Login / Sign Up


Snow-Forecast logoSnow mountain photo

Android app on Google Play Snow Report Snow Forecast App

Ski Andorra

Grandvalira-Soldeu Resort Reviews

Visitor reviews for Grandvalira-Soldeu Ski Resort



  • January 27, 2014
    lynn from Ireland

    Absolutely phenomenol instruction; the instructors, in the ski and snowboard schools, are a cut above the rest. Lesley is just amazing. What she did for my confidence in the space of a week I will never, ever forget! Never thought I'd enjoy red or black slopes! The apres-ski is also great: La Caneta and Dat Alberts for food and The Harp for drinks!

  • Grandvalira-Soldeu Ratings

    Based on 30 votes. Vote

    Access: 3.0

    (1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Grandvalira-Soldeu.

    Public Transport: 3.5

    (1) There are no buses or taxis to Grandvalira-Soldeu, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

    Scenery: 4.0

    (1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

    Accommodation: 4.4

    (1) No places to stay in/near Grandvalira-Soldeu, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

    Cheap Rooms: 3.8

    (1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

    Luxury Hotels: 4.2

    (1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Grandvalira-Soldeu.

    Ski in/Ski out: 4.2

    (1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

    Childcare: 3.7

    (1) There are no child care facilities at Grandvalira-Soldeu, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

    Snowsure: 4.0

    (1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Grandvalira-Soldeu is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

    Snowmaking: 4.3

    (1) Grandvalira-Soldeu relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

    Snow Grooming: 4.6

    (1) There are no snow groomers at Grandvalira-Soldeu, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Grandvalira-Soldeu are groomed daily.

    Shelter: 4.0

    (1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Grandvalira-Soldeu is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

    Nearby options: 3.4

    (1) If snow conditions are poor at Grandvalira-Soldeu, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

    Regional rating: 4.2

    (1) Grandvalira-Soldeu usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

    Lift Staff: 4.1

    (1) The staff at Grandvalira-Soldeu are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Grandvalira-Soldeu are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

    Crowds/Queues: 3.8

    (1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

    Ski Schools: 4.7

    (1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

    Hire and Repairs: 4.7

    (1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

    Variety of pistes: 4.3

    (1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Grandvalira-Soldeu has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

    Beginners: 4.6

    (1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

    Intermediates: 4.7

    (1) No intermediate terrain at Grandvalira-Soldeu, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

    Advanced: 4.1

    (1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

    Snow Park: 4.3

    (1) Not even a kicker at Grandvalira-Soldeu, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

    Off-piste: 3.7

    (1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

    Cross-country: 3.3

    (1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Grandvalira-Soldeu, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

    Luge/Toboggan: 2.1

    (1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Grandvalira-Soldeu has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

    Mountain Dining: 3.7

    (1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

    Eating: 3.8

    (1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

    Apres-Ski: 4.2

    (1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

    Other Sports: 3.3

    (1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

    Entertainment: 3.3

    (1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

    Winter Walks: 3.3

    (1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

    Ski Pass Value: 3.9

    (1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

    Value (National): 4.0

    (1) Overall, Grandvalira-Soldeu is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

    Value (Global): 4.1

    (1) Overall, Grandvalira-Soldeu is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

    Based on 30 votes. Vote

  • February 05, 2013
    Paul from Andorra

    The Grandvalira skiable area is huge, plenty for everyone from beginners to advanced, ski school is international and based on the Canadian style of teaching, additional clinics also available for carving, off-piste skiing etc.

    The lift pass, for the amount of skiing available, is great value.

    Wide range of accommodation available in Soldeu, which is where we were. The Roc Sant Miguel is a great little hotel just at the bottom of Soldeu; very reasonable, or for big budgets, try the Hermitage Hotel & Spa.

    Apres-ski is great, the Harp has live music daily, the Aspen and Fat Alberts are two others well worth a try.

