Login / Sign Up


Snow-Forecast logoSnow mountain photo

Android app on Google Play Snow Report Snow Forecast App

Ski France

Alpe d'Huez Resort Reviews

Visitor reviews for Alpe d'Huez Ski Resort



  • November 23, 2014
    Borges from France

    Too good. The best ski resort with so many ski pistes. With so much animation, with so much sun. I've loved it for over 30 years.

  • Alpe d'Huez Ratings

    Based on 45 votes. Vote

    Access: 3.9

    (1) At least one overnight stop, (2) requires a whole day, (3) requires more than half a day – you may have time for a few turns (4) arrive by lunchtime and ski all afternoon, (5) there is a main airport within an hour of Alpe d'Huez.

    Public Transport: 3.8

    (1) There are no buses or taxis to Alpe d'Huez, (3) there are slow or infrequent buses / trains available, (5) getting to the resort is easy with frequent bus / train connections.

    Scenery: 4.0

    (1) An ugly resort in a bland setting, (3) average mountain views and resort, (5) a spectacular setting and a beautiful / historic resort town.

    Accommodation: 4.4

    (1) No places to stay in/near Alpe d'Huez, (3) a few places to stay in the resort, (5) a wide variety of accommodation suitable to suit all budgets.

    Cheap Rooms: 3.4

    (1) No budget accommodation available, (3) just one or two hostels so book ahead, (5) several cheap hostels and pensions available.

    Luxury Hotels: 3.7

    (1) No luxury accommodation available, (3) just one or two luxury hotels so book ahead, (5) several up-market hotels in Alpe d'Huez.

    Ski in/Ski out: 4.5

    (1) The ski area is located far from any accommodation, (3) a free ski bus takes you to the ski area in a short trip, (5) Ski-in ski-out accommodation is available.

    Childcare: 4.1

    (1) There are no child care facilities at Alpe d'Huez, (5) the resort has excellent child-care facilities including at least one reasonably priced creche.

    Snowsure: 4.1

    (1) Occasionally gets enough snow for skiing, (2) is often closed due to a lack of snow, (3) occasionally suffers from a lack of snow, (4) rarely suffers from a lack of snow, (5) Alpe d'Huez is snowsure even in the poorest seasons.

    Snowmaking: 4.0

    (1) Alpe d'Huez relies entirely on natural snow, (3) there are just a few snow cannons, (5) there are snowmaking facilities on all pistes.

    Snow Grooming: 4.1

    (1) There are no snow groomers at Alpe d'Huez, (3) occasionally some pistes are left ungroomed and in a poor state, (5) all the runs at Alpe d'Huez are groomed daily.

    Shelter: 3.2

    (1) there is nowhere to ski when it is windy or visibility is bad and lifts often shut, (3) there are some trees for poor visibility but main lifts sometimes close, (5) Alpe d'Huez is mostly in forest where you can ski in flat-light and windy days, lifts rarely close.

    Nearby options: 3.4

    (1) If snow conditions are poor at Alpe d'Huez, it will be poor everywhere nearby, (3) there are good alternatives within an hours drive, (5) other locations on the same lift pass provide a rich variety of snowsure ski conditions.

    Regional rating: 4.1

    (1) Alpe d'Huez usually has poor snow conditions compared to other resorts in region, (3) has average conditions for the region, (5) usually has the best snow conditions in the region.

    Lift Staff: 4.1

    (1) The staff at Alpe d'Huez are rude or unhelpful, (5) lift staff at Alpe d'Huez are pleasant, cheerful and eager to help.

    Crowds/Queues: 3.6

    (1) the resort is always busy and there are usually long lift queues, (3) it is quiet apart from occasional weekends and school holidays, (5) it is uncrowded and lift queues are very rare.

    Ski Schools: 4.3

    (1) No ski schools available, (2) one or two ski schools but local language only, (3) a few ski schools but book early for multi-lingual instructors, (4) plenty of ski schools and multi-lingual instructors available, (5) excellent ski schools with friendly multi-lingual ski instructors.

    Hire and Repairs: 4.4

    (1) Nothing can be sourced, not even ski-wax or ptex. (3) there are some ski shops but rentals need to be booked in advance, (5) good quality ski equipment can be purchased or hired and overnight repairs are possible.

