor vis you can easily get lost due to the large number of snow fences that do not correspond with runs. Equally, snow drifting can cause problems with loads of snow on certain aspects and bare areas on corresponding runs on the other side. This makes it difficult to link areas after high winds. There is not a huge amount they can do on the last point. There is an annoying link between many runs (either flat or uphill) which must be annoying on a board or if you can't skate. A few of the staff are downright rude: being sworn at because somebody triggered the left sensor (not us!) is not what I pay money for! When the lifts break queues can be painfully long for what are often 1 minute runs.

    Being constructive, things Glenshee could do to improve the resort are : properly mark the actual runs with corresponding coloured poles at either side at regular intervals (the number of fences means it's hard to work out where some of the runs go). We followed a route signposted Gully Drop with a half hazard marked vertical 20ft drop; couldn't see the rest of it in poor light and nearly broke a leg! So mark hazards or the runs properly! At a more costly level, speed up some of the lifts (drag pomma at the bottom of Meall Odhar is so slow even for beginners and T-bars are so slow). If you are investing in infrastructure try and get a better link in some areas.

    So, on balance, a great place when conditions are good and it's quiet but some really annoying things which could be addressed to make me ski there more often.

  • February 05, 2013
    Fraser from United Kingdom

    Having skied at Glenshee for nearly 40 years, I am still in love with the place. Last Saturday 2/2/13 was another day of awesome skiing and amazing Artic scenery. Of course, the runs are short compared to the Alps and the queues can seem long at times but when you can jump in the car and be there in an hour or two you can not beat it. Nowadays, the web weather and snow reports are so accurate you know exactly what you are in for. On a good day Glenshee really has it all, plenty of varied runs with interest and challenge for skiers of any ability.
    Generally, staff are very friendly and helpful, though this week we had to make our first complaint after being welcomed with a torrent of abuse by a fowl mouthed parking attendant as a result of a minor confusion due to conflicting directions from him and his colleague as to where we should park. Management were very responsive and hopefully the gentleman in question will receive some instruction in customer care, so he does not undermine the great work of the rest of the team.

  • February 29, 2012
    C Martindale from United Kingdom

    Skied at Glenshee many times over the course of 15yrs. On the whole it is an excellent ski centre catering well for all ability levels as it is the biggest in the UK by far. When fully open there are 2 fantastic blacks, loads of reds (which are more snowsure) and a tonne of great beginner to intermediate terrain. There is also a fantastic ski school.

    Now if you are used to European or American ski areas then Glenshee is not as big or as fancy/high tech. You have to understand that it is run by snowsports enthusiasts who reinvest just about all the profit the centre makes. So don't expect the same quality. That said, all the staff are as friendly as can be and Glenshee is arguably the best value for money in the UK.

    Following 2 bumper seasons they have invested over £1/2m in their grooming equipment alone and the results speak for themselves. (Though grooming in thaw and/or very windy conditions is not done often as it will do more damage to the snow pack). A new chairlift has also been added in 2012 to make it easier to access more snow sure slopes. Other lifts have received complete overhauls to make sure they run reliably & safely for years to come. And lots of snow fencing has been replaced over the last two years which really improves how well runs hold their snow. And a few other bits and pieces behind the scenes. All adding up to a huge investment.

    Glenshee has the facilities to make snow on some specific runs. Note that this can only be done when there is little wind and low temps. It is not uncommon for some runs to be mainly consisting of man made snow at Glenshee.

    If you hit it on a good day, then you will be amazed at how good it can be and have a fantastic day out in the lovely Scottish hills. Hit it on a bad day, and you probably wont, so be prepared and keep an eye on the weather forecast. You have to understand that the ever changing Scottish weather (and the UK government) makes these guys jobs very difficult but they will put on the best show they can. Remember they are not after your money for personal gain, they are after it so they can keep Glenshee running for us all to enjoy in many years to come. So even if you don't have a perfect day, you should see it as a contribution to make your next visit more enjoyable. The same goes for other ski centres.

    PS. When reviewing please take into account that the weather is beyond anyone's control.

  • February 12, 2012
    heather-hopper from United Kingdom

    Had first shot of the new chairlift (the Baddoch). Great to be able to board straight onto the upper slopes from the carpark during this freeze/thaw cycle. New fencing and sign work makes it look like a business on the up. As always the staff were friendly and helpful apart from Guinness the mutt, he's due me a bacon roll :)

  • December 27, 2011
    Phil Dalon from United Kingdom

    Just spent 2 days 17/18 Dec there. It was brill. Good snow, good weather, clear blue sky, not too busy and well priced. It does not get much better. This was my 1st visit, we normally ski in Italy. Went with our motorhome which you can park for free at the bottom of the lists (just park in the corner out of the way) and leave when everyone else has gone.

