Login / Sign Up


Snow-Forecast logoSnow mountain photo


Ski Bulgaria

Borovets Resort Reviews

Visitor reviews for Borovets Ski Resort



  • April 03, 2014
    Tony Faulkner from United Kingdom

    Just been to Borevet on the 27/3/2014. I did read bad reviews on this resort and was worried a bit. The skiing was excellent; private lessons from Gorge for my 8 year old niece next to the titanic bar were excellent! Stayed at the Rila hotel that was just fine. Food wasn't brilliant but what do you expect from a buffet from a hotel. Pool facilities were excellent. I've skied the Rocky Mountains and the Alps and would definitely go back there. Value for money was second to none. Can't wait to go back.
    Tony from Surrey.

  • Borovets Ratings

    Based on 67 votes. Vote

    Access: 4.1

    (1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Borovets.

    Public Transport: 3.6

    (1) There are no buses or taxis to Borovets, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

    Scenery: 4.1

    (1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

    Accommodation: 4.3

    (1) No places to stay in/near Borovets, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

    Cheap Rooms: 3.9

    (1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

    Luxury Hotels: 3.8

    (1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Borovets.

    Ski in/Ski out: 4.3

    (1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

    Childcare: 3.6

    (1) There are no child care facilities at Borovets, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

    Snowsure: 3.6

    (1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Borovets is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

    Snowmaking: 3.5

    (1) Borovets relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

    Snow Grooming: 4.0

    (1) There are no snow groomers at Borovets, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Borovets are groomed daily.

    Shelter: 3.8

    (1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Borovets is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

    Nearby options: 2.8

    (1) If snow conditions are poor at Borovets, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

    Regional rating: 4.0

    (1) Borovets usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

    Lift Staff: 3.7

    (1) The staff at Borovets are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Borovets are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

    Crowds/Queues: 3.5

    (1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

    Ski Schools: 4.3

    (1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

    Hire and Repairs: 4.2

    (1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

    Variety of pistes: 4.0

    (1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Borovets has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

    Beginners: 4.1

    (1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

    Intermediates: 4.2

    (1) No intermediate terrain at Borovets, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

    Advanced: 3.8

    (1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

    Snow Park: 3.1

    (1) Not even a kicker at Borovets, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

    Off-piste: 3.1

    (1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

    Cross-country: 3.4

    (1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Borovets, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

    Luge/Toboggan: 2.3

    (1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Borovets has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

    Mountain Dining: 3.6

    (1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

    Eating: 4.2

    (1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

    Apres-Ski: 4.2

    (1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

    Other Sports: 3.7

    (1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

    Entertainment: 3.4

    (1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

    Winter Walks: 3.5

    (1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

    Ski Pass Value: 3.7

    (1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

    Value (National): 4.0

    (1) Overall, Borovets is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

    Value (Global): 4.2

    (1) Overall, Borovets is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

    Based on 67 votes. Vote

  • March 10, 2014
    Tony Jones from Bulgaria

    It has been snowing here for the last 6 days, to make the conditions top class. The temp is just on -1 during the day, at the bottom station and around -5 at the very top. I have been a skier for 30 odd years and rate the conditions as excellent! Powder everywhere. Wish I could stay longer. Had a great few meals in Bobby's bar, and can highly recommend good food and staff, especially if you prefer English food.

  • February 10, 2014
    Stuart from United Kingdom

    Been for the last 3 years. Very good resort for beginners and intermediates. Lift system has now been updated to use contactless cards. However, during 2014 the snowfall has been so bad that most of the slopes are closed :( Let's hope it's a one off as it has spoiled a wonderful resort. Check out the webcams to see the snow coverage as piste / lift status on some websites seem to be misleading! Last year spent time at the top of the mountain, lots of varied runs and a nice long blue run (around 12km) back to the resort. Found the food was fine but I'm not really a fussy eater so rarely have problems! Served luke warm though but that's how Bulgarians like their food! Again, I must stress that the snowfall has been terrible this year. Maybe a late deal in March would be better.

  • February 06, 2014
    Janie from United Kingdom

    What a fabulous resort for families. Slopes cater for all levels, with a 7km green run that allows even the beginners to feel like they're skiing rather than spending all day going up and down button lifts. Queues were very small (bliss compared to France or Austria) so you don't waste most of your time standing around. Most slopes converge back to a similar point, ideal for mixed ability groups too.