    Variety of pistes: 4.4

    (1) The ski runs are featureless and unvaried, (3) the ski runs are varied but not extensive enough for a week, (5) Alpe d'Huez has diverse and interesting pistes including forests and high alpine terrain.

    Beginners: 4.5

    (1) Beginners can only watch others ski and snowboard, (3) a few gentle slopes but beginners will get bored in less than a week, (3) Vast areas of gentle terrain.

    Intermediates: 4.5

    (1) No intermediate terrain at Alpe d'Huez, (3) intermediate skiers will get bored after a few days, (5) vast areas of cruising runs.

    Advanced: 4.4

    (1) Nothing for advanced skiers and snowboarders, (3) enough steep terrain for a few days with some good offpiste, (5) Enough steep terrain and offpiste areas to entertain advanced skiers for at least a week.

    Snow Park: 3.6

    (1) Not even a kicker at Alpe d'Huez, (3) average sized park quite well looked after, (5) huge park area and expertly crafted pipes, jumps and boardercross trails.

    Off-piste: 4.0

    (1) No off-piste worth mentioning, (2) off piste is out-of-bounds, (3) some varied offpiste that stays fresh for one or two days, (5) a vast array of off-piste routes that can stay untracked for several days.

    Cross-country: 3.9

    (1) There is nowhere to go for cross-country skiing around Alpe d'Huez, (3) there are some cross country trails available, (5) the area features many spectacular and well maintained cross-country trails.

    Luge/Toboggan: 3.5

    (1) No designated luge or toboggan runs, (3) there are toboggan runs that open quite often, (5) Alpe d'Huez has long and well maintained luge / toboggan facilities suitable for all ages.

    Mountain Dining: 3.9

    (1) Nowhere to buy food by the pistes, (3) some places to eat up on the mountain but they are often busy and expensive, (5) there is a variety of excellent mountain eateries right next to the slopes to suit all budgets.

    Eating: 4.2

    (1) Bring your own food, there isn't even a shop. (5) A wide variety of places to eat and drink in the resort, from fast food to fancy restaurants.

    Apres-Ski: 4.1

    (1) Nothing to do, not even a bar, (3) there are a few bars in the resort but nothing special, (5) clubs and bars stay open until very late and have a friendly atmosphere.

    Other Sports: 4.5

    (1) No sports facilities at all apart from ski lifts, (3) resort has just a small public swimming pool, (5) resort has all kinds of sports facilities, including a full-size swimming pool.

    Entertainment: 3.9

    (1) Besides the snow and walking there is nothing to do here, (3) the non-skier will find things to do for few days but may become bored after a week, (5) the resort area is a fascinating place to visit, regardless of winter sports.

    Winter Walks: 3.9

    (1) Very limited walking and no snowshoe trails, (3) a couple of designated scenic walking/snowshoe trails, (5) extensive and diverse winter walking trails for all abilities.

    Ski Pass Value: 3.7

    (1) A 1 week ski pass is overpriced compared to the number of lifts available, (3) the ski pass is averagely priced and covers a reasonable number of lifts, (5) ski passes are excellent value for money and cover a lot of lifts spanning a big area.

    Value (National): 3.7

    (1) Overall, Alpe d'Huez is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the country and not worth the money, (3) overall represents average value for money, (5) overall offers the best value resort in the country.

    Value (Global): 3.7

    (1) Overall, Alpe d'Huez is one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world, (3) overall it offers pretty average value for money compared to resorts from other countries, (5) internationally the resort offers excellent value for money.

    Based on 45 votes. Vote

  • April 01, 2014
    David from United Kingdom

    This was my first visit to Alpe d'Huez (22/03/14 to 29/03/14). We had a fresh dump of snow over the first couple days which made the conditions perfect. The runs were awesome and so was the apres-ski! I'd definitely go back here. We stayed in the Les Berges apartments, which had its own outdoor heated pool. I would stay here again, great apartment and close to local supermarket. I give Alpe 5 out of 5!

