Us Ski en USA

Bienvenue sur la page Ski aux Etats-Unis, offrant un tour d'horizon des conditions de ski et des bulletins d'enneigement actuels pour les principales stations de ski aux États-Unis. Ces dernières années, certaines des meilleures et plus constantes conditions de pistes ont été signalées à Aspen (Colorado), Alta (Utah), The Canyons (Utah), Winter Park (Colorado), Big Sky ( Montana) et de Jackson Hole (Wyoming). Toutefois, pour une semaine ou une saison donnée, les meilleures conditions peuvent se trouver à un certain nombre d'autres stations en Amérique du Nord, alors regardez sur les prévisions de neige et les bulletins si vous prévoyez un voyage de dernière minute.

Pour le hors-piste en poudreuse, Alta, Aspen, Big Sky, The Canyons, Winter Park et Loveland se sont avérées parmi les plus constantes du pays pendant plusieurs saisons, mais regardez les bulletins ci-dessous pour les dernières nouvelles.

Pour les chutes de neige importantes et les profondeurs de neige accumulée les stations californiennes de Squaw Valley et Mammoth se classent parmi les meilleures, ainsi que les stations de poudreuse sèche de Solitude, Alta et Snowbird. Timberline dans l'Oregon a également une bonne réputation d'enneigement.

Avec plus de 500 domaines skiables répartis sur quelque 38 États, l'Amérique est l'une des nations du monde de ski de premier plan, avec environ 50 millions de skieurs sur les pistes chaque hiver.

Les stations de ski des Etats-Unis sont réparties dans tout le pays d'Est en Ouest. Il y a aussi des stations en Alaska et il est parfois possible de skier à Hawaii sur les pentes du Mauna Kea à 4205m d'altitude, bien qu'il n'y existe pas de remontées mécaniques.

En skiant aux Etats- Unis, vous trouverez une grande diversité de terrains, depuis les montagnes relativement basses de la Nouvelle-Angleterre et les montagnes Blue Ridge de Virginie, au sud, aux collines à travers les prairies du Midwest, jusqu'aux montagnes Rocheuses et les Sierras à l'Ouest. Les stations dans les Rocheuses s'étendent sur plus d'une mile d'altitude dans certains cas. C'est pour ça que presque la moitié des 20 remontées mécaniques les plus hautes du monde se situent au Colorado.

Le point commun entre tous ces domaines skiables variés, allant des petites collines privées appartenant à des écoles et des bases militaires aux grandes stations internationales comme Aspen et Vail célèbres dans le monde entier, est un dévouement à des normes de service élevées. Le ski aux Etats-Unis offre notamment une haute qualité sur les pistes avec des surfaces bien damées, des pistes non sur-fréquentées et des remontées se faisant généralement par télésièges, télécabines ou téléphériques (aussi appelés tramways en Amérique du Nord) plutôt que par téléskis. En fait, le télésiège, ainsi que le jacuzzi, sont tous deux des inventions américaines attribuées à Sun Valley dans l'Idaho.

Certains domaines skiables aux Etats-Unis date de près d'un siècle. La plupart ont été établis par des pionniers, souvent avec un budget restreint, comptant une seule remontée propulsée par un moteur de voiture, de camion, ou même de moto. Mais des décennies de croissance progressive ont conduit beaucoup de ces petites stations à devenir de grandes stations internationales - Mammoth Mountain en Californie en est un bon exemple.

D'autres ont été créés par des émigrés venant des Alpes, le plus célèbre: Cranmore Mountain Resort dans le New Hampshire fut créé avec l'aide du pionnier de la technique autrichienne de ski alpin, Schneider Hannes, venu de l'Arlberg autrichienne et arrivé aux États-Unis ayant refusé d'adhérer à la machine de propagande nazie quand ceux-ci prirent pouvoir en Autriche dans les années 30. Pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, il contribua à former la 10ème Division de Chasseurs Alpins de l'armée américaine, dont certains anciens combattants devinrent à leur tour promoteurs de station après la guerre.