    We used ski schools and found these excellent; tuition was better than I experienced in Val Thorens.

    A mix of restaurants and bars in Borovets itself to ensure there's plenty to do after the slopes. Not the biggest resort but more than enough to fill a week. Our hotel was excellent, we stayed just outside of town and the price of our whole trip was almost half what we'd pay in some of the Alpine resorts.

    Try it and see. We're heading back, so I guess that's as good a recommendation as any :-)

  • February 02, 2014
    alex from Bulgaria

    First two days here in Borovets. Slopes perfect for beginners and intermediate skiers. l'm not a professional skier so I can't comment on more difficult runs but I'm sure everybody can find quality skiing. Our hotel is more than lovely; food in lots of varieties and tasty. For the money we payed it's more than I expected. Lots of people moaning for no reason and that's really annoying as all of those comments made me doubt whether we should go or not. Don't pay any attention to all the nonsense reviews. Come to Borovets.

  • February 01, 2014
    Colin from United Kingdom

    Just returned from Borovets from 4 days; I would not call it skiing.
    Very simple resort with little investment (lift facilities are very limited, set up is bland and there are ugly little shacks everywhere.The locals are so desperate that they all have installed a person, on the front of their establishments, who calls everybody and promises the best value, the cheapest drinks and food. Got fed up of them the first day.
    As the snow, at the moment, is very limited indeed, the only thing left is to drink yourself too silly.
    Plenty of that with cheapo alcohol everywhere.
    Funny, looking at previous feedback where person says skiing was limited but we drank a lot so we enjoyed it. Excuse me, if I want to go on a binge drinking holiday I choose Benidorm etc and will expect the above. If I want skiing, I expect skiing.
    True, the snow cover, in Bulgaria this season, is shockingly terrible so if you can cancel do it now unless you want to end up alcohol infused for the whole holiday.
    Only a few runs open and the forecast is not good.
    Will not go again. The money is irrelevant if you can't ski or there are only a few runs open. Pull a few more bobs and go where the snow is good, the runs are opened and there is less of a problem. Agreed with previous entry; you have been warned!

  • January 29, 2014
    Amanda from United Kingdom

    Just finished packing ready for our 4th trip to Borovets. Had a week over New Year 2013/14 and the snow was . . well, there was a very apparent lack of the white fluffy stuff :-( but hey, that didn't stop us from having a fantastic time! Albeit we drank more than are normal skiing holidays but hey ho tis the season (or was then anyway). We have stayed at Samokov, Flora apartments, Moura Hotel and found them all to be spacious, clean and cheep (which kinda helps with a family of 5). They all have their + and - sides. Moura, I found the beds most comfortable but not so friendly there. Food was poor, no choice. Samokov food selection was great (albeit not as hot as I would have liked it). Pool was fab but cold. Great steam sauna area but paid extra for it. Moura & Samokov was a bit of a trek to the main area (in front of the Rila Hotel). But gondola opposite the Samokov (which I would recommend even if you don't ski go up because it is fantastic up the top). Flora, I think, is my favourite place as rooms were very large, food was good, staff friendly and the year we were there we could ski in -ski out. We always have a great laugh with the locals. And compared to what my sisters pay (for Austria & France), we pay half what they pay and we always go Xmas, New Year or school holidays, so can't complain about that. There is plenty of choice of bars and restaurants and like anywhere you only get back what you put in. BJ's is great fun and the Mexican, on the main walk way to the Rila, has fantastic food. All in all, for what you pay it's still great value for the money. And I can't wait to get back there in 6 days and counting! The hotels are basic really and I think if you are prepared for that you will love it. . .let it snow! I have 2 x 18 year olds and a 10 year old and fun always had by all.

  • January 03, 2014
    George from United Kingdom

    Had 4 days over Xmas week. The snow this start of season is soooo bad that in the resort there was hardly anything to ski. Only some runs with artificial snow with a bus ride but you get this when the snow conditions are really bad. All in all, pure waste of time. Other people, though, seem to have an alcoholic infused holiday and the lack of white stuff seemed not to be bothering them. Will never book unless I see very good snow on the ground (maybe last minute deal os something).
    Temperatures are well into double digits and we all fell a bit let down. Place looks grim when there is no snow. Poor chaps coming for the NY week as the snow forecast was still for no snow for at least week. Night skiing at least made a little ground in Borovets favour.
    And one other thing: don't expect cheap prices for lift passes or eating out because it is not a bargain holiday destination at all. Annoying bar callers everywhere desperate to earn some commission and pestering you at least 10 times a day. You have been warned!