  • March 14, 2014
    stuart from France

    Having a vested interest in Alpe d'Huez, I follow readers views with interest. Comments, made on Jan 7th, must be put in proportion. At the same week when a lot of the off-piste was not available in the doyen of off-piste stations, Chamonix, there was little wonder that she suffered damage to skis. I have two points to make. Firstly the Alps are made of rock, not soil. Secondly, if there is a shortage of snow, why do off-piste fanatics think it is their right to expect a supply of mother natures gift. I live and work in Alpe and have one scratch on a pair of ten year old skis. If you want a rocky resort try Cairngorm. I used to get through three pairs per season! Lastly, the in-town lifts are slow but why did you not try the free buses and two lifts out of town? The piste map lists nine.

  • February 25, 2014
    Berkshire45 from United Kingdom

    Alpe d'Huez is a large resort with a few different skiing areas. There is quite a bit going on in the town with a number of restaurants and bars.

    The lift queues were not too bad most of the time, the big lifts at the bottom were a max 10 min wait but most of the time there was only 2-3 mins wait.

    The greens and blues are quite crowded but we did go in half-term week.

    If you go to the other ski-areas away from the main Bergers area it is much quieter. Snow conditions were excellent and there were a few bars and restaurants on the slopes which were great.

    On the whole it was a great week's skiing.

  • February 17, 2014
    Barry Allsuch from France

    As promised, here we are again in February 2014.
    On the days that the sun shined surely this has to be heaven on earth.
    We tried to find areas and pistes that we're not densely populated and we succeeded.
    Firstly, the Mont Frais area is so pretty and quiet.
    Some wonderful runs, mainly blue, other than La Fare, which is a red run marked as a black. This takes you to Vaujany and then in the bubbles to Montfrais. Then on the other side of the Sarenne a Gorge is Auris.
    Miles of unpopulated blues and some great restaurants half the price of Alpe d' Huez.
    Will return in 2015. Each year changes are being made to speed up queues. And clearly money is being invested in this fabulous resort.

  • January 07, 2014
    Karin from United Kingdom

    Just spent New Year in Alpe d'Huez, a resort I've wanted to try for years. Sadly we weren't as impressed as we expected to be. If you are a beginner/intermediate, it's great, because there are lots of easier runs that all fan out of town. If you want reds and blacks it looks good on paper, with lots of really long runs, except that early in the season none of them were open because of lack of snow cover. It looks like there are lots of off-piste opportunities as well when the snow is good, but if it isn't, it's a very rocky resort, and you risk seriously damaging skis going off-piste. In about 30 weeks of skiing I don't think I have ever seen so much damage to people's skis across the group.
    It can be slow to get onto the hill in the morning depending on where you are staying, because the lifts through town to the base of the slopes are very slow, and then there are queues for the 2 main lifts up the mountain - 40 minutes from door to first run at New Year.
    Glad I've skied there, but I won't be rushing back.

  • February 18, 2013
    Barry Allsuch from United Kingdom

    Just returned from another fantastic week at this great resort.This is my 10th year at Alpe d'Huez so it must be special. The snow was fantastic and as usual there was plenty of sun. I do feel that there should be more piste bashers at work grooming the slopes for the next day. Although, we went just before half-term, there were still 5 minute plus queues at popular chair lifts, including Marmotte. This could be avoided if the lift attendants were more effiicent in getting each chair lift full.
    Although other ski areas in France might be larger at Alpe d''Huez there is a great variety of runs.
    I consider the resort perfect for beginners but would add that it is not that challenging for advanced skiers unless you go off-piste.
    Will be going back in 2014 that's for sure.

  • February 01, 2013
    Sarah from United Kingdom

    Fourth year skiing here and still enjoying the extent of different runs; done a good few of the blacks this time and many of the others. Always something new on the slopes here. Snow fantastic today and was good the rest of the week. Resort friendly and well managed. Lovely to see parents towing small children and all the ski schools have children from all over Europe getting on really well. Food good; bit limited for veggies as is all of France but pizzas here are great and loads of choices for places to eat out. Only regret is that I haven't had time to use all the freebies that come with the ski pass: went swimming but not used the skating or the ski pass at the other resorts. Maybe next time eh? And bought new skiing jacket here; good price and very a la mode!