Des stations célèbres comme Vail, désormais le plus grand domaine skiable aux États-Unis, ont été établies plus tard avec une forte implication européenne. D'autres stations comme Aspen et Breckenridge étaient d'anciens peuplements miniers du 19ème siècle qui ont trouvé un second souffle lors de l'apparition de "l'or blanc".

Parallèlement à la croissance dans les montagnes, les années 90 et la première décennie du siècle actuel ont vu un boom des développements immobiliers en station: hôtels, appartements, commerces et restaurants furent établi au pied des pistes de ski qui ne disposaient auparavant, dans certains cas, que d'un parking. Cette période - qui a ralenti de façon spectaculaire à partir de 2008 en raison de la situation économique mondiale - a conduit vers une ère où des sociétés prennent le relais de familles individuelles, et actuellement quatre ou cinq grandes entreprises possèdent et exploitent entre elles environ 50 des meilleures stations américaines.

Dans l'Est de l'Amérique du Nord l'enneigement artificiel se développa dans les années 50 et devint rapidement une condition essentielle à la plupart des domaines skiables de la région, qui fut reconnue comme «la capitale mondiale de l'enneigement artificiel".

Dans l'Ouest du pays, mieux connu pour ses stations dans les États comme la Californie, l'Utah et le Colorado, un argument de vente majeur est l'abondance de neige poudreuse profonde qui est la norme, sinon une garantie. L'un des endroits le plus enneigés sur terre est l'Alaska et l'Etat de Washington dans le Nord Ouest du pays où des chutes de neige de 16 mètres peuvent être enregistrées en un seul hiver, plus que toute autre région de ski au monde.

Une critique du ski aux Etats-Unis comparé à l'Europe, est que les domaines skiables sont en moyenne plus petits, les billets de remontées plus chers, les paysages spectaculaires sont rares et les stations et pistes sont trop aseptisés et fades dans certains domaines opérés par des grandes entreprises. Le genre de petit chalet de montagne à gestion familiale et cuisine maison est assez rare aux États-Unis où il s'agit plutôt de grandes cafétérias servant de la restauration rapide. Cependant, ce qui peut être considéré comme des «défauts» pour certains, sont des qualités pour d'autres et, prenant en compte les autres points énumérés dans cet article, ils contribuent à faire des Etats-Unis une des meilleures expériences de ski au monde.

Et malgré les pistes bien damées, de nombreuses stations se sont construites une réputation pour un hors-piste plein de défis, entre autres Jackson Hole dans le Wyoming, Alyeska en Alaska et la Squaw Valley, en Californie.

L'attitude positive du pays à l'égard des enfants est également considérée comme un atout pour les familles, avec les maternelles et les écoles de ski faisant l'éloge des enfants pour leurs efforts.

Les Etats-Unis sont également le foyer du snowboard puisque Jake Burton inventa le sport dans le Vermont dans les années 70. Stratton y a organisé des compétitions de snowboard depuis plus longtemps qu'aucune autre station. Toutefois, le pays abrite également trois stations qui interdisent encore le snowboard: Alta et Deer Valley, toutes les deux dans l'Utah, et Mad River Glen dans le Vermont.
Lire la suite...

USA: résumé des dernières conditions de neige

Summary of forecast snowfall and ski conditions for resorts in USA. Fresh snow is forecast at 0resorts. Powder is reported at 0 resorts and 0 are reporting good piste conditions.

Rapports récents de nos Reporter de Neige pour USA

A–A

B–B C–C D–G H–K L–L M–M N–R S–S T–V W–Z

Ski resorts in USA from A to A

Bottom Mid Top
Station de Ski Webcam Top
Profondeur de neige
en haut et en bas
Good piste
En piste
Powder
Hors-Piste
Fresh snow depth
Dernière neige
Fresh snow depth
prochains 9 jours
0–3 | 3–6 | 6–9
neige (cm)
Weather Prévision météo des 5 prochains jours
Niveau de gel (m)
Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun

(1197m — 1760m)

snow report hier

58
36
27 cm
aujourd'hui
17
10
13
Milieu de station 1478 m
900m 1100m 1100m 250m 950m

(0m — 107m)

snow report hier

91
30
Machine Groomed 1 cm
il y a 10 jours
Milieu de station 54 m
0m 200m 1300m 1400m 150m

(762m — 1189m)

snow report aujourd'hui

17 cm
aujourd'hui
27
46
62
Milieu de station 976 m
0m 0m 0m 100m 550m

(957m — 1652m)

snow report hier

48 cm
aujourd'hui
45
33
5
Milieu de station 1304 m
950m 1600m 1200m 500m 1150m

(2083m — 2632m)

snow report hier

99
71
Packed 9 cm
il y a 6 jours
6
Milieu de station 2358 m
2550m 3100m 2400m 2450m 2350m

(198m — 351m)

snow report il y a 25 jours

2 cm
il y a 25 jours
2
4
Milieu de station 274 m
300m 300m 1600m 2850m 2000m

(387m — 457m)

snow report hier

1 cm
il y a 9 jours
1
Milieu de station 422 m
450m 1050m 2300m 2800m 1400m

(266m — 384m)

snow report hier

43
43
Machine Groomed 4 cm
il y a 9 jours
3
Milieu de station 325 m
900m 900m 1350m 2950m 1450m

(277m — 369m)

snow report il y a 2 jours

30
25
Machine Groomed 1 cm
il y a 9 jours
1
Milieu de station 323 m
450m 1100m 2350m 2800m 1350m

(2599m — 3215m)

snow report aujourd'hui

Alta webcam
105
45

Fresh

Fresh
2 cm
il y a 7 jours
11
Milieu de station 2907 m
1100m 1100m 2050m 2050m 3050m

(1981m — 2164m)

snow report il y a 5 jours

Alta Sierra at Shirley Meadows webcam
42 cm
il y a 5 jours
1
Milieu de station 2072 m
3550m 3550m 3250m 3350m 3100m

(76m — 1201m)

snow report aujourd'hui

opens in 2 days 29 cm
aujourd'hui
37
46
66
Milieu de station 638 m
0m 0m 0m 100m 500m

(392m — 480m)

snow report aujourd'hui

51
25
Machine Groomed
Milieu de station 436 m
0m 200m 1350m 1750m 200m

(2621m — 3254m)

snow report aujourd'hui

51
51
11 cm
il y a 9 jours
12
2
Milieu de station 2938 m
2400m 1800m 2650m 2950m 3250m

(2561m — 2866m)

snow report hier

12 cm
hier
10
Milieu de station 2714 m
1400m 1050m 2450m 1850m 2650m

(2164m — 2438m)

snow report hier

14 cm
aujourd'hui
18
5
Milieu de station 2301 m
1200m 850m 900m 800m 1300m

(1108m — 1219m)

snow report aujourd'hui

198
124
Packed Powder 60 cm
il y a 2 jours
Milieu de station 1164 m
2700m 2800m 3100m 2700m 2650m

(183m — 244m)

snow report il y a 4 jours

63 cm
il y a 4 jours
2
Milieu de station 214 m
500m 1000m 2000m 2700m 1300m

(3286m — 3977m)

snow report hier

89
89
Packed Powder 1 cm
il y a 3 jours
5
Milieu de station 3632 m
1900m 1150m 2400m 2400m 2800m

(2805m — 3506m)

snow report aujourd'hui

91
66
Machine Groomed 3 cm
il y a 5 jours
8
3
Milieu de station 3156 m
2750m 2550m 3250m 3300m 3100m

(180m — 310m)

snow report hier

4 cm
il y a 10 jours
2
Milieu de station 245 m
0m 0m 1100m 2700m 1000m

(214m — 762m)

snow report il y a 10 jours

1 cm
il y a 10 jours
1
Milieu de station 488 m
0m 0m 1100m 1550m 1100m

(2421m — 3417m)

snow report aujourd'hui

Aspen webcam
66
56
Packed Powder 3 cm
il y a 5 jours
11
Milieu de station 2919 m
1800m 1150m 2350m 2350m 2800m