  • February 28, 2011
    Mike from United Kingdom

    I usually go to Cairngorm but tried here yesterday - loved it! Loads of runs and more to the point, loads of lifts, mostly poma which suits me. Some fabulous blue and red runs, lots of parking, 3 cafes so you're never far from food and toilets. Also really beautiful views.

    Down sides? Contrary to many reports, I found the lift staff unhelpful and more to the point, borderline unfriendly. Oh well.

  • February 26, 2011
    Sherrie from United Kingdom

    Just spent 5 days skiing at Glenshee. A bit nervous (only skied once before) but the instructor (Jamie) from Cairdsports was fantastic and soon built up our confidence. Was soon skiing all of the green runs. A little foggy at times, but good fun. Definitely going back...

  • January 12, 2011
    kate salmond from United Kingdom

    Lots of fun lately at Glenshee. Not going abroad this year instead have rented a cottage near Glenshee for a week in february with the mad mitchells and englishman. Looking forward to lots of snow and lots of alcohol.

  • January 10, 2011
    Duncan from United Kingdom

    Just returned from 3 days of great skiing and boarding in Glenshee.
    1 day of 100 yards visibility then 2 days of bluebird skiing.
    Very friendly, very quiet and no queues.
    Novice snowboarding son offered friendly tips by passers by....
    I am definitely going back this season.

  • December 29, 2010
    Greg from United Kingdom

    Been up twice this month, brill conditions, 6th Dec was the best no queues, nice powder, yesterday ace, just a little fog in the morning

  • December 23, 2010
    Duffus from United Kingdom

    Went to Glenshee for our first trip this season on 13/12. Lovely quiet slopes - no queues, great snow (with a wee bit ice), glorious blue skies and no wind. As always, everyone was very helpful and cheery. The lifties are fantastic. On a great day Glenshee is fantastic. Here's hoping the snow holds through the season and we get lots more great days.

  • April 04, 2010
    james from United Kingdom

    Enjoyed fantastic skiing at Glenshee on 3rd and 4th April 2010. No queues. Glas Maol and Meall Odhar runs were superb in the afternoons. Thanks to the staff there. Vast panoramic views of Cairngorms from summit of Glas Maol.

  • March 13, 2010
    Jean & Ken from United Kingdom

    Just visited Glenshee for the second year running for a short break Monday - Friday. We were so lucky with brilliant blue skies and low wind making excellent skiing conditions. The Glas Maol is just fantastic for intermediate skiing with brilliant views. We found the lift system fair, the lift staff and snow patrol very pleasant and overall an excellent time was had. We have skiied in various European resorts and found that, on a good day, Glenshee was equally as exciting. We have our own skis and boots but wanted to try out a different ski so called at the hire shop at the bottom of the ski road from Glenshee. All I could say is don't bother. The condition of the skis there are terrible and the bindings were being set on the concrete floor. Use the next hire shop up (very helpful) ;-)

  • February 26, 2010
    Abe from United Kingdom

    After several visits to Glenshee, this resort never fails to impress me with its broad selection of runs and scenery. Ace sking all round. Who needs to go abroad when you`ve got it on your doorstep. And many thanks to the friendly staff who maintain this gem in Scotland. Keep the snow coming.

    Abe.

  • February 22, 2010
    Guy Pocock from United Kingdom

    What a fabulous place! We have just returned from a long weekend at Glenshee (19th - 21st February). Great snow conditions, low temperatures, blue skies, but not a breath of wind. We enjoyed truly spectacular views from one side of the resort to the other that reminded me of the Low Tatras.

    There are about 40km of marked pistes at Glenshee, but unlimited off-piste. Runs that suite beginners up to the most advanced discerning skier!.

    We booked flights to Glasgow fairly late when the 9 day Snow-forecast predicted good conditions. One piece of advice, if you need to fly there, try flying to Aberdeen which is about an hour closer than Glasgow.

    Give Glenshee a go, if you get good weather, you will be pleasantly surprised.

  • February 14, 2010
    Ali from United Kingdom

    Wow! Best day ever skiing in Scotland (Friday 12th Feb 2010). The powder at Glenshee was amazing with blue skies and hardly a breath of wind and despite the car park being very full, it never felt crowded on the slopes. A few busy lifts but most not too bad. I had to pinch myself..kept thinking I had been transported to the Alps!

  • February 02, 2010
    Alan Morton from United Kingdom

    Fantastic variety of runs and fast skiing. Sometimes has its storms etc. I have skiied Europe for 11 years. As I live in Kent, and it is a similar travel time, I would put Glenshee up there with the best of the European resorts. There is a better, more raw atmosphere in the Scottish hills and a lot of good skiing to be had. They can have fantastic powder and great off-piste. They can also have sunny days! Well recommended!