  • January 08, 2013
    Arthur Shenton from United Kingdom

    Just come back from a week's skiing in Alpe d'Huez. I have been going regularly over the new year for the last 5 years and I must say the conditions this year were the best ever. I spoke to a number of visitors during the week and many who have skied in resorts around the world could not remember better conditions.We were also blessed with fantastic weather - 8 days of sunshine out of 9. I assume the heavy snowfall in early December had given time to get the pistes in such good condition but full marks to all those who work on the pistes for their excellent work. Strangely, although this is the second most popular week of the year after Feb half-term, the pistes were not crowded. Often we skied pistes alone. That is not to say we were not caught in a few long queues at lifts. Overall, though one of the best week's skiing we have enjoyed. We will be back.

  • December 20, 2012
    Pablo from France

    I skied in AdH yesterday 19/12/12. Despite the great snow conditions I realized that about 50% of the resort was still closed (second week after resorts opening). It's not a big deal if the run is closed, treat it as off-piste then. But if the lifts are closed then you can't help it. The following sectors were unskiable due to closed lifts: Auris, Villard Reculas, Tunnel sector and Huez to name the most important. Last year they invested in snow cannons to cover the run down to Huez, now that there is loads of natural snow the run and the lift is closed. Does that make any sense?

  • October 04, 2012
    Henrik from Luxembourg

    To another reviewer,

    Good to see you posting on here. I often bump into you on the DMC cable car and have a chat.

    I think when you mention the new blue pistes connecting Auris, you mean the new one connecting into Oz. They're great as they give an extra option into Oz and make it easier to get over to the Alpette Cable Car. It means you now have 3 runs - a blue, a red (Poutran) and a black (Roche Noir - when it's open).

    Do you know if there are any more plans for the coming season? I haven't heard of anything yet.

    {note from the editor: we omit all names from the reviews as far as is possible]

  • April 22, 2012
    stuart from France

    I have a vested interest in Alpe d as I both live here and run the masterclass ski school. It is very necessary that I can plan my weeks tuition and for this reason, I follow the weather forecasts with more than a little casual interest. For this reason I must congratulate Snow-forecast for their accuracy this year. Earlier in January there was one questionable forecast as we were forecast to receive 20 cms but received 120 cms. Forgiven! Only problem was that the powder was so deep, it was impossible to ski even with a barge on each foot!. Even the boarders were witnessed descending 'Signal' in straight lines at at least 2 kms per hour !
    On a development note I was disappointed that no one has commented on the new blue pistes connecting Auris. These have opened out the terrain from a ski instructors point of view (and also for the tourists) and no one seems to have noticed the extension of Champclotury direct to the 'Alpette lift' Only about 3 million spent but strange no one seems to appreciate. It is without a doubt a shame that the large operators do not have it in their capacity to take note of the late conditions and supply holidays. Why? Because over the last week we have received a nightly falls of up to 25 cms of fresh powder, followed by a day of bliss on and off-piste. Forecast for tomorrow night? Read on and be jealous all those currently booking a summer holiday in a sweaty overrun seaside resort selling English breakfasts and pizza.

  • April 09, 2012
    Tom Price from United Kingdom

    Skied in March 2012 at Alpe d'Huez with Richmond Holidays. Resort was much more developed and larger than I expected, having been in the 3 Valleys last year. Lots of good reds and greens. I found some of the blacks quite exciting too. Tunnel is excellent fun. Conditions were good/ok. There was a bit too much sunshine, but we had some snowfall at the start of the week, so that the pistes were fresh. Highlight was the chalet and staff. Champagne and canapes on arrival, clean rooms and hot tubs. Sincere professional staff. Would definitely like to repeat. Great resort and great company.

  • February 20, 2012
    Barry Allsuch from United Kingdom

    Just returned from another fantastic week in Alpe d'Huez. The weather was brilliant with clear blue skies most days and one day with heavy snow. After 10 visits we know the resort pretty well but are still hungry to find new pistes. This time we spent long periods in the quite very pretty Mont-Frais areas and really enjoyed the blue Edelweiss Piste. We then skied all the way down to the peaceful Mont Frais bubbles which wisk you back up. As always, skiing down to Oz is great fun although this area is attracting some rather fast skiers!
    Stayed at the Royal Ours Blanc which is a very friendly hotel with a good menu. Will be visiting Alpe d'Huez in 2013 and if the conditions are this good again we will have another fantastic trip. Family members included: Barry, Ru, Paula, Andy, Jessica and Lilly

  • February 11, 2012
    kathy from United Kingdom

    Skied in Alpe d'Huez over Christmas and have just returned from a second week. Conditions best in the 12 years I have been coming here! Thigh deep powder at the side of the piste but extremely cold! No waits for the lifts although they seem to be having a bit of an issue with these: far too many of them are succumbing to 'problems techniques', poss as a result of the exceptional cold/snowfall? The outdoor pool is a novel prospect in these conditions. For good lessons in English try Masterclass and Stance. Best croissants in the world at Patisserie Janine opposite the ice rink.