(2450m — 3558m)

snow report aujourd'hui

Aspen Highlands webcam
109
76
Packed Powder 4 cm
il y a 5 jours
10
Milieu de station 3004 m
1800m 1150m 2350m 2350m 2800m

(183m — 716m)

snow report aujourd'hui

30
15
Machine Groomed 2 cm
il y a 5 jours
4
1
Milieu de station 450 m
0m 0m 1000m 2500m 1550m

Us Ski USA

Welcome to the Ski USA page, providing a regular round-up of the skiing conditions and current snow reports for the main ski resorts in the United States. Over recent years some of the best and consistent piste conditions have been reported at Aspen (Colorado), Alta (Utah), The Canyons (Utah), Winter Park (Colorado), Big Sky (Montana) and Jackson Hole (Wyoming). However, in any given week or season the best slope conditions may be found at a number of other North American resorts so keep an eye on the snow forecasts and reports if you are planning a last minute trip.

For off-piste powder, Alta, Aspen, Big Sky, The Canyons, Winter Park and Loveland have proven among the most consistent in the country over several seasons but check out the reports below for the latest news. For big snowfalls and accumulated snow depths the Californian resorts of Squaw Valley and Mammoth feature strongly in the records as do the dry powder resorts of Solitude, Alta and Snowbird. Timberline in Oregon also has an enviable snow record.

With more than 500 ski areas spread across some 38 US states, America is one of the world’s leading ski nations, clocking up around 50 million skiers on the slopes each winter.

US ski resorts are spread right across the country from East Coast to West. There are also resorts in Alaska and it’s sometimes possible to ski in Hawaii on the slopes of 4205m high Mauna Kea, although there are no ski lifts there.

You’ll find a great diversity of terrain when you ski USA from the comparatively low lying mountains of New England and the Blue Ridge mountains of Virginia to the south, to smaller hills across the MidWestern prairies, to the Rocky Mountains and Sierras on the West. The Rockies stretch over a mile above sea level at resort height in some cases, resulting in almost half of the 20 highest ski lifts in the world being located in Colorado.

What’s common to this diverse selection of ski areas, which range from small private hills owned by schools and military bases to major international resorts like Aspen and Vail famed around the world, is a dedication to high service standards. When you’re skiing USA these include high quality on the slopes with well groomed, normally uncrowded slopes with uplift generally provided by chairlifts, gondolas or cable cars (known as trams in North America) rather than drag lifts. Indeed the chairlift, as well as the hot tub, are both American inventions credited to Sun Valley in Idaho.

Some ski areas in the USA date back the best part of a century. Most were established by pioneers, often on a shoestring budget with just a simple tow lift converted from a car, lorry or even motorbike engine. But decades of gradual growth have led many of these original small, simple set-ups to become major international resorts – Mammoth Mountain in California is a good example of this.

Others were set up by emigrants from the Alps, most famously Cranmore Mountain Resort in New Hampshire which was established with help from Austrian downhill ski technique pioneer Hannes Schneider from the Austrian Arlberg who arrived in the US having refused to join the Nazi propaganda machine when they took over Austria in the 1930s. During the Second World War he helped train the 10th Mountain Division of the U. S. Army, some veterans of which also became resort developers after the war.

Famous resorts like Vail, now the largest ski area in the US, were established later with strong European involvement. Other resorts like Aspen and Breckenridge were former 19th century mining settlements that found a new lease of life when ‘white gold’ was struck.

Along with growth on the mountains, the 1990s and first decade of the current century saw a boom in resort ‘real estate’ developments with hotels, condominiums, shops and restaurants created at the bases of ski slopes which in some cases had previously only had car parks. This period – which slowed dramatically from 2008 due to the global economic situation – led to an era of corporations taking over from individual families, and currently four or five large companies own and operate around 50 leading US resorts between them.

In Eastern North America snowmaking developed in the 1950s and rapidly became an essential requirement at most of the ski areas in the region, leading to it becoming known as “the snowmaking capital of the world.”