    Pick up a local guide for a couple of days whilst you are here, track down Green Haired Pete or Paul Safari in Soldeu and get them to take you around the mountain for a day or two.

    Overall, Grandvalira Soldeu is one of the best resorts in Europe!

  • April 02, 2012
    Chris Alcock from France

    I live 1.5 hrs from Andorra and Grandvalira is the best resort in the Pyrenees..
    This season I also went to Superbagneres Luchon, nice, but full of kids end Feb/Mar, queues everywhere, not like Soldeu/Pas/Tarter/Canillo.
    The ski pass is expensive but the slopes are very well maintained. I have taken Australians and South Americans and they love it too.
    Only problem with accomodation is that the ski companies block-book nearly all of it, leaving little choice to those who wish to arrange their own.
    Apres-ski is good and overall, I would say Grandvalira is very good value for those who are not expert skiers.

  • March 27, 2012
    Charles Saunders from United Kingdom

    My girlfriend and I were in Soldeu last week, despite it snowing from Wednesday night to Friday morning. When 50 cms of snow fell, we only lost a few hours on the slopes, when we left on the 25/03 all runs were open, the sun was shining and there was loads of good snow. This was my first visit to Grandvalira, I will be back. The area is great for intermediate skiers with "motorway" runs and more challenging runs everywhere. You can ski down to Soldeu via 2 blue runs or two black runs....or a combination of both. The scenery is not as dramatic as some parts of the Alps but beautiful in a less intimidating way, there are plenty of varied runs through the tree line which were particularly good when it got hot in the afternoon, Andorra is not the "moonscape" most photos portray. Queues at lifts were non existent. The local people are genuinely welcoming, ski school is best I have experienced and well organised - thanks Alan if you are reading this. We stayed at Piolets Hotel which has a ski hire shop adjacent and the main gondola 2 mins walk away, the bedrooms (ours overlooked the mountain and had a balcony) were large and nicely decorated but some might say ever so slightly past their best. Food was good with varied buffet, always choice of 2 red meats, fish/seafood and chicken, good salads, loads of puddings, fruit, cheeses etc. Bar nice/friendly/comfortable but stay off the single malts as they are expensive. My only criticism of the hotel was that the rooms did not have tea/coffee/kettle but that seems to be common. If this resort is on your shortlist don't hesitate, you will not be disappointed. C.S

  • March 12, 2011
    Paul from Spain

    The skiing across the whole of the Grandvalira zone has been great all season, the piste bashers do a fantastic job keeping the pistes open even when Europe has been suffering a lack of snow.

    If you are looking for an area that isn't expensive with a huge skiable area both on and off-piste, then look no further.

  • February 17, 2011
    Pippa from United Kingdom

    Had a great week in Soldeu (Grandvalira-Soldeu) with a group of ten. Stayed at the Hort de Popaire which was lovely and friendly. The restaurant underneath (The Merlot) was top quality and great value for money.
    Loved the ski area, which is vast and ski school was very friendly. I can't thank my instructor, John H, enough. Best tuition I've ever had. I started the week as a nervous skier, but by the end he had me "balancing" properly on my skis and I could get around with real confidence - what an eye-opener!
    I'll be requesting lessons with him again next year - try to keep me away!

  • April 07, 2009
    Dave from Andorra

    Holiday at Grandvalira-Soldeu during March 2009.
    Conditions were great.
    Drink horrendously expensive at Avalanche and Fat Alberts. A bottle of Heineken costs 5 Euros.
    Food and hotels becoming unaffordable.
    Day lift pass costs 44 Euros and is the most expensive in Europe.
    Canada here we come.
    Dave

  • February 16, 2009
    Emma from East Kilbride from United Kingdom

    Having skied for a number of years and in different resorts I like to recommend and complement the ski school in Soldeu (Grandvalira-Soldeu) and specially my instructor. His patience and enthusiasm has changed my skiing beyond recognition. If you looking for a high quality lesson I highly recommend you book a private lesson with Stuart Fleming.
    Soldeu (Grandvalira-Soldeu) is a very nice resort. Really enjoyed the Wellness Spa; worth a visit.
    About the bars, plenty to choose from and all have live music at the evenings too.
    Definitely going back to Soldeu (Grandvalira-Soldeu) next year.