  • January 24, 2012
    Rod from United Kingdom

    Skied over New Year. Loads of snow. Not glamorous but great customer service and no queues in restaurants and little on lifts.

  • January 06, 2012
    Andrey Gilvanov from Canada

    Interesting place, not so glamorous as Courchevel or Chamonix, but has variety of slopes and character.
    Cons: customer service is bad,.. chair lifts were shut down due to blackout on Dec 30, 2011 so we walked for an hour from the place we skied at the moment. I came 2 times to ticket office trying to get additional day of skiing, but was just asked "to submit an application that will be viewed in 2 or 3 weeks.."
    It's sad that nobody couldn't make a decision in such obvious situation...

  • December 19, 2011
    Barry Allsuch from United Kingdom

    Have stayed in Alpe d'Huez each Feb for 10 seasons. Very friendly village, it helps if you parlez-vous Francais.
    We use Rond Point ski hire next to the Grade Rousse Eve and Arlette run the shop and have now become great friends. My personal favourite run is Village which takes you down to Huez. Hardly ever used, this has become our own private piste.

  • December 12, 2011
    Alber from Czech Republic

    Skied at Alpe d'Huez in April 2011. Very little snow but the piste groomers made the most of what was left. Excellent job. Stuart of Masterclass Ski School managed to give us some good lessons on the receding snow. Stayed at Lasource Ski Chalet in Villard Reculas. Lovely little village connected to the main Alpe d'Huez runs. Lasource gave us a lift to Les Deux Alps for 2 days, where there was some good snow left to ski on. Will be returning in 2012, when the snow will hopefully be more abundant than 2011. Alber

  • April 06, 2011
    Carl & Lisa from United Kingdom

    April 2nd 2011

    Just returned from ADH (Alpe d'Huez), albeit snow limited we had a fantastic time. We stayed in the Altiport area (just 500 mtrs from town) in a catered chalet. The food was amazing as were the hosts (Louis & Lewis......Lou , Lou:). As we were the oldest in our chalet (40) we were concerned by the mix of youth we'd be sharing with for the week! As it was, we ended up with 11 Uni students who were fantastic, albeit noisy coming back at 5-6 am in the morning. Nevertheless, they were great company and would recommend anyone to venture to catered chalets as it's certainly the way forward. paid £269 for flights, transfers, accomo, & food (Igluski)...unbeatable!! Also leave it late to book!!! Your lift pass allows you 2 days skiing in Les 2 Alps, which for me was the best area to ski in that week. Powder from the Wednesday to Friday and the apres-ski at Pano bar at Jandin 2 is just the best!! Very warm, so slap on the sun cream, our friends have just commented that we look like we've returned from a 2 week break in the Caribbean:)

    Enjoy, but be warned the snow is melting very quickly.

  • March 28, 2011
    Sara from United Kingdom

    Skiing in Alpe d"Huez at the moment. Despite unusual lack of snow for this time of year, had a great day skiing today - lots of hard work going in to keeping the slopes as well groomed as possible and therefore open.

    Looking forward to a day in Les Deux Alpes with Stuart Adamson of British Masterclass, who are based in AdH. Stuart and Mel are great guides and teachers, who know AdH like the back of their hands, and can always find the best snow.

    And the outdoor pool is wonderful at this time of year!

  • March 22, 2011
    Mike from United Kingdom

    Just back from Alpe d'Heuz. Had a fantastic time. Snow isn't the best I've seen but all runs are open. I noticed a lot of people complaining about prices of food a drink on the hill. Me and my wife found an absolutely great place at the foot of the DMC: the hotel Beausoleil is British run and is by far the cheapest for food and drink and it is right next to the main lift, staff are great and it's very well run.