In the West of the country, which is best known for its destination resorts particularly in states like California, Utah and Colorado, a major selling point is abundant, deep powder snow which is the norm if not always guaranteed. One of the snowiest places on earth are Alaska and Washington State in the North West of the country where falls of up to 50 feet (16 metres) can be recorded in one winter, more than any other ski region on earth.

Criticisms of US skiing from some, when compared to Europe, is that ski areas are mostly smaller, lift tickets more expensive, spectacular scenery is rare and the resorts and slopes are too sanitised and bland at some of the most corporately run areas. The kind of family run, home-cooking small mountain hut is quite rare in the US where large cafeterias serving fast food are more common. However many of these ‘flaws’ for some are seen as assets by others, which when combined with the other points listed in this article combine to make the US ski experience the best on earth.

And despite the well groomed pistes, many resorts have built reputations for challenging off piste terrain, including Jackson Hole in Wyoming, Alyeska in Alaska and Squaw Valley in California.

The country’s positive attitude to children is also seen as an asset for families in most cases, with children praised for their efforts in nursery and ski school.

The US is also the home of snowboarding with Jake Burton inventing the sport in Vermont in the late 1970s. Stratton there has organised snowboarding contests longer than any other. However the country is also home to three resorts that still ban snowboarding: Alta and Deer Valley, both in Utah, and Mad River Glen in Vermont.
read more...

USA: latest snow conditions round-up


USA Our East Coast resorts experienced snowfall on the 16th November, where Killington (31/36cm) and Mount snow (31cm) had a light dusting of around 5cm, while Sunday River (41cm) was forecast to receive up to a welcome 15cm to supplement their as of let limited artificial base. Unfortunately no further substantial snow is forecast, with variable conditions forecast even within the relatively tightly bunched New England resorts. It was a sunny day in our open Colorado resorts, with sunny skies across Arapahoe Basin (45cm), Breckenridge (46cm), Copper Mountain (46ccm), Keystone (46cm) and Loveland (45cm). Elsewhere, these dry and warm conditions in Colorado have forced Vail to push back their opening day until the 23rd November. Luckily, moderate to substantial snow is forecast to fall on Friday 17th November, with the most southerly resorts of Breckenridge and Copper Mountain benefitting most. In California, Heavy snow is falling over the recently opened Mammoth (25/35cm) with up to 50cm predicted to fall today and tonight, though giving way to clear skies heading into the weekend.

read more...

Summary of forecast snowfall and ski conditions for resorts in USA. Fresh snow is forecast at 0resorts. Powder is reported at 0 resorts and 0 are reporting good piste conditions.

Recent Eyeball Snow Reports for USA

A–A

B–B C–C D–G H–K L–L M–M N–R S–S T–V W–Z

Ski resorts in USA from A to A

Bottom Mid Top
Resort Webcam Top
snow depth
top and bottom
Good piste
on-piste
Powder
off-piste
Fresh snow depth
last snow
Fresh snow depth
next 9 days
0–3 | 3–6 | 6–9
snow (cm)
Weather Next 5 days weather forecast.
Freezing level (m)
Sat Sun Mon Tue Wed

(1197m — 1760m)

snow report yesterday

79
46
8
snow showers
snow showers
light snow
heavy rain
light rain
Mid station 1478 m
750m 1200m 1750m 2650m 3000m

(0m — 107m)

snow report yesterday

1
clear
clear
clear
partly cloudy
cloudy
Mid station 54 m
750m 600m 2000m 750m 100m

(762m — 1189m)

8
2
clear
light snow
clear
clear
clear
Mid station 976 m
0m 0m 0m 0m 0m

(957m — 1652m)

snow report 9 days ago

42
9
partly cloudy
heavy snow
rain showers
heavy rain
moderate rain
Mid station 1304 m
1300m 1650m 1900m 3050m 2950m

(2083m — 2632m)

snow report yesterday

61
30
partly cloudy
partly cloudy
light rain
partly cloudy
partly cloudy
Mid station 2358 m
2400m 3250m 3550m 3700m 3900m