  • November 17, 2013
    Alan flower from Liverpool UK from United Kingdom

    Stayed at the Rila, end of Feb 2013. Great location and facilities but food not the best. Ate out a couple of times at George's bar (1 minute walk from Rila); superb quality food. First time at Borovets; been to Pamporovo couple of times and the skiing at Borovets beats Pamporovo hands down. Ski school instructor, George, was fantastic. He took us off-piste a couple of times; had a great time. Have booked to go back again Feb 14 but trying the Samakov to see how that one compares to the Rila as only little walk up the road to the ski school meeting point outside the Rila. Would recommend the night skiing, had a fab night. Can't wait to get back there in Feb. See you all on the slo.

  • March 28, 2013
    Peter Snook from United Kingdom

    Returned from Borovets on 23/3/2013. The snow was a bit hit and miss; the lower Rila area was not great. However, at the top of the gondola the snow was good, albeit the learner slopes had become hard ice. Very poor conditions for learners. We played off-piste at the left of the four man chair lift and had a good time with lots of new snow on the Saturday morning. Price for food and drink still the cheapest around! I have been 3 times now and always come away having had a good time. Oh and £105 for 6 day ski pass after 15/3 is a winner at the gondola.

  • March 09, 2013
    stephen evans from United Kingdom

    Just got back from Borovets on March 3 2013. I first went to Borovets in 1982 when there was only 4 hotels and fell in love with the resort, it was good in them days, but now it's great. I go twice a year, 1 week in Feb and 1 week in March. I stay in hotel Breza, I eat out at Hunters bar; great food. You will meet Christo, I've known him for 15 years, his wife Serma plus Svilen and Megi, they are lovely people. A good night out. Also go to the White Magic bar, its run by Christo Anglov ex world cup skier and his family. There are lots of bars in the resort but I like them; two of the best. I'll be back next Feb for 2 weeks then in March for 1 week. Roll on 2014.

  • March 01, 2013
    PETE TAVENER from United Kingdom

    Just come back from a great week's skiing in Borovets. Wonderful restaurants, friendly people and fantastic value.

  • February 24, 2013
    Kenny from United Kingdom

    I am on my last day of our third ski trip to Borovets using the resort wide wifi to post this. I have thirty years of skiing experience in the Alps, Canada and Norway and we really like visiting Borovets due to the excellent value for money a trip here offers. We usually go for half-term with our two kids (6 & 9) and can eat out every night, get ski hire and lessons for the kids and get hot chocolate with brandy on the slopes for a fraction of the cost in any resort in the Alps. The snow at this time of year is invariably good. The locals are very friendly and there are lots of other activities in the resort if you want a day off skiing. The ski area is big enough to keep any beginners/ intermediates more than happy. There is a terrain park for boarders and for advanced skiers. Why not take a guided trip into the backcountry? I recommend Hunters for ski hire and lessons and there are lots of private rentals in the Flora complex, 75m from the nearest lift.

  • February 22, 2013
    R Taylor from United Kingdom

    Stayed at the Flora apartments for ten days from 23rd Jan to 1st Feb. Although the snow was thin on the ground on 23rd two days later we had a massive snowfall which gave the greatest conditions I have seen in 12 seasons of skiing in various resorts. We could ski to our door and people were even skiing down the side streets of the resort !.
    The instruction was superb, Bulgarian people are friendly and welcoming and we shall definitely be going back again next year. The runs are all very enjoyable and being able to ski back to the resort and to the flats was a bonus.

  • February 21, 2013
    Garry Causon from United Kingdom

    We went to Borovets between 9th-16th Feb 2013 and stayed in the Rila. We had a great time; plenty of snow and good skiing.
    The instructor was great and gave some good tips, the resort in general was well looked after with plenty of bars.
    The slopes was groomed each night and with the amount of snow we had no problems at all, hardly any queuing for lifts (except gondala at 9.30 -10.30 am) considering we were there during a half-term school break.
    There are plenty of negative comments given about the resort but we found it very good value for money and there was always something you could find to eat in the hotel or the bars which are very reasonable (try Francos pizza's).
    Well worth a visit especially for the money it costs for ski hire, lessons and lift passes.
    We will be returning here.