  • February 02, 2009
    Rob from Southampton from United Kingdom

    Just got back from an amazing week in Soldeu (Grandvalira-Soldeu) staying at Hotel Piolets.

    It was our 4th time skiing and we couldn't believe how well the pistes were kept (with our piste view you could see the pisteurs working until 4am prepping the slopes for the following day). The amount of runs to choose from was incredible.

    Apres-ski isn't too badly priced at Grandvalira-Soldeu (even with the bad euro/sterling rate, if you follow the happy hour trail). Message to the bar owners there: the first bar that cancels happy hour and just brings the price per pint down will be packed full all night.

    If you're not going to Grandvalira-Soldeu for lessons get yourself to the Ice Berg bar on the first night and speak with the bars free ski guide, Green Haired Pete. Absolutely top bloke who will show you the best runs and get you skiing harder than you ever have before.

    We didn't hear a bad word about any of the hotels in the village. The Brussles hotel/restaurant also does an awesome pizza. Take your own tea bags if you want a real English cuppa.

    Definitely going back in 2010.

  • January 25, 2009
    David from United Kingdom

    Have just returned from our 4th consecutive trip to Soldeu (Grandvalira-Soldeu); what a week.
    The snow was fantastic, the pistes were all very well maintained and with the snow we had on Monday night we had some fun playing in the powder off-piste.
    Yet again I took lessons with the snow board school in Soldeu (Grandvalira-Soldeu) and had a great time riding with some very good riders. I would highly recommend it to anyone of any standard. The instructors are all very competent and make you enjoy yourself while you are there.
    My girlfriend also did ski school for the week and had a brilliant time too. She found that the instructors try to build each individuals confidence up while trying to cater for all members of the class by keeping it interesting for them.
    We did get caught in the storm that swept across France and Spain so the resort did get closed on the Saturday which sucked. We were then diverted to Barcelona airport rather than Toulouse airport. This transfer is a bit of a drag compared to that of Toulouse.
    We both still absolutely love the place (Grandvalira-Soldeu) and, all being well, will return next year.

  • January 05, 2009
    andrew from United Kingdom

    Went to Soldeu last March
    When I set off from the house the snow was already falling; turned out 8cm had fallen at Manchester airport; delays.
    Anyway finally got to Toulouse and a 3 hour transfer.
    30 cm was set to fall on our first day and it did
    Thanks snow-forecast.com
    Skiing on our first day was immense fresh powder on piste and off as the piste basher had no chance to get out.
    Anyway this snow kept on falling and was persistent all week.
    Food in the town was good but the bus network was poor.
    I stayed in the hotel Austria which had nice food and was nice and clean.
    I shall be back to Soldeu for sure.

  • February 25, 2008
    Mike from United Kingdom

    Just returned from a weeks Snowboarding in Soldeu, 17th-24th Feb 2008. What can I say. Lovely place if you like summer holidays!!!! Regularly over 13 degrees, reached over 16 on the 15th. NO snow seen, conditions were the worst I've experienced in 7 years of boarding with dangerous frozen ice on packed blue runs followed by slushy and worn red runs. Can't see how the snow's going to last the season. The conditions meant that thawing snow was freezing up over night causing very nasty parts to many of the blue runs, so much so that the coach home was packed with injuries from sprains to broken bones.
    Can't really fault the resort as it's a nice place, especially if you're staying in the Sport Village. It's just that the temp was too damn hot!!!

  • January 29, 2008
    Gill Perrin from United Kingdom

    29/01/08 Just returned from a weeks skiing in Soldeu. Very lucky. An excellent week and plenty of sunshine, however, really lacking fresh snow and everyone praying to the snow God's for a new fall.
    Most runs open but getting compact and tricky. El Tarter was very popular and lots of people heading over most days.