(198m — 351m)

moderate rain
partly cloudy
partly cloudy
partly cloudy
clear
Mid station 274 m
2850m 1750m 800m 2150m 900m

(387m — 457m)

snow report 4 days ago

2
heavy rain
light snow
clear
light snow
clear
Mid station 422 m
1900m 350m 1250m 1250m 200m

(266m — 384m)

snow report 11 days ago

5
light snow
partly cloudy
partly cloudy
clear
clear
Mid station 325 m
1750m 100m 1300m 1150m 150m

(277m — 369m)

snow report 3 days ago

1
heavy rain
cloudy
clear
light snow
clear
Mid station 323 m
1900m 350m 1300m 1250m 200m

(2599m — 3215m)

snow report 2 days ago

Alta webcam
opens in 4 days
1
clear
partly cloudy
snow showers
light rain
partly cloudy
Mid station 2907 m
1650m 2500m 2900m 3350m 3800m

(1981m — 2164m)

Alta Sierra at Shirley Meadows webcam
clear
partly cloudy
partly cloudy
partly cloudy
clear
Mid station 2072 m
3650m 3900m 4350m 4550m 4550m

(76m — 1201m)

snow report 2 days ago

8
2
2
clear
light snow
clear
partly cloudy
clear
Mid station 638 m
0m 0m 0m 0m 0m

(392m — 480m)

snow report yesterday

1
clear
clear
partly cloudy
clear
light snow
Mid station 436 m
500m 800m 1750m 0m 150m

(2621m — 3254m)

snow report 3 days ago

clear
partly cloudy
partly cloudy
partly cloudy
partly cloudy
Mid station 2938 m
2500m 3200m 3250m 3700m 4100m

(2561m — 2866m)

2
1
13
clear
partly cloudy
light snow
light snow
moderate rain
Mid station 2714 m
1300m 2200m 2350m 2600m 3350m

(2164m — 2438m)

snow report 3 days ago

6
8
partly cloudy
partly cloudy
light snow
moderate rain
rain showers
Mid station 2301 m
1450m 2050m 2550m 3300m 3450m

(1108m — 1219m)

snow report 3 days ago

1
partly cloudy
partly cloudy
clear
partly cloudy
partly cloudy
Mid station 1164 m
3800m 1850m 2250m 2950m 2800m

(183m — 244m)

snow report 5 days ago

4
heavy rain
cloudy
clear
cloudy
clear
Mid station 214 m
1700m 300m 1200m 1100m 200m

(3286m — 3977m)

snow report 2 days ago

45
45

Good

Varied
5 cm
10 days ago
3
1
6
clear
partly cloudy
clear
snow showers
snow showers
Mid station 3632 m
1750m 2450m 2550m 2800m 3300m

(2805m — 3506m)

snow report today

Variable Conditions
clear
clear
partly cloudy
partly cloudy
clear
Mid station 3156 m
3300m 3650m 4050m 4400m 4550m

(180m — 310m)

snow report 9 days ago

light rain
partly cloudy
partly cloudy
partly cloudy
clear
Mid station 245 m
1450m 1600m 200m 1100m 750m

(214m — 762m)

light rain
partly cloudy
light snow
partly cloudy
clear
Mid station 488 m
1400m 1500m 150m 1050m 650m

(2421m — 3417m)

snow report 2 days ago

Aspen webcam
48
15
×
Closed

Varied
8 cm
10 days ago
1
2
clear
clear
clear
partly cloudy
partly cloudy
Mid station 2919 m
1550m 2400m 2450m 2850m 3300m

(2450m — 3558m)

snow report 3 days ago

opens in 21 days
1
2
clear
clear
clear
partly cloudy
partly cloudy
Mid station 3004 m
1550m 2350m 2450m 2850m 3300m

(183m — 716m)

snow report 2 days ago

1
cloudy
snow showers
partly cloudy
partly cloudy
clear
Mid station 450 m
1000m 1450m 50m 950m 600m