  • January 23, 2013
    Gareth Bevan from United Kingdom

    We stopped in Borovets 7th January 2012 in the Lion hotel. Great hotel (very warm), great rooms (we even had a balcony), nice staff. Food typical Bulgarian, warm (rather than hot), filling rather than spectacular. Shuttle bus takes 10 minutes to resort and runs every 20 minutes. Spent most nights in Bobbys bar, Kas and Bobby are great, food fantastic (and hot), very hospitable (we go back there on 2nd February and are stopping in their new place!
    Snow was fantastic, not a lot of queuing needed for the lifts.

  • January 11, 2013
    Steph from United Kingdom

    Been back a week and would go back tomorrow. Borovets is a great place to go. It's our second year at the resort, last year we stayed at the RIla, the room was great but I have to say the food was poor; we are not fussy with food but we struggled to find anything that was edible!. So this year we went with the intention of eating out most nights as there are lots of good cheap places to eat. This year we stayed at the Iglika Palace hotel which is just behind the Rila, the rooms were clean a warm and the food was very good. I would definitely recommend this hotel; the staff are friendly, the bar is 24hr & happy hour seems to last all day!

    The snow this year was not as good as last year. I was a bit worried to start with as some of the runs were not open, but our instructor was fantastic, he catered to all of us in our group with mixed abilities. He was fantastic fun & nothing was too much trouble, he just wanted us to have a fantastic holiday, making the most of the runs that were open.

    We spent a fantastic new year at Bobbies Bar, down by the medical centre, check them out they are a great bunch and the food is great.
    There are lots of good restaurants in resort & yes, there are some not so good but don't moan just don't go back!
    People complain about the guys outside the bars trying to get you in but they are mostly friendly & are only trying to make a living, offering free shots you could practically go from bar to bar without having to buy a drink!
    Give Borovets a go, our family & friends loved it. Can't wait to return next year or even this if I can get a good deal!

  • January 10, 2013
    Jordan from United Kingdom

    Going out to Borovets on the 19th with a group of mates. Went last year and had a great holiday. You can't really knock this ski holiday. I paid 400pp for everything and I know it will be a good holiday. Yes, the food is bad and some of the locals are rude but they don't make your holiday. Can't wait to get out there!!

  • December 31, 2012
    Steven from United Kingdom

    Back from Borovets yesterday with my wife and daughter. Snow was definately better at the beginning of the week; towards the end hardly any runs were open, those that were were icy and showing stones. Wife had private lessons (almost a beginner) at 71 lev for 2 hours and she felt the instructor was good, certainly helped her skiing. I can't really understand why some people give it such bad reviews- it's what you make it. I've never met anyone there (my 4th visit) who I've found especially objectionable, everybodys there to enjoy themselves. I've never stayed in Borovets so I can't comment on the hotels. But there's plenty of places to get decent food cheap. I think a lot of the comparisions here compare food from other resorts to Borovets food but omit to mention the price difference. I've always found the food acceptable for the cost. And even in top Bulgarian restaurants their food isn't served hot, usually just warm. It's a Bulgarian peculiarity, live with it - it won't kill you.

  • December 30, 2012
    dean morgan from United Kingdom

    I've been to Borovets 4 times and only had poor snow once. Went in Jan 2012 and it was -22 on the top but great, not busy no queues and the best snow. The chicken soup in the gon litf is the best. Stayed at Rila where the food was good. Going again on the 12 Jan 13. Great value for £580 with lift past in that as well.