    The night life in Alpe d'Heuz is very like any French resort, drinks can be expensive. We stayed at the Hermitage hotel, sadly it's a bit run down and we didn't feel it was worth the money.

    Bit worried about the snow lasting until the end of April but loved the place anyway.

  • March 11, 2011
    Jill & Dan from United Kingdom

    11/3/11
    Just returned from Alpe d'Huez this morning. Had a great time, sunny all week, but snow deteriorating rapidly. Many runs closed and there are freeze thaw conditions. Some runs in the main bowl were excellent: Couloir and Vachettes. Generally quite icy until 11am. The Petit Prince into Villard Reculas a wonderful run at 11am onwards. Lack of snow a problem.
    Just for info, we went into The Spoting bar in the centre and met the most stuck up meeter greeter ever. Previous years always very welcoming, this year we were treated in a very off hand manner and we never returned after the first night

  • February 07, 2011
    J & Clare + 8 others from Guernsey

    Group of 10 work colleagues traveled to Alpe d'Huez on 29/01/11. The runs were good despite the last dump being over two weeks earlier but they did deteriorate late in the week. The best runs, when conditions got icy, were towards Villard Reculas and Montfrais.

    We stayed at Royal Ours Spa Hotel Blanc in the centre of the resort. Excellent hotel with courtesy coach, friendly staff, clean rooms, good food and spa area.

    The gem of out trip, with six wanting ski/board instruction, was finding Oli and Seb c/o Stance-Snow based at Alpe Sports. Oli and Seb without doubt gave everyone confidence and improvement beyond expectation.

    The shop provided great quality ski and board hire with care on getting you the right equipment. Helmet hire and lockers were included and with the shop being situated at the base of the main DMC lift area, we felt we had found the best hire facility in town.

    Would recommend the resort, hotel, instructors and hire without hesitation.

  • April 11, 2010
    Cei1971 from United Kingdom

    Just returned from Alpe d'Huez after an excellent week. Fantastic snow conditions and great runs for everyone. The La Eterlous class my 3 year old daughter was in was superb. We will be looking to return. Fantastic facilities in resort i.e swimming pools, ice rink etc.

  • March 23, 2010
    David Keane from United Kingdom

    Just returned from a week in Alpe d'Huez (March 13-20). There had been decent snowfall in the weeks preceding my visit so conditions on arrival were superb. It had been unseasonly cold but the weather got warmer and sunnier whilst I was there. As a boarder this was great but for my skiing friends they found the conditions a little slushy and sticky by the end of the week as the piste surface snow melted.
    I've been to Alpe d'Huez before and quite like it. Plenty for everyone really. Doing the 16km Sarenne is best in the morning as it gets quite cut up by the afternoons. Alpette is a lovely run into a little village (Oz?). We chose a week that there were no school holiays so queues were minimal and the pistes relatively quiet. The outdoor swimming pool and ice rink were good distractions in the early evenings.
    The down side of the resort (and I guess most if not all French resorts) is the prices. They've risen quite a bit. I know the exchange rate isn't great for us coming from the UK these days but that aside the prices seem to have shot up. 5 Euros for a hot chocolate in a mountain cafe is rip-off territory. Even at the old ex rates it would be 3.50. Still a rip-off. Our group was multinational with people from Ireland and France also - everyone agreed that the prices were too high. As a result we're banging France on the head after almost 20 years of visits. Not sure where next year but always good to explore!

  • March 16, 2010
    claudio sarno from United Kingdom

    I just recently came back from Alpe d'Huez and stayed in the Le Dauphin chalet. Great position with lifts nearby; ski back to chalet. Plenty of room, on-suite double, fantastic facilities from sat TV in each room, great sound system in kitchen/dinner/lounge area. Well appointed games room with all sorts of games including table football and nintendo WII. The chalet is simply quality, roomy and well run. I would recommend it to all my freinds and family. The resort of Alpe d'Huez itself provides everything a skier could want from difficult blacks like Le Tunnel to simple blues and one of the greatest long pistes: le Serrene. All in all, just great!