  • January 29, 2010
    Owen from United Kingdom

    Only been snowboarding twice, well 3 if you include today. Although when we got up to Glenshee the police sent everyone home - 30mph winds and very poor visability: big blizzard. The first time I went it was great. Staff really helpful. I read in another review something about a long queue for hiring equipment. Everytime I've been to Glenshee I've not waited more than 10mins which I think is reasonable. I personally think there is a good variety of runs and although I've only been to Glenshee and nowhere else I would reccomend it. Best day out I've had in ages.

  • January 24, 2010
    eddi the eagle from United Kingdom

    Glenshee is no doubt the best skiing facility in the UK, boasting 38 different runs (snow permitting) whether you be a beginner or advanced skier, Glenshee will give you a good run for your money. Some other people who have commented on Glenshee make me wonder whether or not they have actually been as the skiing is fantastic!

  • January 02, 2010
    E Robertson from United Kingdom

    Monday 28 December 2009. Had a super half day out at Glenshee. Great weather and not a breath of wind. First time out in about five years and planning to head up there again this week. Lovely staff and great snow condtions, but was seriously disappointed at the queues for ski hire. I know they're still recovering a bit financially and the Scottish season can be unpredictable, but surely a bit of investment in the hire facilities would pay for itself within a couple of years? No qualms about the equipment itself, but couldn't they improve the queuing system and the space available in the hire centre? On the upside, after waiting forty five minutes for hire for my partner I was relieved to find we were able to buy a lift pass at the same place as hiring skis. Thank God! Just one more minor grumble- could the management of lift queues be better when it's busy? The ones on Monday saw queues forming a long way up the centre of runs causing people joining to have to schlep halfway up the run to join the queue while running the risk of being mown down by some out of control novice. Problem could be easily solved by taping off an area at the bottom/side ot the run. Mustn't grumble too much though as these were just minor annoyances in an otherwise fantastic day. My advice - bring your own kit and get there early but do get there and support this jewel in the crown of Scottish skiing!

  • March 09, 2009
    Pedro from United Kingdom

    I have to say Glenshee is by far the best of all the ski resorts in Scotland. It offers a varied selection of runs for all, and the views on a clear day are breath taking. The staff always do a tremendous job to ensure the pistes are in the best condition possible and are always friendly.
    In these times when snow conditions are somewhat unpredictable I find it encouraging to read so many positive reports and it shows that skiing in Scotland can be as good as ever. However, I am amazed to read some of the negative comments that serve no advantage to anyone.
    Glenshee has invested heavily over the last few seasons in quality equipment, so to call it 'vintage crap' is wrong. Also the DIN setting on the bindings only goes up to 9.
    There may be queues but there is little to be done on a busy day when the influx of people is so vast. Hiring from a village shop - you may get your skis quicker but you also run the risk if anything happens to them, where will you turn to then? Glenshee Ski Hire.

    Here's to many more great seasons at Glenshee.

  • March 09, 2009
    to the guy from the afgan from United Kingdom

    The din settings on the the skis just go to 9 not 10. I would say that the ski hire team are the A Team.

  • February 18, 2009
    Jenny from United Kingdom

    Skied on Saturday 14th Feb for the second time this season. Great skiing but there are too many button lifts and the chairlifts are also vicious on the backs of your legs. Fantastic snow and runs - great food in the cafes. Well done Scotland.

  • February 18, 2009
    Johnnie Nae Guid from United Kingdom

    Glenshee is the best of the British terrains.
    Had a tremendous time up there last week. Bluebird, powder and very few queues.
    Staff were super friendly too.
    Definitely be back to Glenshee soon.
    Cheers all.

  • February 13, 2009
    Glenn from United Kingdom

    Beware of the queues for ski and board hire at Glenshee. We arrived at 10:30 and by 11:45 we gave up having only moved less than half way down the queue.
    In the villages, before the actual slopes, you can hire equipment cheaper and without the queues.

  • February 06, 2009
    Woodwood from Afghanistan

    Just came back from Glenshee & had a delightful 4 days on slopes which are filling up fast.
    One piece of advice though, the only ski rental shop there is staffed by the 'anthill mob' and provided me (a fair and experienced skier) with a pair of skis on which I, unfortunately, did not thoroughly check the DIN settings, following an easy fall and my first ever twisted knee after the binding did not release.
    After checking the settings, one was at 6.5 left heel and 10.0 right toe.
    Bunch of arrogant amateurs. Watch out so they do not overcharge you or rent you some vintage crap.
    Do they have to pass some FIS ex to rent out skis?
    Back to my icepack :(

    Woodwood

  • February 02, 2009
    alex v from United Kingdom

    Just had a fantastic time at Glenshee. I always wanted to go there because of the amount of area on offer and I can happily say I will be back later in the season. Loved the open area behind Coirre Finn which has an open landscape to go where you want. Just one thing I don't like about Glenshee is that there's too many button lifts; they could be replaced by T bars.
    Cheers
    Alex