  • December 28, 2012
    chris from Bulgaria

    Borovets: stayed in 5 star Festa; never 5 star by English standards, but decent enough (3-4 star). The food is utterly terrible, cold or luke warm at best, with a very limited selection. Didn't find the service terribly good, very quick to take your plates, very slow to offer you drinks etc. Not especially friendly staff either.
    As for the skiing? I went skiing in Les Menuires in France, many years ago, which was utterly fantastic, but Borovets is a complete disappointment I'm afraid. Went over Christmas 2012 and lots of the upper runs were closed due to thawing/high winds, which meant half hour queues on some piddly little green and blue runs, some just a couple of hundred metres long! Very rude Italian children and their gormless tarty mothers on iPhone kept pushing in! Never have booked lessons. My gf and I are of differing abilities, so went off in different groups. My instructor spoke great English, but only catered for an idiot Chinese couple who insisted that they could ski, but who couldn't stop, kept falling over and wasted 2-3 days off everyone else's holiday. Group spent 2 days skiing rubbish, untaxing green runs when weather was decent and runs were open, so that we missed out on some blues and reds which were later closed. When he did allow us to ski harder runs, we went down a very difficult red, which was too hard and shot confidence of most of the group. Instructor completely inflexible with abilities and itinerary; I was parallel skiing, but he was skiing alongside barking out instructions to snowplough! What an idiot! As for my gf, she had an instructor out of the state police, she kept barking out "snowplough, snowplough" all day, without any real tuition to speak of, so that my gf didn't bother after 3 days. Booked lessons also involve 2 hours, lunch and then 2 hours, but you are taken to lunch in wooden shacks up the mountain, where the food is rubbish and expensive. Should be allowed to have lessons and go to lunch where you like. Nightlife here is okay, feels like most of the bars are run by local mafia, but they're friendly enough. Not my scene though. All in all, a terrible skiing experience in a seedy resort, ideal for the 'ere we go' Brits, who like cheap beer and an even cheaper experience. Oh and our so called rep, was conspicuous by her absence. Never again.

  • December 03, 2012
    Rhonda Nathan from United Kingdom

    What can i say? Borovets is a great resort. I have been going now for the last 8 years and love it! Last year was the best snow in 5 of the years we have been going and I'm hoping for the same this year; been December, February and March and never been dissapointed yet. Never eat at Borovets, always have our evening meal in Samokov; it's as cheap as chips. Borovets prices are equivelant to English prices and not over the top. It is great for families wanting a ski holiday without the massive expense such like France, Italy, Andora, Norway as I have also been skiing in these resorts also. My parents have a house there and we get both great winter holidays and summer holidays out of the place. Please don't be put off by the bad reports on this web site, if you want an affordable enjoyable holiday this is the place, it won't break the bank. Three weeks to go 'till we return again and can't wait.

  • October 14, 2012
    daisy from United Kingdom

    We went on mass, there was 9 of us! The runs were excellent, covered in loads of snow and the skiing conditions were fantastic. Everyone there was really freindly and the ski schools were great for all abilities. There were many aprez-ski bars and also a tobbogan slope which we enjoyed using after the lifts had shut and we had finished skiing. I am sure Borovets is not the poshest skiing resort in the world, however, for a family holiday it was perfect. The hotel Lion which we stayed at had wonderful facilities including a swimming pool, sauna and gym; the perfect place to relax after a days skiing. All in all, I would recommed Borovets to anyone thinking to go there as whenever we have been we have always felt very welcome and had a lovely time!

  • March 07, 2012
    Gill from United Kingdom

    Had a fantastic week skiing in Borovets in the English half term holiday (11th to 19th Feb). Having been to many resorts in France & Austria I was a little apprehensive about Bulgaria after reading some reviews. However we were pleasantly surprised. We are a family of 5 with the children's ages of 8,10 & 13 with varying abilities. There was loads of snow & we were all able to ski together as there are harder & easier routes down the mountains from the tops of most lifts. We managed to go up the gondola twice & the route down is beautiful. It was closed a few times in the week due to bad weather but plenty other places to ski when it's closed.
    Stayed in the Hotel Samokov which was great. The food was good & lots to choose from at breakfast & evening meal. Maybe not so hot as we would eat it, something some seem to complain about but it wasn't a problem to us!!!! Lots of ther activities going on in the hotel, kids loved the sports bar with pool, table tennis & bowling & the swimming pool which was a little colder than we are used to in England but wasn't a problem to any of us.
    The people were mostly very friendly & very helpful.
    Nowhere was over crowded & no massive lift queues even though it was half term & we could actually afford to stop at a mountain cafe for a hot chocolate. France/Austrai had become too expensive to do such things.
    A few seedy bars around as we had been warned but easy to ignore if you wish & we stayed in the hotel at night anyway.
    Maybe not the place for those wanting challenging black & red runs but for us a great affordable family skiing holiday & would definitely go again.

  • March 06, 2012
    peps from Greece

    I spent two fantastic weeks in Borovets! I am a beginner and I enjoyed the lessons and the easy pistes. Perfect place to learn how to ski! Everything is very close..the lifts, the hotels, the gondola! Very convenient! From Mon-Fri no long queues in the lifts. The surrounding area is beautiful! Borovets is also good value for money! I will definitely come back next year!
    The only bad story I heard while I was there is that 3 friends had their skis locked on top of their car and were stolen in the afternoon.