  • March 01, 2010
    Millsy from United Kingdom

    There are easy blues aplenty in Alpe d'Huez particularly in Auris and Alpette / Montfrais (although you have to ski Rouses which is a red). These areas generally get less traffic and therefore don't turn into bump fields like the Couloir blue from DMC II. There are two blues on the glacier that obviously have good snow and are accessed by Marmotte III and served by the L'Herpie four pack. You also have a choice of blues from atop Signal, one down to Villard Reculas the other returns to the DMC. Hope this helps?

  • February 21, 2010
    Ja from United Kingdom

    I was in Alpe d'Huez with family and friends in Feb and I must say I thought the resort was very good indeed.
    The skiing was incredible for all of us (beginners, intermediate and advanced), the children had a fantastic time with the instructors who are very friendly and great at what they do. The restaurants were also very, very good and very reasonably priced (it's French say no more). We stayed in chalet le Baron (alpedhuezchalets.com) which had everything set out very well and was very nice and comfortable. Location of chalet is perfect being a couple of mins from most restaraunts and bars also approx 60 meters from ski lift!!!. I have been to numerous ski resorts over the years and personally I think Alpe d'Huez ranks highly. We all had a great time and are already looking to book next year!

  • February 17, 2010
    AP from United Kingdom

    Week Feb 8th 2010.

    This is my second time in Alpe d'Huez and also my second in Chalet L Escapade.

    Lets start with Chalet L Escapade. Now, as I said, I have been here before so knew what to expect. Small, cramped and incredibly noisy in the dining room. Ski-World has managed to shoe horn over sixty guests into this chalet hotel. They would do better to reduce this number by at least twenty.

    So why did I return? I got a deal at £450 which is the maximum I would pay for this chalet. The full price of near £750 for the week is grossly overpriced and not at all value for money. I have stayed in Les Gets and Morzine for that type of money in luxury chalets far, far better than Chalet L Escapade. However, I slept very well and had nice hot showers.

    The staff, however, were exceptional. Polite, helpful and a real credit to themselves. I can’t imagine this is the easiest chalet to run but they did their very, very best. Food was good and if you didn’t like what was on the menu they would do their best to provide an alternative. I was ok as I eat anything !!!!

    The chalet is ski-in and ski-out. Out to either the Eclose and then Bergers or a quick trip across the bridge to Telecentre. It has a hot tub, steam room, sauna a small gym and a very reasonably priced bar.

    Ski hire was from Ze Shop which is a short walk down the hill from the chalet. If you carry on a little further there is a restaurant on the left called Alaska that does very good reasonably priced food from an extensive menu. I would recommend you go there on the chalet staffs night off.

    The resort of Alpe d'Huez itself is a bit disjointed and has no real dedicated centre but once you manage to find them there are plenty of shops and bars to frequent and it’s pretty cheap for France. The sports centre is excellent. Take along your lift pass for free entry and you can play table tennis for €1, swim, play tennis, squash or use the climbing wall.

    The Skiing:

    Plenty of snow and sunny days but very cold. I like to stretch my legs a bit in the morning so always looked for some easy blues down the bottom of the mountain before venturing further afield and Alpe (Alpe d'Huez) is perfect for this. I went with my thirteen year old son who has been skiing about four years and his preference is throwing himself off as many little jumps as he can. This is adequately catered for in the snow park area. I had fun there too!!

    For progressing onto reds and blacks, although there is only one black you can't go far wrong than head over to Auris En Oisans connected by Alpes very own scare chair. The ride over from Bergers is something not to be missed. Although the runs over that side are short on some days my son and I were the only ones on them. Add to that the possibility for some easy off-piste it would be hard not to recommend Auris as a destination for a few hours.

    The lifts were only busy mornings and afternoons just as ski school was starting. My biggest criticism, and for me it somewhat spoiled the skiing, was the lack of piste preparation on some runs particularly from the mid station Marmottes and Signal. You go up expecting to ski a blue or red and are faced with mogul field with bumps up to your thighs. If you are taking young kids up for a long blue run be prepared for long rests and plenty of falls. As for the famed Sarrene all I can say is expect the worse piste preparation ever and you won’t be disappointed.

    Mountain restaurant prices really surprised me. In some places you could get a meal deal such as burger, chips and a coke for € 8. Not too bad in my opinion.

    So would I go back to Alpe d'Huez for a third time? Difficult to say but I probably would if I had the same deal as this holiday.