  • February 21, 2007
    janet singleton from United Kingdom

    We had a fantastic time in Soldeu as first time skiers. The resort is beautiful,friendly and clean. We cannot praise the ski instructors enough for their tuition, patience and care of our young children. More snow is needed to complete Andorra as an excellent ski resort. However, there was plenty of snow for us as we are not yet off-piste skiers!. Great lift system and ski and boot hire people very helpful. We had a lovely time. Andorra is not a second class resort but a great place to learn to ski and take the children.

  • January 29, 2007
    David Elvin from United Kingdom

    I've just come back from my second visit to Soldeu. We were very fortunate with the weather, we had snow fall on Monday night and then a small amount on Thursday. The slopes were still very icy in places but it did help no-end. A lot of the runs still have grass coming through the snow, and some still suffer with a lot of rocks on them. The resort however is now opening up more with the aid of the snow cannons. In all we had a brilliant time and will be going back next year.

  • January 22, 2007
    samski from United Kingdom

    I agree with Craigs comment. The skiing was a bit sketchy when I went over Christmas but don't let this put you off. This ski area on the whole is awesome and I particularly like the El Tarter region. You've just got to catch one of the monthly dumps of snow that have been badly missed this season. P.S: Hoel Euro Esqui is very comfortable with a great private bus service.

  • January 07, 2007
    craig pygall from United Kingdom

    Just returned from our third visit to Andorra and all areas desperately need snow. Runs are icy with patches of grass and rocks coming through - inspired myself and my husband to wear crash hats! Better conditions at Soldeu than Pas de la Casa but may not hold out much longer. The Grand Valira team are working hard to keep the resort open....Lets hope it snows soon!
    Crazy frog party x 4

  • December 21, 2006
    Simon from United Kingdom

    Having been to Soldeu for four years running and approaching my fifth with an ever increasing party size (30 plus),it's a great experience for the beginner, intermediate and advanced skier and boarder. A family and frendly resort for all those wanting to experience skiing / boarding for the first time or the addictive 2nd, 3rd , 4th year etc. Once you have been, you will want to go again!!! You won't get bored you will get addicted!!
    Worst thing about holiday is the transfer 3 1/2 hours, having said that it's worth it. Plenty of atmosphere if you want it or just a chill in the hotel bar. We stopped in the Nordic Hotel in El Tarter and took the short ride on the free bus to Soldeu centre where there is numerous bars with happy hours!! Skiing was from our doorstep this is a great feature of the hotel as skis / boards only had to be carried a matter of yards. Look forward more and more each year.

  • November 20, 2006
    Ryan and Vicky from United Kingdom

    Me and my partner went to Soldeu in January this year (06), and I can honestly say that this is a truly fantastic resort. We stayed in the Sport Village, and out of all of the hotels I have stayed in all over the world this is certainly as good as the best. The food in the SV is plenty and of a very good standard, the rooms are maintained to an extremely high quality and the general feel of the hotel is very very good. If you are heading to any one of the Sport Hotels, do not and I say again NOT miss the Sport Spa complex as this is an absolute must. Waterfalls, all kind of rooms, everything that you could want. The resort itself is very good, with a great, reliable lift system, a good variety of slopes and a fantastic boarding school. The bars are very good, especially Fat Alberts. Have yourself a brilliant time in a truely fantastic place.

  • April 05, 2006
    annette from United Kingdom

    Just returned from another fabulous week in Soldeu.(Sport Hotel) Weather and snow as usual were fantastic. Each year we expect to have less snow than the year before but we get pleasantly surprised every time. Weve been going for ten years and yes the resort is growing but so are the facilities. Ive skied France Austria Italy Switzerland but give me Andorra every time. Great value for money and very friendly. Roll on next year

  • February 23, 2006
    DAVID CRAYFORD from United Kingdom

    I have just returned from Andorra and I can say I enjoyed every minute of it. The hotel I stayed in was superb and I will be booking up to go next year. The snow conditions were excellent and the piste was kept in good condition. There is only one bad thing to say about the whole area and that is that I will have to wait a whole year before I go back.