  • March 05, 2012
    Hans from Netherlands

    End of the week we are going back to Borovets.
    We can recommend to go there because the people are friendly and the prices are reasonable.
    Don't stay in the large hotels, but look for a good time in the small bars and restaurants.
    A very good place to go is snackbar Joy in front of the gondola. They serve western and traditional food and make delicious pizzas.

  • March 05, 2012
    Derion from Greece

    My fourth and best visit in Borovets for 2012 was on 3 and 4 March 2012. This time I focused on Yastrebets ski center. Indeed this is the best in comparison to Sitnyakovo and Markudjik. It is the smallest one, as you can find there only 3 pistes, namely Yastrebets 1 and 3 and Popangelov (named after a famous Bulgarian skier). But what of pistes!!! All of them are really long for Balkan standards and are truly red and in some parts are even black. For skiers who are not used in such big pistes (like me) it is essential to take some rests. I could not downhill them in once! I skied some part and then took some rest. My legs got a really good exercise! The scenery is fantastic. All 3 pistes are in a pine tree forest. In 3 – 4 March the weather was fantastic: Sunny and plenty of snow of good quality. I was afraid that the snow would be slushy, but this was absolutely not the case. The snow was excellent cold and only in few places there were few icy patches. Stones could not be found anywhere. On Saturday, 3.3, it was windy. That’s why the gondola drove only up to the mid station. On Sunday, 4 March, it was not windy. The visibility in both days was great. There were quite big queues but quite normal and expected for such a great ski weekend! Besides, 3 March is a Bulgarian National Holiday. Some practicalities: how to reach Yastrebets? You need to take the gondola. If the gondola operates normally, head up to the top of the mountain. Then you take the blue Haramia, an easy piste with great view over Samokov. In some point, you can (optionally) leave Haramia and take the piste Fonfon. This piste is characterized as “black”. However, believe me, it is easier than Yastrebets 1&3 and Popangelov and much shorter, which means your legs do not get tired! So, Haramia and Fonfon connect the top of the mountain with Yastrebets pistes. From the mid – station gondola you go to Yastrebets 1. All 3 pistes of Yastrebets finish in Yastrebets express, which is a 4 – persons – chair lift. Be warned that Yastrebets express can get crowded. On Saturday, I paid 25BGN for the lifts’ ticket, because the top of the mountain was closed due to high winds and on Sunday I paid the normal ticket, 45 BGN. Overall, I had a great time visiting Borovets ski area in 2012 and I hope next year will be for Borovets as snowy as 2012. Given good ski conditions, Borovets ski area consisting of Sitnyakovo, Yastrebets and Markudjik is a pretty good, affordable and enjoyable choice for skiers.

  • March 01, 2012
    Dawn from United Kingdom

    Had an absolutely amazing time here in January, so much so we have booked to go back in mid March (cannot wait!) It is basic but the people are friendly the snow was fab and powdery and it's actually quite a pretty place. If you want 5* luxury then go somewhere else and pay over the odds for it. I don't mind, it means more space on the slopes for me :)

    All in all, Borovets is brilliant value for money with reasonably priced lift passes and food and drink. Would recommend it for anyone who wants a good value fun ski/snowboarding holiday without being surrounded by pretentious nonsense.

  • February 19, 2012
    Andrea from United Kingdom

    Just had a fantastic week in Borovets staying at the Samokov Hotel. The snow was really powdery and there was lots of it! As a beginner I have nothing to compare it to but the runs were challenging and when the gondola was working (closed from time to time due to weather conditions) we had more variety. The hotel was full of English families as it was the school half term- great if you want company. The food was good and mostly warm- I had heard some bad reviews about the food but we enjoyed what was on offer. The pool was lovely and not cold like the reviews had said and there was plenty of things for families to do (Pool,table tennis, bowling). Overall it was a great holiday and not too expensive. We'd definitely come again!

  • February 16, 2012
    lou from United Kingdom

    You get what you pay for and skiing in Borovets is a cheap and tacky experience. It's ok for learning but after that, forget it. The worst was the food! Horrible cardboard like and made in dirty little huts. The people were friendly though. The place is full of strip clubs and just horrible. The hotels are basic, if you're a student on a budget. But if you want a bit of comfort and luxury, go elsewhere. Borovets is full of pushy Italians and Greeks at the lifts, who have no concept of queuing or politeness. Never again!