  • January 30, 2006
    phil from United Kingdom

    The skiing is well described elsewhere, although there are shallow areas where poling or "skating" are required. Tiring for skiers, a total pain for boarders.
    However, I am surprised that everyone rates eating out as "cheap" in Andorra and I wonder if these comments are out of date. It's about the same as the UK, which isn't cheap in my view, although it may be compared to other European ski resorts. On mountain is more expensive and a light cooked lunch can cost as much as an evening meal.
    Also, I think the increased publicity and constant building works are making the resort busier. Last year the same week was queue free - this year there were times with longish queues. I think the last five years in Andorra will have been the glory days and that the next five will see it ape the Alps, becoming busy and expensive. Shame because it really is an intermediate paradise otherwise.
    I can only compare the ski school with Mammoth USA, but of 3 instructors only 1 we felt was very good, the other 2 being just OK.

  • November 17, 2005
    Jerry Smithston from United Kingdom

    A fantastic holiday, and a wonderfull ski resort! We stayed in a magnificent apartment by the Piolets Park Spa Hotel, the apartment i think was called El Clos, we found it on the holiday-rentals.com website. Very easy and simple! Thoroughly recommended, looking forward for the next visit! the resort was out of this world, beats all resorts in France, having been an advandced skier, i have tried them all. 100% reccomended !!!!!

  • November 28, 2004
    Ken Kingston from Ireland

    I have skied in Soldeu on 3 occasions and each visit is better than the last. The resort is consistantly being improved and the ski school is undoubted the best I have ever come across. If you want to learn to ski or improve your technique there really is no where better.
    Certainly the amount of skiing available to advance skiers is more limited that some of the French and Swiss resorts but don't be fooled into thinking that it is all nursery slopes and green runs, anyone who had skied the Cabriolet run will know what I'm talking about!
    The resort is great fun with excellant apres ski (try Fat Alberts) and very reasonable restaurants.
    My only main gripe with Soldeu is the transfer from either Toulouse or Barcelona, 3.5 hrs is a bit of a pain but then one can't have everything.
    I'm heading back and will be there from Jan 9th for a week and I can't wait.
    See you on the slopes (or Fat Alberts!)
    Regards Ken.

  • February 18, 2004
    annette from United Kingdom

    having first visited soldeu el tarter last year we have since skied in Colorado and Austria. The ski bug has got our family and we have just booked a great cheap deal in March staying at the Sporthotel in soldeu. Although we know that this is not the liveliest of the resorts it has everything we need. Good cheap restaurants and a few late night bars for our guys who are all in their 20s. Pas de la Casa is of course the best area for apres ski and indeed more challenging skiing so both resorts being accessible on the same pass is a great bonus that we are looking forward to. For anyone considering Andorra its great for confidence boosting and fun for off piste. The lifts are very easy to use and the locals friendly. Go....give it a try...for a cheap ski deal it is ideal also the best place to buy designer goods,ski wear etc at greatly reduced prices compared to the u.k.

  • November 05, 2003
    Steve Moore from United Kingdom

    Soldeu was the location for our first ever Ski Holiday. We stayed at the brand new EuroSki hotel which has very nice rooms and good facilities including a pool and Jacuzzi etc.
    Soldeu is an excellent choice for beginners as the gentle green runs are perfect for finding your feet before moving on to the steeper blues and reds.The ski school has hundreds of english speaking instructors and is very cheap indeed.
    The lifts system was very extensive and efficient and the weather was wonderful with lovely sunshine and picture postcard snow. Its not the liveliest of places and is more suited to families and couples.
    Eating out is rediculously cheap and enjoyable.

    Overall Soldeu is a very enjoyable ski resort, The only limitation may be the lack of challenge for very advanced Skiers.

    Steve